We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly and welcoming”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sotto La Cupola Guest House
Ranked #458 of 1,271 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 September 2013

It's a nice, clean, and comfortable place. Emilia the owner make you feel welcome and she is very helpful. Location is great just minutes from the Piazza San Pietro (Vatican). Breakfast was excellent.
Thanks

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
4  Thank Alejandra F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (108)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

29 - 35 of 108 reviews

Reviewed 29 September 2013

we were on a family vacation of 3 adults. The room was great and comfortable for 3 people. The bathroom and the kitchen were very clean. I loved this guest house. Located 3 min walk from the Vatican with great connections to all the attractions. Emilia was amazing and very helpful with everything at all times. I will definitely recommend this B&B.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ira Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2013

We stayed at Sotta La Cupola on our first trip to Rome and the experience was very pleasant.

Pros:

Emilia, the owner, is extremely helpful and very nice. She gave good recommendations and was very accommodating.

The place was clean and very well kept.

The value cannot be beat - this place is dirt cheap compared to lots of places in Rome, but you don't give up much to get that kind of value here.

Cons:
The only slight con here is location. The guest house is right by the Vatican, so that is very convenient, but not near any other sites. We also didn't have much luck with food and drink in the immediate area. We fared much better walking across the river or down to Trastevere, both of which are very easy to get to. Trastevere, is a short walk down the river, and there is a bus that goes from the nearby train station across the river to all the other sites you want to see.

Overall: would highly recommend this for the value-conscious traveler.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Toomeya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2013

We stayed here for 5 nights, and it was everything we needed and more. The location was good, right next to the vatican, and the bus to the city ran from down the road every 5 minutes. The room was modern, exceptionally clean and very comfortable. Outside the room is a kitchen that is shared between the 3 apartments in the guesthouse. The kitchen is very well equipped, and we used it to cook our meals twice. The best part was that the cleaner cleaned up all our pots and dishes for us the next day, which made our holiday much more relaxing. There was also an endless supply of fruit juice which was excellent to come back to after a hot day walking around Rome. The shutters on the window made sure that it was nice and dark, making it easy to sleep in. The air-conditioning was also excellent. I would definitely recommend this place to those wishing to stay near the Vatican.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ChelsLo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2013 via mobile

First of all, I have to say that Emilia and Alessio (the owners) are lovely. They were always ready for any kind of help.Once I asked Emilia about a place to buy a little pram for use during our stay in Rome and she gave me her own pram.they did their best to fix any problem we we had.
The guest house is a flat in a residential block.the owners live in the next door flat.location is excellent,Just 5 minutes to Saint Peter, and 2 min to a bus st.
There is a kitchen which is shared between two rooms and you may make your own coffee by using a coffee-maker.and also there are some bread, cake and butter that are available all of the times.
The flat is cleaned everyday and the result is spotless room,bathroom and kitchen.
Beds are quite comfortable and AC is a great matter of comfort in Rome.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank masnaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2013 via mobile

Stayed here with friends on Easter weekend. We had the larger of the two rooms in the apartment and it was perfect for three people. The window shutters made the room so dark (and its on a quiet street) that we all slept for about 10 hours without anyone making a stir. Most of our time that weekend was spent in/around the Vatican, making the location of this Guest House perfect. The owners live next door and are super friendly and a plethora of information about Rome and its tourist attractions. We used the shuttle/taxi recommended by the guest house for to/from the airport, which was super convenient and great service.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Liz M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2013

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Antone B
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Emmaus
#508 of 1,271 in Rome
352 reviews
Residence Candia
#372 of 1,271 in Rome
436 reviews
Hotel Paolo II
#621 of 1,271 in Rome
27 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Prati
Le Suite di Via Ottaviano
Le Suite di Via Ottaviano
#659 of 1,271 in Rome
170 reviews
Hotel Alessandrino
#474 of 1,271 in Rome
316 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sotto La Cupola Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sotto La Cupola Guest House

Address: Via Cardinal Agliardi 15 | St. Peter, 00165 Rome, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#118 Best Value Hotel in Rome
#140 Romantic Hotel in Rome
#187 Family Hotel in Rome
Price Range: £49 - £90 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Sotto La Cupola Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bed and Breakfast Sotto la Cupola-Guest House, is located at only 250 mt from the Vatican City and 300 mt from the train station of Roma San Pietro. Close to most of the sites and museums of the eternal city, the nearest is San Peter,then Vatican Museums, Castel S. Angel, Piazza Navona, Pantheon, Trevi Fountain, Piazza di Spagna and the Colosseum, which are reachable easily by foot walking through the most beautiful streets of Rome. Unique areas, interesting to leave and visit, as Campo di Fiori, Trastevere and Testaccio are nearby and are nice to walk through also by night also because of all the restaurants, pizzeria, trattorias and pubs of the roman night life. At the second and forth floor with elevators,of comfortable and quiet condominiums, we have rooms of high prestige, with italian antique furniture, antique paintings and private bathrooms for each bedroom. We have all modern comforts: WI-FI, AC ,TV led and hairdryer. To be as free as you wish you will be give all keys of the apartment, to feel like at home kitchen is at your disposal for breakfast and at any other time. For whoever wants to enjoy a stay in Rome with all modern facilities and familiar atmosphere, this is the right place. Oparating License Bed and Breakfast Scia Prot. QA/2015/33015 - one category open from 1/1 to 10/1 - from 1/3 to 17/8 - from 29/8 to 31/12 . Oparating License Casa Vacanze (holiday home) Scia Prot. QA/2015/35200 - annual opening - 2° cat. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, TripOnline SA, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Sotto La Cupola Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sotto La Cupola Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing