We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“ANYTHING BUT 4-STAR”
Review of Hotel Bright

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Bright
Ranked #751 of 1,257 Hotels in Rome
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“ANYTHING BUT 4-STAR”
Reviewed 9 September 2011

Compared to the hotels I have stayed in while in Italy I would never grade this is a 4 Star rated hotel, but more of a 1 Star. We stayed in a double room which was adequate in size but the decor was very cheap which matched the furniture. The bathroom was fine although the outer frame of the shower required plenty of cleaning. The lighting in the room was very dim - there's a mini bar in the room but no tea or coffee making facilities. There free wifi internet.

There is no in house dining so the hotel staff provide a eating voucher depending on what your stay preference is, we had room / breakfast so a voucher was provided in the morning to eat in the bar/cafe next door called Dadaumpa. The breakfast is basic but fine, we ate pasta for lunch one time which was nice but not outstanding ,the bar is open early to late ,but the downside is when you want to go to bed at night you can hear the music but its not that loud that you cannot get to sleep.

Overall it's ok for somewhere to lay your head - if you're not intending to spend a lot of time in the room.

Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank GlassofClicquot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

78 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    6
    33
    27
    10
    2
See reviews for
12
15
4
27
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kish Island, Iran
Level Contributor
63 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 January 2011

This is not a hotel, it's only pair of rooms, the rooms are clean, but small and not a good view. There is no restaurant for breakfast in the hotel, so you have to go a nice bar located next to hotel where you can have your breakfast with a coupon that hotel gives to you. You have to take 2 buses and a metro line to reach to the center of ROME. you need more than an hour to reach the city tourist attraction. of course the public transportation is very good and cheap but you need the time. By the way, it's really good for the price you pay.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Emad_Ladonni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 October 2010

Clean, very small room. inexpensive for Rome. But a long way from the action, and i think a long way from any mass transit ito the action. I was there because it was close to the American Hospital, a ten minute walk away, but the neighborhood is pretty sketchy, sidewalks missing in some areas,,, minimal restaurant selection. The restaurant Dadumpa next door was surprisingly good, considering the poor reviews. The rooms were about the smallest I have ever seen,,just glad there wasnt someone with me.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Geneh48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bologna
Level Contributor
65 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2010

Actually, a sad hotel in front of a very noisy road (Via Prenestina), close to a very noisy wine bar (Da-Da-Umpa, where you will be invited to go for taking your breakfast) especially if your are unfortunate enough (like me) to stay in a front-side room, with very small rooms equipped with even smaller beds.

The surrounding is bad, in particular during the night, except if somebody likes to have viados and prostitutes just around the corner, and very far from Rome downtown.

Therefore, absolutely to avoid by tourists, families and large and tall people...

Positive points: new building, clean, free-of-charge garage.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Aldo051
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Rome hotels

4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Earth.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 November 2009

If you are thinking this hotel offers good value for money, you could not be more deluded. The simple truth is that by paying an extra £100 per night/room for an hotel much closer to the city centre, not only will your money be very well spent, but it will be much more convenient too. Once you have deducted what you will spend on taxis, the difference is not so much overall. The Hotel itself is clean, tidy and well presented, but the rooms are tiny. Two people can not occupy the same area of the nine by nine foot square space, most of which is taken up by the regular sized double bed anyway. If you are light sleeper stay somewhere else. The walls are paper thin, so the same applies to honeymooners! The person keeping you awake through loud snoring is in fact in the next room, could be above or below too.
The windows may as well be boarded up, as there is no view worth seeing from them. Unless you like the very noisy and busy main road to the front, or the industrial estates the side and rear. I can assure you your heart will sink the moment you arrive a the roadside, there is no path either outside the Bright.
If a bandit in a taxi tells you there is a suppliment to pay after eight in the evening, he is lying. You may haggle of course, but best to use a White cab with the meter running instead. The bus service from the hotel (508) runs at irregular times and does not go directly to the city, but stops at the train terminus. Now you must now endure the grubbiest stations and trains. Do not use after ten in the evening or alone. You have been warned.
The taxis will charge about £25 euro from Rome, you will probably have to give directions, as most look rather blank at the mention of the Bright. It's only eight kilometers outside the city centre, but somewhere most don't ever go.
Food at the hotel is provided by be establishment next door. Breakfast is adequate.
As with everything here it is grossly overpriced. Generally at least twice you might actually think it is worth. Ironically the best value food is inside Vatican city! All very sensibly priced, even the entry fee £12 is very good value considering all you get to see. Go Wednesday morning and you will see his holiness 'live' addressing the masses in the square. Now is a good time to get in line. Ignore everyone selling tours at so called special rates and VIP entry etc. They are lying. It's only ten euros for an audio guide once inside.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank shareandenjoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester UK
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2009

My wife and I have just come back from 4 nights in Rome without the kids (yay) and for the first 2 nights stayed in a perfectly good hotel called the 'Hotel Bright' in an area called Prenestina which is on the outskirts of the city. It's a perfectly nice enough hotel but almost 1 a hour journey each way on public transport from the Termini station. We were staying over the 1st of May holiday weekend and found accommodation hard to come by on the internet (and City centre hotels can be very pricey) so we booked the Bright on the fly. We found the interior and exterior to be clean and modern, the room we had was small but recently decorated and priced accordingly at 65E with breakfast, and it was quiet. The staff are helpful enough and we would definately recommend this hotel as the area seems safe enough but as said it's sited quite a distance from the city so if you need to use public transport to get into the city then be prepared to allow up to a hour for travelling as you'll have to take a bus then Metro to get to Termini station. The hotel is set back off a fairly busy road next to a car showroom garage with a Decathlon store on one side and a cafe / restaurant on the other and resembles a Travel Lodge sort of hotel, but don't let this put you off becasue if you are travelling through this hotel is quite clean and pleasant enough.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NogginLofty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
3.2 mi away
La Mela
La Mela
#868 of 1,257 in Rome
3.5 of 5 bubbles 188 reviews
3.7 mi away
Hotel degli Imperatori
Hotel degli Imperatori
#596 of 1,257 in Rome
3.5 of 5 bubbles 232 reviews
2.5 mi away
Best Western Hotel Roma Tor Vergata
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.1 mi away
Scheppers Hotel
Scheppers Hotel
#1,019 of 1,257 in Rome
3.0 of 5 bubbles 254 reviews
2.0 mi away
Alba Hotel Torre Maura
Alba Hotel Torre Maura
#1,048 of 1,257 in Rome
3.0 of 5 bubbles 280 reviews
14.7 mi away
Hotel Aris Garden
Hotel Aris Garden
#957 of 1,257 in Rome
3.0 of 5 bubbles 270 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Bright? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Bright

Property: Hotel Bright
Address: Via Prenestina 940, 00155 Rome, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #751 of 1,257 Hotels in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Bright 3*
Number of rooms: 55
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Bright reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing