We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonderful semi-rural walk near the centre of Rome”

Parco Regionale dell'Appia Antica
Book In Advance
More Info
US$18.15*
and up
Bike Rental: Appia Antica Regional Park in Rome
Ranked #64 of 1,514 things to do in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: The Parco dell'Appia Antica is a regional protected area gazzeted by regional law n°66 of November 10th 1988 "Institution of the Appia Antica regional suburban park". When the regional law n°29 was passed in 1997 the area of the Park was enlarged as Tor Marancia was annexed. The Park's aims are conservation and enhancement of its territory to allow people to enjoy the extraordinary scenic beauty, to learn about and study this fundamental historic, artistic and natural heritage. THE APPIAN WAY: The most modern ancient road312 B.C.: The consul Appio Claudio gave his name to the route of a new road to reach Campania and then Brindisi. This new road was paved with large smooth stones that fitted together perfectly, laid on a bed of gravel that ensured stability and drainage.
London, England
Level Contributor
142 reviews
38 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“A wonderful semi-rural walk near the centre of Rome”
Reviewed 11 June 2014

Feeling like a nice walk after a few days in the heaving centre of Rome, we decided to walk down part of the Appian Way, one of the ancient Roman roads. It is now a linear park, lined with ruins of tombs, monuments and villas, and enough trees to provide shade. A few tips: Take the 118 bus from the Piramid Metro station, which is very close to the Stazione Ostiense if you are travelling by train. Get off in the Appian Way, soon after the railway bridge and pop into the Information Office (where you can get a good free map in many languages). Unless you like walking along busy and dangerous roads, I advise taking the next bus and getting off at the Basilica di San Sebastiano, where you can also visit the catacombs. From this point there is far less traffic and good walking. Walk as far as you like! Most left turns will bring you the return route of the 118 bus - we made it to the Casal Rotondo and walked down the busy road of that name to the Via Appia Nuovo to catch a bus back to the centre. Note that there are a few expensive restaurants in the early part of the road, but none thereafter - take a picnic.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank DavidCl19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

844 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    544
    208
    57
    20
    15
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toongabbie, Australia
Level Contributor
97 reviews
70 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
“Just a road”
Reviewed 10 June 2014

I had wanted to visit the Appian Way because of its historical significance, but it really is just a road. You will see plenty of them if you visit sites like Ostia Antica and Pompei, so I don't really think it was worth the trip (metro line 2 to Piramide, then a very bumpy bus ride). Also, bit difficult to walk on, very uneven surface and had to keep getting out of the way of bikes and vehicles (we visited on Sunday when the road is supposed to be closed, but still lots of traffic. Dies off the further you go though.)

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank LivandZac87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
72 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“A 'must-do' in Rome, but plan your visit”
Reviewed 7 June 2014

Set off for the park in the car from a few miles west of Rome. We did a bit of online research about how to get there, bike hire, etc. But ended up parked on the Eastern perimeter of the park in Via Lemonia, in the suburbs, next to the Parco degli Aquadotti. Open access and no fees to enter. In fact, this area was full of local residents jogging, doing yoga and Thai Chi, and walking their dogs! The info booth at this spot (and bike hire? Who knows!) was shut (on a June Saturday). So we ended up walking around the aquaduct area on foot (it's lovely) but we weren't able to cover much ground on foot in the heat. We needed bicycles!! The whole park is vast and we found the official website full of information but strangely not that informative! Plus none of the downloadable maps downloaded to our phones or laptop (at least we tried to do that in advance; we weren't total flops!). Anyway, we then drove around a bit more (well, a lot more) around the suburbs to find the via Appia Antica, which we found, believing that we could (in the sad absence of bicycles) drive down the whole road on a Saturday (closed to traffic on Sundays). Wrong! To cut a long story short, we only managed to drive down a short stretch of the via Appia Antica, but it was very beautiful and worth the effort of finding it. The moral of this story is plan your visit carefully and figure out at which point to start and finish your visit, and whether you want to walk or to rent bicycles. I don't recommend driving down the old Appian Way - you need to take your time and linger at the monuments and take in the beautiful peaceful atmosphere and ancient landscape that this park offers. It is well worth the effort of visiting and I would say that to cover the area properly, you need to be on two wheels. So plan ahead....! But do go, it is a very special place.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Sophie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
47 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Great, once we got to the part that was closed to traffic”
Reviewed 4 June 2014 via mobile

A nice day. We combined it with the baths of Caracalla. The part between the San Sebastian gate and roughly mile post 3 was very heavily trafficked. The rest was very pleasant. The bikes we rented from the park office were very beat up, but you can understand why from the bumpiness of the road!

Helpful?
1 Thank DartProf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
124 reviews
36 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“core roman history - carefully consider bike rental”
Reviewed 1 June 2014

I thought I'd walk out of this city along one of the oldest roads in history as I grew up in a town along the path of another Roman road and had studied them at school. I had started to tire of the modern Rome, a lack of investment in underground transport has left this large, modern city over-run by Italians in their cars and on their mopeds where the balance between vehicle and pedestrian is firmly at one end of the spectrum.

Via Apia Antica, as they call it now, is unfortunately still used by cars and doesn't have a pavement for pedestrians in many places. You do get that reassuring feeling as you depart Rome that you are leaving that noise and chaos behind you. The small park around the catacombs of St Callixtus is peaceful and reminiscent of the farm land that would appear outside of the old city. That was as far as I got before I needed to turn around to get back in time to visit the Baths of Caracalla. I would have benefited from some planning and perhaps using the bus one way, but I still enjoyed my walk.

The road itself on the section I walked along is all small square cobbles at 45 degree angles. In places those vary from very smooth and polished to disrupted and lumpy. For anyone unused to cycling in busy urban environments or who doesn't enjoy bumpy cobbles or who doesn't have mountain bike tyres, bike hire would be unwise. I suspect they are very slippery in the wet too - I would check the weather forecast if you do decide to cycle.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Kevin W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Parco Regionale dell'Appia Antica also viewed

 

Been to Parco Regionale dell'Appia Antica? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing