We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value for the money.”
Review of Mosaic Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Mosaic Hostel
Ranked #71 of 1,164 Speciality Lodging in Rome
Reviewed 12 July 2012 via mobile

Stayed three nights. Easy to find and the owner, younger female, very nice and helpful. Breakfast is more than expected for a hostel. I had a private room with double bed and.private bath. Descent enough since.likely.only uaed to sleep n shower. Nice AC but my wife and I didn't have enough covers for both, double bed, too small for two adults. Overall, nice and quiet however, u do hear the younger people coming back from bars, opening/shutting doors. Would stay again tho.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Erlingo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (274)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

114 - 120 of 274 reviews

Reviewed 4 June 2012

Really friendly, helpful staff made us feel very comfortable. Our twin private room was quiet and very clean. Only 1 washroom (toilet/shower) per floor but we rarely had to wait. Because of the small rooms and separate floors, it felt less like a hostel and almost like a low-budget hotel, especially since it was low-season so there wasn't much going on with people in the common area, but it was perfect for us. A little further from downtown (20-30 minute walk) but it was worth it to be in a clean and safe hostel! The location was also good because it was close to the train station. For dinner one night we went practically next door (il cuore di napoli) and had the best pizza I've ever had!

Room Tip: Might be worth it to get an en suite bathroom, especially during busy summer months, if you don'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jfrance84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2012 via mobile

In a very handy to location to access sites on foot. Clean rooms, no lock out, only thing is breakfast is a bit average.

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VLC29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2012

A well located hostel short walk to train station and sites in Rome within walking distance. Staff very friendly and helpful. Good value for money.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2012

I stayed there for 5 nights last April.
Great location - the hostel is located a short walking distance from the central station (Termini) and you can also reach on foot to all of the main attractions.
Refurbished and comfortable rooms - 4 people in a room with shower and bathroom. Wireless internet (in reception area) and a nice breakfast.

Excellent staff extremely helpful with any questions and gives excellent recommendations.

The only downside - a relatively small common area making it difficult to meet other travelers (whoever it is important to him) - beyond that, great hostel - recommended!

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Idan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2012

This hostel is awesome. A lot nicer than a few of the hotels I've been to. It is located just a short walk away from the central train station so if you are backpacking or Rome is one of the many stops on your trip it is extremely easy to see the city and then find your way back to the station. The staff was extremely helpful and provided information for sites, museums, and also places to go and eat. They even suggested a restaurant that gave us a 10% discount on our meal! I would stay there again.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vanessacanfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2012

This is a small hostel located close to Termini station. As we had never visited Rome before, I wasn't sure what to expect as I had read that the area around Termini station is sketchy. It's true that it isn't postcard Rome, but I never felt unsafe. If you want the postcard Rome, I'm not sure why you would be looking at hostels anyway. And this is a hostel, NOT a hotel. As a hostel, it's perfectly adequate: clean, modern, free breakfast, very helpful staff, a small common room, free wi-fi, shared washroom (although I think there are rooms with ensuite). My recommendation would be to pay the extra for the ensuite if you have the option, as it was just a single washroom/shower for the floor - made mornings annoying. I've uploaded some photos so you can judge for yourself, but I would have no problem staying here again and would recommend it to others. And for those who say that it's too far from the tourist attractions to walk - what are you doing backpacking? We had no problem. But if you do want to take the bus, luckily you are close to Termini.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank EMWMC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Alessandro Downtown Hostel
Esquilino
The Yellow
The Yellow
#15 of 1,164 in Rome
977 reviews
Esquilino
Alessandro Palace Hostel
Alessandro Palace Hostel
#30 of 1,164 in Rome
757 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Esquilino
Generator Hostel Rome
Generator Hostel Rome
#9 of 1,164 in Rome
230 reviews
Esquilino
Palladini Hostel Rome
Palladini Hostel Rome
#56 of 1,164 in Rome
1,081 reviews
Esquilino
Freedom Traveller Hostel
Freedom Traveller Hostel
#156 of 1,164 in Rome
272 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mosaic Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mosaic Hostel

Address: Via Cernaia 39B, 00185 Rome, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Esquilino , Castro Pretorio
Hotel Style:
Ranked #71 of 1,164 Speciality Lodging in Rome
Price Range: £34 - £107 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1 star — Mosaic Hostel 1*
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Mosaic Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mosaic Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing