We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent location, friendly service”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Sonnino Suite B&B

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Sonnino Suite B&B
Ranked #461 of 1,291 Hotels in Rome
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Excellent location, friendly service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2014

We stayed here for two nights in early June 2014, during a heatwave where we spent three days slogging around in 38 degrees. So the first thing to say is that the air conditioning is very good at Sonnino Suites. As is the service; we were looked after by Cyrus for our booking and throughout our stay and he was friendly, helpful, and professional.

The building is on a busy square with trams and traffic, cafes and bars, in the heart of Trastevere, and we had Room 1 which was at the back of the building (quiet, just a few church bells). The room was small-medium, with a comfortable bed and decent sized bathroom with shower. It wasn't spotlessly clean (we opened the wardrobe and were greeted with a pair of rather elderly black lace pants) and a little scruffy around the edges, but perfect for a short stay. There is a little lift (very little, you might have to send your luggage up separately, and any over-eating of pizzas might make things difficult) that takes you up to the Suites on the second floor.

The main thing here is the location; within a few minutes walk east and west of the main Viale Trastevere you have numerous excellent bars and restaurants. Then over the bridge you can reach the Forum / Circo Massimo / Colosseum quickly. Also the heights of the Gianicolo where you can get fabulous views over the whole city.

Room Tip: Room one is quiet as it overlooks a small square on the back of the building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank W6travellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

162 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    46
    88
    17
    9
    2
See reviews for
28
70
7
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 May 2014

This hotel has a very convenient location - not far from famous sights. There is near the hotel several cafes where you will be able to enjoy nice coffee and croissants. The staff are very hospitable. When we had lost a way a little, we rang up in the hotel and we were kindly explained how find a building. There is lot of restaurants and cafes in this district where you will be able to taste Italian food Near the hotel is a tram stop and taxi stop. I advise everybody this wonderful hotel!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Astrochka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 May 2014

Firstly, ignore the second B in the classification, there is no breakfast at the hotel. There is, however, a bar on an adjacent corner where a coffee and a pastry costs €2.50 p.p.
The entrance to the hotel isn't distinguished by anything like a name over the door so look for the orangey-yellow building with the double brown door. Press the labelled bell for admission.
The lift is up a very short set of stairs and is small; if a couple has a large case each it might mean two trips.
Desk staff are very helpful and friendly and know the area. Our room was clean and spacious with a nice view over Trastevere rooftops. The bed, however, was hard; no picket springing here, but the sheets were clean and crisp. There are no tea/coffee making facilities but there is a fridge. Furnishings are basic and functional and none the worse for that.
The location us fantastic; buses into the centre of Rome a minute's walk or a fifteen minute gentle stroll. Vatican about one mile along the bank or catch bus no.23 just over the bridge.
A wealth of small restaurants and bars in the always interesting Trastevere district; you won't go wrong with the Alle Fratte di Trastevere.
I would certainly stay here again for location and price it's excellent but oh...that bed.

Room Tip: 9 and 10 are at the rear and a bit less subject to noise from Viale Trastevere.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Malckya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wigan, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 February 2014

wonderful location handy for the trams, buses and the city sites. rooms were clean and pleasant. we took a travel kettle for our morning cup of tea, but a few yards left of the b&b was a little stand up cafe bar which was reasonable . very good value.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank janet p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oakland, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 January 2014

My girlfriend and I stayed at Sonnino Suite "B&B" 3 nights Rome and had a good experience. Cyrus, the man at the front desk, was helpful and communicative. The room was clean and well maintained. The location in Trastavere was good. WiFi was adequate, but it was broken for several hours the one day we needed it. We would be happy to stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dane M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 December 2013

great location, near a range of excellent and well priced restaurants, snack bars and bars, walking distance of the main sites and very near the river for evening strolls, good for a couple or family. I stayed here with my young son and I felt very safe and the beds were really comfortable, rooms beautiful. The staff were polite and helpful. The entrance seems a bit unfriendly because it is off the main street and it's just a big wooden doorway with no sign , but once you are inside there's marble flooring and the rooms are lovely and airy with an interesting aspect over the little rooftops or Rome. Just note - it comes up as a B&B on trip advisor but breakfast is not included. Apart from some confusion, this isn't a problem as there is a super little cafe right next door selling the most fabulous coffee and patisseries (chocolate croissant just 80c) - actually much better atmosphere than sitting in a hotel to eat breakfast. It's not really a hotel, just serviced rooms, but they are lovely, clean and well serviced. I will be back! Local friendly and cosmopolitan. there are a few touts, but not a real problem - just if you are with kids you might find street sellers trying to press you into buying little toy torches for your children - particularly in the piazzas - so you need to be very firm and walk on.
All in all very authentic, comfortable and happy visit to Rome.

Room Tip: Room 9 is the lilac coloured one with the arch above the bed as shown in the photos... it faces away...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Heidi S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Novi Sad, Serbia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 November 2013

We highly recommend this charming B&B (minus the Breakfast, but you're aware of that in advance) for a trip to Rome. It's all about the Location! It is located in the nicest part of the nicest part of this incredible city - Trastevere. You will be ideally placed to walk to and enjoy all the major sites and then, in the evening, you can enjoy romantic dinners Trastevere, where all the wonderful restaurants are literally minutes away from Sonnino Suites. The rooms are impeccably clean, spacious and perfectly decorated, to add to your Roman experience. One tiny concern, for light sleepers especially, may be the sound of the tram which comes down from the street the B&B is located on - it does get pretty noisy, but, you'll only hear that, none of the other street noise, since the windows are great. Cyrus, the manager is wonderful and accommodating and will answer all your questions with a smile. You can get decent breakfast at several places nearby and enjoy it in your room, before you venture off to a day-long walk fest in Rome. Highly Recommended!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Isidora R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Trastevere
Hotel Domus Tiberina
Hotel Domus Tiberina
#500 of 1,291 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 246 reviews
Trastevere
Locanda Carmel
Locanda Carmel
#622 of 1,291 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 167 reviews
Trastevere
Relais Le Clarisse in Trastevere
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Trastevere
Hotel San Francesco
Hotel San Francesco
#284 of 1,291 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 666 reviews
Trastevere
Villa della Fonte Guest House
Trastevere
Hotel Trastevere
Hotel Trastevere
#501 of 1,291 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 253 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sonnino Suite B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sonnino Suite B&B

Property: Sonnino Suite B&B
Address: Piazza Sidney Sonnino 25, 00153 Rome, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Trastevere
Amenities:
Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#281 Family Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Sonnino Suite B&B 2*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sonnino Suite features spacious, elegant rooms in Trastevere, Rome’s liveliest area, on the right bank of Tiber River. The B&B is near many restaurants and bars. Public bus H will take you to Termini Train Station in about 15 minutes.The air-conditioned rooms include a flat-screen TV with Sky satellite channels, free wired internet, and a minibar. Each room is soundproof for a relaxing stay.The Sonnino’s staff can provide local area information for your visit to Rome. The Basilica di Santa Maria in Trastevere and the Isola Tiberina are close by. The rest of ancient Rome is just across the river. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Agoda, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Sonnino Suite B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sonnino Suite Bed And Breakfast
Sonnino Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing