We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly, comfy and great price”
Review of Blue Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Blue Hostel
Ranked #2 of 1,131 Speciality Lodging in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 June 2014 via mobile

We stayed in the Blue Hostel for 2 nights, however the experience made us want to stay for much longer. The hostel is in a central location with many restaurants and patisseries near by. the staff were very friendly and helpful, and as soon as we arrived, we were shown where the best places to eat and to visit were. The room was lovely and clean and comfortable. It is a hotel experience for a hostel price. Excellent!

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
1  Thank Alice M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (448)
There are newer reviews for Blue Hostel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

177 - 183 of 448 reviews

Reviewed 16 June 2014

We decided to stay at the Blue Hostel in Rome because of the good online reviews, the reasonable price and the location. We were not disappointed. Walking distance from Termini station so easy to get there from the airport on the train. Large, clean, funky room. No reception desk but the friendly, helpful staff were readily available (remember to ring the doorbell before you go in and they will help you upstairs with your bags). Walking distance to many sights and shopping, Metro station close by. Breakfast not included but eat breakfast Roman style with espresso and pastry at a local café. Great restaurants and cafes in this fun neighborhood. This accommodation is a fabulous alternative to a regular hotel and my husband and I will be staying there again when we return to Rome

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cathy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2014

We had a fantastic weekend in Rome, much thanks to Ercole, the owner of the hostel, who gave us amazing restaurant and sightseeing suggestions. We loved our room, beautiful, clean and cozy. Great location close to the Termini and within walking distance to many nice restaurants and places. I will most definitely come back to Rome soon and when I do I will absolutely stay here!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Susanna W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2014

Staying in Rome at the Blue Hostel run by Ercole was a great decision to make. The pictures of the rooms on the website of the hotel are very nice so up to arrival I was wondering whether the rooms would actually look the same and they did! Comfortable bed and spacious shower were great after long days of strolling around in Rome.

Besides the great accommodation I would like to highlight the map that Ercole provides to every guest. I must admit that I was a bit suspicious at the beginning that the suggested restaurants and bars will be a tourist rip-off. After visiting a suggested bakery Panella and a restaurant called La Carbonara I was more than sure that Ercole's tips are worth it!

Blue Hostel is a 10 minute walk from the Colosseum and a subway station is a few meters away, yet it is away from the main tourist spots so you get a very local feeling.

Perfect for a romantic weekend in Rome!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank OndrejW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2014

We loved this small lovely accommodation. Exactly a 10 minute walk from Termini (trains plus both Metro lines), Blue Hostel is a quiet reasonably priced pension in an expensive noisy city - and the location couldn't be more convenient. Our jovial innkeeper Ercole was helpful and welcoming, filled with good tips.
The room and bathroom are spacious, clean and soothing. With a rustic beamed ceiling and French doors opening to a quiet courtyard, this is an island of peace in the bustling city. And it is easy to find – just a few doors down Via Carlo Alberto from the front doors of Santa Maria Maggiore Basilica, just past Mecenate Palace Hotel.
Communicate with Ercole when you will be arriving. He carried our bags up, gave us an orientation to the city and explained the keys (there are several). I do not think there is 24 hour reception. Perhaps other rooms open to the street but I don't think so; ours was in back. To enter, find the small sign on the front of the building and ring the doorbell. This is how you get in initially. I think that the Blue Hostel is a set of rooms inside a larger apartment building. Because there are several doors to get in it feels very safe and secure. We could have spent a great deal more for a more traditional hotel setting, but for us this was the perfect combination of the right price and attractive, spotless accommodations that were well situated near public transit, and easy to find. Includes mini fridge, coffee maker & TV.
Apparently the foundations of the building go back to ancient Rome!
There is a walk up four flights of stairs – in case this is may be a dealbreaker for you - but remember, when in Rome...
Bravo Bluehostel.

Room Tip: Quiet rooms are at the back - but perhaps all the rooms are at the back.
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank plscottie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2014

My stay at the Blue Hostel, wasdelightful! Loved my room, so stylish and clean - it was gorgeous!!! It had everything I could need, including a little fridge. The location was great with 2 Metros (Termini and Vittorio Emanuele) within an 8 and 5 minute walk, respectively. The beautiful Santa Maggiore Chiesa was around the corner, and convenience of restaurants and shops - in plenty. It was about 25-30 minutes walking to the historical center (Piazza Navona, Pantheon) and few minutes to the Monti neighbourhood. Ercole, the host was super nice, and it was a pleasure to meet him. He provided me with a special map of the city which he marked down important places to see, and great food recommendations. Such an amazing host! The neighbourhood is safe for late evenings, and provided a good base for exploring Bella Roma. Upon my next return, I look forward to once again, staying at the beautiful Blue Hostel.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank OnVacanza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mirmecobio, Proprietario at Blue Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 June 2014

Ciao J!
Thank you so much for staying with us, it's a shame we had no availability for the extra night.
I would love to see you again in Roma soon!
Take care and all the best!
Ercole

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2014 via mobile

Perfect location. Amazing tips from the host. Very clean. Not noisy at all. Super stylish interior. Lots of guide books too. Very flexible staff. Loves the restaurant and drinks recommendations. Perfect for couples. I would definitely go there again.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Johanna Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mirmecobio, Proprietario at Blue Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 May 2014

Thank you so much!
We would love to see you back at Bluehostel!
Ercole

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Hotel Artemide
Hotel Artemide
#8 of 1,267 in Rome
6,799 reviews
Esquilino
iQ Hotel Roma
iQ Hotel Roma
#21 of 1,267 in Rome
4,224 reviews
Esquilino
The Independent Hotel
The Independent Hotel
#36 of 1,267 in Rome
1,351 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Monti
The Fifteen Keys Hotel
The Fifteen Keys Hotel
#7 of 1,267 in Rome
484 reviews
Monti
Princeps Boutique Hotel
Princeps Boutique Hotel
#20 of 1,267 in Rome
401 reviews
Campo Marzio
Portrait Roma
Portrait Roma
#2 of 1,267 in Rome
735 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blue Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Hostel

Address: Via Carlo Alberto 13, 00185 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Esquilino
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 1,131 Speciality Lodging in Rome
Price Range: £82 - £163 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Housed in a former convent built during the 17th century, with an amazing location between Santa Maria Maggiore, Termini Station and the Coliseum, Bluehostel provides fantastic double or triple rooms.Every room at Bluehostel has en-suite bathroom and shower, air conditioning, Lcd TV, free wifi and wooden floors.The rooms are daily cleaned and tastefully refurbished and are decorated with excellently preserved traditional ceilings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Blue Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blue Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing