We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not suites, not breakfast. God location but expensive.”
Review of Sonnino Suite B&B

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Sonnino Suite B&B
Ranked #538 of 1,272 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 31 March 2013

The hotel has a god location in the best parts of Trastevere. Unfortunately there is no breakfast and quite expensive. Free Cable TV with Sky channels. WiFi performance and coverage is very dependant of wich room you get. If its important check first. Room looked clean but a lot of dust under beads and in shelfs. Maybe because it is early in season.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fredrik_Sch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (178)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

46 - 52 of 178 reviews

Reviewed 25 February 2013

We spent two nights here and loved being so close to all the "action". The room was clean, staff was friendly and the location perfect. Easy to walk to anything in Rome! I would stay here again in a split second. We felt we got lots of bang for our bucks!

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Ulrika B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2012

We stayed here for 4 nights upon first arriving in Rome. It's not exactly a hotel, it's more like a fancy hostel, as the desk is only open for so many hours of the day (extended working hours maybe?) and the rooms were located on the 4th floor of a large old building with other residents in the apartments above and below. The room wasn't big but was spacious enough and the shower was very small, but otherwise it was pretty decent, with a nice view. The only other complaint was the lack of an iron, which sounds nit-picky but I had lots of shirts and all were creased! You'd expect an iron in a hotel surely?

The best thing about the hotel was the location, right amongst the heart of Trastevere, which is a great area for cafes, restaurants and bars, strewn along small cobbled streets that are really picturesque and exactly what you expect when you think of a romanticized Italy.

On a side note when we arrived at the hotel, the concierge asked for cash for the room up front, saying that the credit card system wasn't working. We were a little suspicious of this and asked that we pay at the end of our stay instead. When it came time to leave, we said we couldn't get all the money out (it would have meant maxing our cards for the day, leaving us with no money for food and sight-seeing) and so he took a copy of our card instead, saying he'd try the machine again the following day. It may have been genuine (hence the 4 stars instead of 3 stars) but we were a little annoyed at this, we'd already reserved the rooms with our credit card and it's usually custom to pay on the last day when you check-out, not as soon as you arrive!

Overall I'd say it was a good stay but be aware that these issues have put us off from choosing this place again. The guy was super nice and helpful otherwise.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank KnickKnack1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2012

My family looked for weeks for a good hotel in Rome, we stayed here two nights and it was perfect. The hotel could be hard to locate but which the help of trip advisor and some photos posted by my fellow reviewers we had no problems, in fact, we walked to the hotel from the main train station with our eight year old daughter at a leisurely pace stopping to take photos and it was about 30 minutes.

The rooms are very large by european standards, the bathroom and showers were nice, the room was very clean and comfortable.

What we liked best was the location, the neighborhood was safe, quite but lively at night, we walked to the colosseum at 9pm and walked back an hour later, the neighborhood is loaded with restaurants and bars. Theres also a bus station about a block away which is a stop for all the tour buses and local city buses, we used the buses to get around faster so we could see more while we were there.

Best bang for your buck in Rome, location, rooms, price, and staff is worth it.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 8, had a great view of the church across the street (which you need to visit)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Poptart M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2012 via mobile

The hotel is very well located. You can go walking to main attractions (just buy a hat or umbrella if it's summer in Rome). The bedroom and bathroom are big and clean. The only fact that can bore you a little but is the fact that there is no 24h reception, you need to carry the key to open a big door in the hotel building and take a not modern lift. This was not
a problem for me, but if you don't expect this would be a problem for you.

2  Thank sergio_paro
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 11 April 2012

I will stay here again. Good room, great shower, excellent price. Bed was a bit soft for me and it had really helped that we had looked on google streetview at the front of the building. The bus stopped about 20 meters away and it is surrounded by good places to eat. If you want coffee and pastry for breakfast try Baylon cafe, via di S.Francesco, 5 mins walk away. A lovely atmosphere great coffess and fresh pastries.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jimpete
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2012

I stayed in the Sonnino Suite with my partner at the end of February 2012. Having done alot of research into accomodation in the city, I could not have been happier with my choice, which added to our wonderful experience in this beautiful city!

We received excellent directions to the door of the hotel, which is ideally located close to the beautiful cafes and restaurants in Trastevere, and is also a short walk to any of the major tourist spots. We stayed in a beautiful, character-filled room which was very spacious and clean. And all for a great price!

I would happily recommend the Sonnino Suite to anyone travelling to Bellamy Roma and I look forward to staying there again!

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lcorr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Trastevere
Hotel Domus Tiberina
Hotel Domus Tiberina
#559 of 1,272 in Rome
285 reviews
Trastevere
Hotel Locanda Carmel
Hotel Locanda Carmel
#488 of 1,272 in Rome
193 reviews
Trastevere
Hotel San Francesco
Hotel San Francesco
#277 of 1,272 in Rome
710 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Trastevere
Hotel Trastevere
Hotel Trastevere
#474 of 1,272 in Rome
270 reviews
Trastevere
Relais Le Clarisse in Trastevere
Trastevere
Villa della Fonte
Villa della Fonte
#550 of 1,272 in Rome
166 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sonnino Suite B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sonnino Suite B&B

Address: Piazza Sidney Sonnino 25, 00153 Rome, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Trastevere
Amenities:
Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#175 Family Hotel in Rome
Price Range: £34 - £118 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Sonnino Suite B&B 2*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sonnino Suite features spacious, elegant rooms in Trastevere, Rome’s liveliest area, on the right bank of Tiber River. The B&B is near many restaurants and bars. Public bus H will take you to Termini Train Station in about 15 minutes.The air-conditioned rooms include a flat-screen TV with Sky satellite channels, free wired internet, and a minibar. Each room is soundproof for a relaxing stay.The Sonnino’s staff can provide local area information for your visit to Rome. The Basilica di Santa Maria in Trastevere and the Isola Tiberina are close by. The rest of ancient Rome is just across the river. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Sonnino Suite B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sonnino Hotel Rome
Sonnino Suite Bed And Breakfast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing