We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average”
Review of Mosaic Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Mosaic Hostel
Ranked #67 of 1,090 Speciality Lodging in Rome
Seville, Spain
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Average”
Reviewed 17 September 2012

Great location, about a 10 min walk from the main Termini train station. Being a solo traveller i found this hostel a bit boring, no communal areas, no social atmosphere at all. Having to share 1 bathroom for a whole floor of rooms was not good in the morning.
I wouldn't recommend this hostel unless you were a family or group of people who liked a low key quiet stay.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank sarah_c_187443
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

262 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    71
    119
    50
    16
    6
See reviews for
19
35
101
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 August 2012

This was the nicest hostel I stayed at in Italy. It's a short walk from the main station, 10 minutes if you are a slow walker. The staff were very friendly and recommended some good eateries and attractions.

I stayed in a 4 bed dorm which was spacious - we had a seperate room with alcove and adjoinging ensuite which was great for separating the sound. Buzzers for each level and the front door, keys to rooms and lockers made the hostel quite secure.

Breakfast was also included - good if you are on a budget. The atmosphere was a bit lacking but in part due to the size of the common area and alcohol being more expensive in Italy. I would definitely recommend staying here if you're in Rome, this hostel was consistently good.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank smjohnston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 August 2012

Unfortunately it's the worst hostel I stayed in. The bed was clean (which is a must), so was the room during the first 2 days of my 4 days stay in Rome. Actually they told me it's getting cleaned every day. I booked a female dorm and it happend to be a mixed one. No one at the reception wanted to help me out, they told me "they don't have female dorms" which they clearly offer on their homepage. The bar is not a bar, it just to look at, you can not order. The breakfast was the worst I ever had, so it's a good advice not to try it. Bathrooms were very old and rocked out. Unfortunately the cleaning service took my towel and brought it back dirty (at the beginning of my trip) and they didn't offered me a laundry service for it even it was not my fault. To make it short, the only plus is it's situated very close to the Termini Station, the staff is nice and you can meet very nice people there. But they should improve cleaniness, breakfast and their living room to make it a place to recommend.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank A W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviewed 26 August 2012 via mobile

We arrived before check in time and we were able to leave our bags at the hostel whilst we waited for our room to be ready. The lady at reception showed us on the map all of the sights we should see whilst in Rome. The staff at the hotel are really nice and helpful. We had a double room which was really secure as we had to be buzzed into the hostel and then into the corridor where our room was located. It was a decent size room with a decent size bathroom and the air conditioning was perfect!! Free wifi in the room and worked well. The hostels free breakfast was nothing fancy but it did the job. The hostel is close to Termini station and within walking distance to most of the major sights (if you don't mind walking).
We loved our stay at Mosaic hostel and would definitely book again if we returned to Rome.

Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Ben297
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2012

Stayed at the hotel for the first two nights of our trip and then back again for the night before the flight home. First impressions of the area were not good, on a very busy street, full of traffic. Once inside things improved. Given a room with balcony and a large bathroom. The staff are helpful and friendly and the rooms and reception,dining area are clean and bright. Basic but tasty breakfast. Once you get used to Madaba it proves to be a very nice base and we met some lovely local people.

Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank leanne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marion, Iowa
Level Contributor
57 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2012 via mobile

Stayed three nights. Easy to find and the owner, younger female, very nice and helpful. Breakfast is more than expected for a hostel. I had a private room with double bed and.private bath. Descent enough since.likely.only uaed to sleep n shower. Nice AC but my wife and I didn't have enough covers for both, double bed, too small for two adults. Overall, nice and quiet however, u do hear the younger people coming back from bars, opening/shutting doors. Would stay again tho.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Erlingo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2012

Really friendly, helpful staff made us feel very comfortable. Our twin private room was quiet and very clean. Only 1 washroom (toilet/shower) per floor but we rarely had to wait. Because of the small rooms and separate floors, it felt less like a hostel and almost like a low-budget hotel, especially since it was low-season so there wasn't much going on with people in the common area, but it was perfect for us. A little further from downtown (20-30 minute walk) but it was worth it to be in a clean and safe hostel! The location was also good because it was close to the train station. For dinner one night we went practically next door (il cuore di napoli) and had the best pizza I've ever had!

Room Tip: Might be worth it to get an en suite bathroom, especially during busy summer months, if you don'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jfrance84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
The Yellow
The Yellow
#18 of 1,090 in Rome
2,064 reviews
Esquilino
Alessandro Palace Hostel
Alessandro Palace Hostel
#32 of 1,090 in Rome
725 reviews
Esquilino
Alessandro Downtown Hostel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Esquilino
Four Seasons Hostel Rome
Four Seasons Hostel Rome
#41 of 1,090 in Rome
967 reviews
Monti
Mosaic Central
Mosaic Central
#50 of 1,090 in Rome
124 reviews
Monti
New Generation Hostel Santa Maria Maggiore
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mosaic Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mosaic Hostel

Property: Mosaic Hostel
Address: Via Cernaia 39B, 00185 Rome, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Esquilino , Castro Pretorio
Hotel Style:
Ranked #67 of 1,090 Speciality Lodging in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:1 star — Mosaic Hostel 1*
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, HostelWorld, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Mosaic Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mosaic Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing