We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excelent Place for a seeing Rome” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sonnino Suite B&B

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Sonnino Suite B&B
Ranked #475 of 1,292 Hotels in Rome
Lancaster, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Excelent Place for a seeing Rome”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 December 2011

This is a great little place. It is a converted apartment flat so things are a little different from a normal Hotel. A lot of reviewers were complaining about the noise, but room 1 was silent. I didn't hear a thing through the windows. The bed and towels were very clean as well.
The rooms them selves were a little spartan but honestly i wasn't expecting a lavish room. It's exactly what you need for exploring Rome and not staying in your room the entire time. The bed and pillows were very firm, but that's about the same all over Italy from what I gathered from other reviews.
The Hotel does have Wi-Fi and I never had an issue with it. A good solid signal with good speeds. There was a TV, but honestly i think i flipped it on once.

The location... that's the kicker. This place is great! you literally have a 10 minute walk to the Colosseum and a 15 minute walk to the Vatican. It's very centrally located and you can't get lost going home. You just find the Tibber river and head down river until you hit Ponte Geribaldi and head down the Viale Trastevere. After a long day of walking there are plenty of good restaurants around the hotel as well. I found a place called Da Vittiro, good service, great food and it wasn't crawling with people either. Check out Santa Maria in Trastevere while you're over there. It was my favorite church out of all of Rome.

The hotel staff (Sairis (sorry if I misspelled your name)) is very helpful and good to talk to. He ends up coming in at all hours to check people in as they arrive at the hotel. He speaks Indian, English and Italian and maybe another but I can't remember off the top of my head. The stairs up to the hotel aren't bad, just make sure you count out the right number of floors and dont try going into the door a level down... I definitely didnt do that. There is a small elevator to take you up and down if you have luggage too.

I would defiantly stay here again when I go back.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Gumbo J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

161 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    46
    87
    17
    9
    2
See reviews for
28
69
7
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
33 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 November 2011

we wanted to be near the Great Synagogue in the old Jewish Ghetto in rome. this was a 10 min walk from there, in the wonderful trastevere neighborhood. these are suites, not a hotel. the staff was extremely nice, our room (#7) was gorgeous and very large. the bed was very comfortable. we have only the nicest things to say. would def stay there again and would def recommend it to others looking to stay in that part of town.

Room Tip: the owner was extremely magnanimous with us and allowed us to stay in the gorgeous 3x room, #7, even...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank debbyspero
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
basel
Level Contributor
96 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 October 2011

We stayed with our large family, and got two rooms that we could walk in between without going into the public area. The staff was friendly. The place doesn't have a sign outside, but thanks to the TripAdvisor information we were prepared. The rooms are high up, but still face a street with trams on it, so if you are a light sleeper, or have to keep the window open, you will hear it. We were ok with it. The place was very clean, the staff friendly, and value-for-money excellent.
We would go back.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank businessmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cork
Level Contributor
40 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 September 2011

my mate and I stayed in Sonnino Suite for 2 nights and what can I say, well, it was just what one needs for a 2 night stay in Rome.
The suite is really safe and secure, clean, comfortable and the host is a gent.
We had a fridge in our room and the beds were comfortable.
Most importantly for us as we were so tired from our road trip, the room was sooo quiet.
The location is perfect as you are so close to the city centre, without being in a very touristy spot and the public transport is great so you can be where you want to be in no time.

The area is great, if you want to experience local Rome.
There is an internet cafe on the right and a great little local pizza place and bar on the left.
The locals are so lovely, that you will want to hang out in this area in the evening.

The host was more than accommodating, meeting us when were arrived late and allowing us to leave our luggage there before our flight departure.

Simply what you need when staying in a city for a few nights.
Oh and breakfast is served in a little local cafe - perfect. Typical Italian affair but great none the less.

If I go to Rome again, I will definitely stay here.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jessabells
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2011

What a find! Because of the storms across europe over the Christmas holiday we had issue with our luggage and had to wait at the airport for it to arrive on the next flight. The hotel is run like a B&B and after hours your on your own. So upon landing we phoned the hotel and Tommaso waited late for us to finally arrive. We were staying 7 days and given a nice, large, street facing room which I thought would be a problem but it was very quiet. Everything was simple and perfect for our needs. We don't like to spend time in our hotels when traveling but they must be in a good central location and clean, which this was. Breakfast is at a little bar a few doors down from the hotel and had really good fresh, hot croissants and coffee which was perfect. The Trastevere neighborhood is pretty awesome as well. Great restaurants, cafes and night life. This hotel is perfectly situated in Trastevere and near all major sites like; Vatican, Pz Navona, Pz Campo de Fiori, Pantheon, Trevi Fountain, all of central Rome. A short walk across the Ponte Gribaldi Bridge and you are walking distance to every main attraction. If you want comfortable, clean, value for the money accommodations in Rome, this is a good bet.

Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank penguinVancouver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2011

We booked a twin and ended up with a double, but the room was ok. Very very noisy with the trams going past but it is Rome afterall. We had friendly service but breakfast at the cafe was not friendly at all and was limited to coffee or juice and a pastry. Would not recommend.

Stayed May 2011, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank ali_travelling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 May 2011

This is in the perfect location. There is no real service but I wasn't expecting it because I read the reviews here. The hotel was very clean. I stayed in the triple room. The only complaint I have is the pillows. The worst pillow ever!

Love the little cafe on the corner for cappuccino and croissants in the morning.

I arrived in Rome alone and had the owner book me a car service...it was well worth it. The way home, just booked a taxi.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank K N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Trastevere
Hotel Domus Tiberina
Hotel Domus Tiberina
#504 of 1,292 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 244 reviews
Trastevere
Locanda Carmel
Locanda Carmel
#621 of 1,292 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 167 reviews
Trastevere
Relais Le Clarisse in Trastevere
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Trastevere
Hotel San Francesco
Hotel San Francesco
#273 of 1,292 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 663 reviews
Trastevere
Villa della Fonte Guest House
Trastevere
Hotel Trastevere
Hotel Trastevere
#511 of 1,292 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 249 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sonnino Suite B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sonnino Suite B&B

Property: Sonnino Suite B&B
Address: Piazza Sidney Sonnino 25, 00153 Rome, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Trastevere
Amenities:
Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#281 Family Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Sonnino Suite B&B 2*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sonnino Suite features spacious, elegant rooms in Trastevere, Rome’s liveliest area, on the right bank of Tiber River. The B&B is near many restaurants and bars. Public bus H will take you to Termini Train Station in about 15 minutes.The air-conditioned rooms include a flat-screen TV with Sky satellite channels, free wired internet, and a minibar. Each room is soundproof for a relaxing stay.The Sonnino’s staff can provide local area information for your visit to Rome. The Basilica di Santa Maria in Trastevere and the Isola Tiberina are close by. The rest of ancient Rome is just across the river. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Sonnino Suite B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sonnino Suite Bed And Breakfast
Sonnino Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing