We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Would recommend this Hotel to those travelling to Rome”
Review of Sonnino Suite B&B

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Sonnino Suite B&B
Ranked #524 of 1,273 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 October 2010

Everyone has concerns when booking a hotel via the internet, especially when travelling with others. I would say that this hotel is one of the best B&B I have taken on chance. From the welcome by Tomasso to the cleanliness of the rooms and even the small cafe that you use for breakfast. I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone who is planning on travelling to Rome. It has an ideal location with everything within walking distance. If you have problems walking however there is a brilliant local transport link outside the hotel. Trastavere itself is a rabbit warren of small streets and restaurants and safe and ideal to wander at night.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Structures
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (175)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

63 - 69 of 176 reviews

Reviewed 28 September 2010

We paid EUR 100 per night. Rather difficult to find - it's actually two converted apartments on the 4th floor of the building. They only have people at reception between certain hours so make sure to coordinate arrival time in advance. There are 10 rooms. Our party had rooms 5 and 7 which were fine, and also room 1 which was very small (it's the last one they give when the hotel is full). Spacious rooms, clean, well decorated. New bathroom. Aircon and heating. Excellent double glazing so you don't hear the traffic. Breakfast is a coffee and a croisant at the cafe below but for what we paid you can't beat it.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DavidTBeijing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2010

The best thing with Sonnino Suite is definately the location - in Trastevere with the restaurants, cafes and bars, close to the river and within walking distance to most major sights.
We stayed for 3 nights in a party with 2 other couples, both of whom had good spacious rooms and had no complaints with the hotel.
We were given room no.1 which was the only remaining available room. It was far too small to be classified as a double room as the bed took up most of the floor space. There was a wardrobe with hanging space and one drawer inside (and a safe) and a small table, but otherwise there was nowhere to unpack or place suitcases except on the small amount of remaining floor space. In order to move around the room you had to confirm with your partner that they would not be planning on moving at the same time. The shower room was also small but the main problem is that there was no running water from the cold water tap. When we asked for this to be attended to it was met with a broad smile and a shrug of the shoulder. We realised at that moment that nothing would happen.
Our arrival at the hotel was somewhat comical as we had been asked at what time we expected to arrive in an e-mail some days prior to traveling. Our plane was early and so we were left standing outside at night for 40 minutes until a member of staff came to let us in. The 'hotel' has 10 rooms and is situated on the 4th floor of a private apartment building. There is no sign outside except a name next to the door bell. Consequently if you do not arrive during the very few hours when the staff are present they make special arrangements to meet you and let you in. Our mistake was arriving earlier than expected for which we fully blame the pilot of our aircraft.
The internet connection was inconsistent and we found it better to log on to another unsecured wireless connection - probably from someone in a nearby apartment.
But let's not be too damning. The rooms were very clean and the staff were quite charming even when we let them know our feelings towards our room. Actually we would stay there again but NOT in room no.1.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank terryliz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2010

Everything was great about the whole stay. Location and Rates are the main reasons for choosing the Hotel. Staff was very efficient, although they are not there all the time. Cleanness level is excellent. It was Walking distance to almost all the attractions. The only downfall is the breakfast; it was only Coffee and Croissant. Something else, the Internet did not work all the time. But for sure, if I go to Rome again I will stay there.

Emad Mikhaiel

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Emad_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2010

The best thing about Sonnino Suite was the location. Right in the middle of Trastevere near restaurants, river and walking distance to many sights. The room was spacious and clean, bed comfortable (room didn't quite look like on their website, but was ok anyway), bathroom was also clean, shower good. The man at the desk was very friendly. The breakfast was not great, a coupon to a cafe downstairs for a coffee and croisant. Nice enough place to stay, excellent location, no complaints. One thing that was strange though was that we did not get clean towels the second day. The shower was somehow leaking and we put the towels on the floor to dry the floor. Next day after the cleaning the same towels were hanging and drying in the bathroom and no new ones to replace them. Thus we had to dry ourselves with towels that had been soaking wet on the floor??

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kathy189934
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2010

We got two brand new rooms for a good price. The rooms were spacious compared to many other rooms I have experienced in Rome and also clean. The breakfast consisted of coffe and a croissant at the bar next door. Some people in the company thought that was not really sufficient.

The best thing with Sonnino Suite is definately the location - in vibrant Trastevere with restaurants, cafes and bars, close to the river and within walking distance to most major sights. Public transportation is also close by if you don't want to walk.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank harney78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2010

We arrived at the Sonnino Suites, following excellent directions from the train station from our host, Tommaso. When we arrived, the building is unnassuming- no sign, just a building number to let you know where you are. If you look, there is a very small bell to the left of the door and the name "Sonnino Suites" is on the bell, very small. We didnt see that, but entered the lobby because people were leaving, and asked some workmen where the suites were. They are on the 4th floor, there is a miniscule lift, but it is a lift so be happy.
As with so many places we have stayed in Europe (we are on a 3 week family trip) there are plusses and minuses to every location at which we have stayed. Here are the plusses of Sonnino Suites:
Right on a very main artery-plenty of transportation within 2 minute walk; A tourist infor booth right across the street and tabachi to buy tickets; near nice restaurants and some sights (go to Pancotto across the street-very good food, reasonable prices, friendly people). The rooms, being on the 4th floor, are quiet and have good AC and good sound proof windows, OK view. The beds are comfortable, the bathrooms very clean, showers very good, hot water good. Ammenities like soap and shampoo are provided.
The minuses: there is basicaly no reception much time you will be here- meaning in the mornings before you leave for your destinations and in the evenings when you return. I never met Tomasso, with whom I corresponded. I met his desk guy, Sayles I think his name is, who is here from maybe 9-10 & 2-4 some times. On the room door it says reception is here 8-10, then 14:30-19:30. Its not. The building is fairly unnoccupied- there is a dentist office on the first floor, Ive never seen anyone else except a couple of other travellers entering the other suites on this floor. This is most definately NOT a B&B- there is no breakfast, no coffee, nothing but beds. The TV didnt work.
There is a fridge in the room, so you can go to the local market (left out the door about 2 blocks and across the street) and get some very nice things to eat. But you still wont be able to make your own coffee unless you brought an electric appliance to do that.
When you check in you will be asked to pay in full up front, unlike many places that let you settle the bill on your way out. If I hadnt done this I would have looked for other lodgings with more ammenities for the same price- I am sure we could have found something that offered more, but I'm also sure that that is why they have you pay up front.
Oh, and PS, I cant load pictures until we get back to the States, but the room looks nothing like the small photo on the TA website. The furnishings are an odd combination of dorm room press board desk, headboard and closets with a couple of antique elements like church kneelers and an old mirror thrown in for a weird amalgam of styles. The effect is neither quaint or "funky", just kind of cheap and thrown together.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SarahCalifornia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Trastevere
Hotel Locanda Carmel
Hotel Locanda Carmel
#527 of 1,273 in Rome
187 reviews
Trastevere
Hotel Domus Tiberina
Hotel Domus Tiberina
#565 of 1,273 in Rome
281 reviews
Trastevere
Hotel San Francesco
Hotel San Francesco
#286 of 1,273 in Rome
706 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Trastevere
Relais Le Clarisse in Trastevere
Trastevere
Hotel Trastevere
Hotel Trastevere
#475 of 1,273 in Rome
269 reviews
Trastevere
Hotel Residenza San Calisto
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sonnino Suite B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sonnino Suite B&B

Address: Piazza Sidney Sonnino 25, 00153 Rome, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Trastevere
Amenities:
Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#175 Family Hotel in Rome
Price Range: £35 - £107 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Sonnino Suite B&B 2*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sonnino Suite features spacious, elegant rooms in Trastevere, Rome’s liveliest area, on the right bank of Tiber River. The B&B is near many restaurants and bars. Public bus H will take you to Termini Train Station in about 15 minutes.The air-conditioned rooms include a flat-screen TV with Sky satellite channels, free wired internet, and a minibar. Each room is soundproof for a relaxing stay.The Sonnino’s staff can provide local area information for your visit to Rome. The Basilica di Santa Maria in Trastevere and the Isola Tiberina are close by. The rest of ancient Rome is just across the river. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Sonnino Suite B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sonnino Hotel Rome
Sonnino Suite Bed And Breakfast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing