We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Horrid Stay”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of B&B Santa Croce

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
B&B Santa Croce
Ranked #985 of 3,752 Rome B&B and Inns
Norwich, United Kingdom
1 review
“Horrid Stay”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2013

I booked three nights at b and b Santa crose for a 40th birthday surprise for my boyfriend. First night we arrived was great. He told us that we would stay the first night in the suite and then in the morning we will change rooms. Thinking all he meant was to move next door to the double room we agreed that's fine, no problem. Next morning came...we had a tour at the colosseum at 1030 so agreed 930 we would change rooms. He came to collect us and without a word said walked us 10 mins down the road to a different b and b (not as nice at all) and left us there. We had already paid for three nights. When we asked and complained that this is not the b and b we paid for, what's going on. He pretended he didn't understand. We later got 50 euros back off him as he finally admitted he had double booked. Very disorganised, but with an explanation things would have been ok but nothing. Would definitely not reccomend to anyone.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 642SarahA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
santacroce1, Proprietario at B&B Santa Croce, responded to this review, 9 April 2013
For an unexpected, i could be a problem for a room on 29 and 30 April.
The Guest booking was March 28 to 31 and I knew that they celebrated the boy friend birthday.
Upon arrival I proposed to couple with clarity: I give you stay the first night in the "SUITE" (very very beautiful room) at the same price of room booking if you tomorrow morning move to another bb in a nearby building.
Given the great room enthusiastically accepted the proposal.
The next day at 8.30 have breakfast in our room and at 9:15 were ready with luggage closed for the transfer to the bb (so they were well aware that they had to move to the other building).
I have accompanied them to another bb and they have not made any comments.
After reception called me saying that the guest had gone to the Coliseum and at return they wanted to talk with me. AT 2 p.m. the girl . tells me, since the discomfort for the transfer, wanted a discount on the price of booking. After stating that the evening before had agreed to transfer, to close the problem, I proposed them to choose between a discount of € 50 or to return to BB SANTA CROCE. They said they wanted a discount of 50 euro and the issue was resolved.
This is the truth that certifies the transparency and fairness towards guests
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

81 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    35
    29
    11
    2
    4
See reviews for
12
39
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bucharest
Level Contributor
43 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 November 2012

I was there with a group of three friends last year and I had an enjoyable stay in Rome, capital of Italy...Maybe was the "fault" of Rome of having such a good time here... The breakfast is fair, the location is ok, just nearby a beautiful catholic church - if you go to the terrace you may touch the saint statues on the roof...

Room Tip: Ask the receptionist for a room up, up, up...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PinkPanther67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
59 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2012

i stayed at this B&B back in may 2010 and thought it was lovely. i went with a friend and we stayed in the twin room, which was basic but very nice. the bathroom was shared with another room, but it was very spacious and very clean. i really liked the location, i felt safe and it is in a quiet enough street with a lovely typical (full of locals) restaurant up the road where we ate most evenings as it was so nhami and cheap. the B&B it is less than 5 minutes walk to the tube but you can also walk (about 10 minutes) to the colosseum. the breakfast is really lovely and the host very friendly. the only problem i had, were the mosquitos... unfortunately there are plenty of them in rome at that time of the year and i spent hours at night trying and failing to sleep as kept being bitten! maybe they could install some anti-mosquito sprays in the room.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank simplesmentealice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waconia, Minnesota
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 February 2012

Nice B&B. Good breakfast: coffee, tea, fresh squeezed juice, soft boiled eggs, yogurt, toast, pastries, butter, jams, nutella, cheese. All rooms have private bath (some attached to room, some across hall). Must take subway or bus to major sites, too far to walk, but subway stop is only a 5 min walk away. Owner speaks a little English, maid speaks none. Free wifi worked well.

Room Tip: They have rooms with 2 twin beds and some with a full size bed, also, some rooms have bathroom attac...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Curtis E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winkler, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 November 2011

We stayed at the B&B Santa Croce in May 2010 and had no complaints. The breakfast every morning was amazing and the rooms were very clean. We walked from the termini to the B&B, I think it was about a 10 or 15 min walk. We tried staying here again this year when we travelled to Rome but they were booked up, too bad! Definately recommended.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tfriesen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bucharest
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 October 2011

B&B Santa Croce is very good and very clean. The breakfast is gorgeous. Felice and Elena are very nice and friendly.The nearby is OK and safe. nearby is OK and safe. i reccomand this hotel all the tourists which visit Rome.

Room Tip: The best room is the room with terrace..
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank popa r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lee, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 October 2011

We were a group of 7 people, 2 couples, 2 women and a man, therefore this looked to be the perfect solution to stay here as it could accommodate us all in the same place, however when we got there we were all together for the 1st night but the other 2 the single man in our party was moved to a different hotel just round the corner! This didn't cause too many probs and he was able to have his breakfast with us, however it was a bit inconvenient. Having said that our overall experience was very good, great breakfast and clean, spacious rooms, all with their own bathrooms. Location was fine, 20mins to Coloseum and other sites not far away either, is a 'quick' route to the Trevi Fountain that we only discovered on the last night, so read your maps! Is a supermarket about 4 doors down, but the mini bar is good value too!!

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Imrod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
La Locanda del Manzoni
La Locanda del Manzoni
#381 of 1,291 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 193 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Continentale
Hotel Continentale
#373 of 1,291 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 397 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Donatello
Hotel Donatello
#366 of 1,291 in Rome
3.5 of 5 bubbles 599 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Esquilino
Happy Home 2C
Happy Home 2C
#70 of 1,088 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 37 reviews
Esquilino
La Rotella nel Sacco
La Rotella nel Sacco
#903 of 3,752 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 108 reviews
Esquilino
Termini Gold B&B
Termini Gold B&B
#332 of 3,752 in Rome
5.0 of 5 bubbles 122 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to B&B Santa Croce? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about B&B Santa Croce

Property: B&B Santa Croce
Address: Via di Santa Croce in Gerusalemme 91, 00185 Rome, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Esquilino
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #985 of 3,752 B&Bs / Inns in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:1.5 star — B&B Santa Croce 1.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your B&B Santa Croce reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
b&b Santa Croce Hotel Rome
Bed And Breakfast Santa Croce

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing