We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location good, but nothing fancy”
Review of Pace Elvezia

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Rome
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Pace Elvezia
Ranked #954 of 1,256 Hotels in Rome
vlaams brabant
Level Contributor
36 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Location good, but nothing fancy”
Reviewed 4 February 2013

We stayed for three nights. The hotel is 20 minutes walk from the termini station where the busses stop from the airport. One our way we found a little neighbourhood with a couple of outstanding local roman cuising restaurants like La Carbonara. We ate great in that resto and in the ones next to that one. Great pubs and local style cafes in that area. Right of the colloseum

The hotel hasn't seen any renovation in the last 20years but i guess that's everywhere in Rome. We liked the location, close to everything and almost located at the roman forum and the colloseum. On the roof terras you have an overview of Rome.

The hotel has a noice issue. It is located in a bussy connection street. We slept good but found the matrass too hard and had to put some blankets under us to compensate the hard matress. I guess if you book a room you should ask for a room in the back.

The breakfast is good and the staff is verry helpfull and friendly.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank hoegaarden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

91 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    10
    27
    29
    14
    11
See reviews for
14
35
4
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bucharest, Romania
Level Contributor
81 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 December 2012

Splendid location

Wonderful location, in the middle of everything in Rome: behind the hotel the Vittorio Emanuele monument and the Trajan’s column; near the hotel Palazzo Colonna via della Pilotta, Quirinale, Via dei Fori Imperiali; Fontana Trevi and Piazza di Spagna at walking distance; a nice bar and restaurants very near. Nice staff at the hotel, the breakfast was OK, the room also OK (but no hot water at 9h. in the morning twice in 5 days). Splendid view from the terrace, probably a very pleasant place to have breakfast… but not in December. A taxi station just behind the hotel, very convenient. An ideal hotel for tourists who want visit Rome walking and enjoying beautiful views everywhere.

Room Tip: The quieter rooms are in the back.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank silvisly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
40 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 November 2012

I am surprised at the negative reviews I read about this hotel. I am a very frequent traveller and I learnt how to adjust expectancy in line with the city and period I'm travelling. In Rome city center you should expect hotels in old historical buildings where things maybe a bit old fashioned and old style.

I stayed at Elvezia for 2 nights with my wife and our 10 month old baby. Everything was very good from the first minute we arrived. THe reception staff was very friendly and gave us a very good room with a baby cot .

THe location cant be better, 5 min walk to Cliseum, 10 min to PAntheon and 12 to PIazza NAvona. Internet at rooms, good breakfast friendly staff.

What else ?...

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GokhanOzkan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 October 2012

Our poor experience began with check in and the lack of attention from reception staff. Our room was between 2 elevators however the only room with a balcony. It was a hot day and the air conditioner did not work. To open the window is possible but the noise from the traffic is unbearable. The decor is very old. To sit on the toilet one had to position their knees under the wash basin. The only satisfactory result was when we complained and moved to a back room with working air conditioner. Plenty more hotels in Rome

Stayed October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Loney60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Rome hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Los Gatos, California
Level Contributor
36 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2012

Pace Elvezia is ideally located near so many of Rome's attractions that you will find it most convenient. The staff is friendly and helpful (but think twice before taking their restaurant suggestions: Claudio suggested Grill & Wine, but it was not the best place nearby.) The top floor of the building has a lovely terrace with great views. It's a wonderful place to relax and take in the vistas after a busy day at the Colosseum, Forum, seeing the fountains or the Vatican....

The rooms and especially the beds are WAY past their prime. The beds were visibly saggy in the online photos but I thought that they could not really be that bad - but they were! They must be 50 year old beds and the mattresses half that age.... The bathroom was OK but needed a major overhaul as there were patches etc. that made it feel just this side of seedy.

The breakfast was fine, plenty of variety. The gal in charge of replenishing the buffet and bringing coffee or tea to the tables was not great at checking back to see if we needed more to drink (one cup of coffee is not enough when you're battling jet lag).

How to rate a place like this? It is probably 2 or 3 star quality, but in a 5 star location.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MaryPope-Handy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangor, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 March 2012

Brilliant location, just a stroll to most of the major sights. We even had a birdseye view of the marathon from our balcony! The major winning feature is the roof terrace. Once we had got our bearings we realised that not only could we see the Roman Forum and the Colloseum but also St Peters and the Vatican City. An unbeatable spot to sip wine and take in the views and the sunset. On the downside the interior of the hotel was more 'faded glory' than 'shabby chic' but we were travelling with friends who shared the same opinion as us, which was that at least it had a bit of character and didn't have the blandness of a 'chain' hotel. The staff were very friendly and the breakfast choice was generous, and I think that if the place had a facelift it would be even more popular.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank scrumhalves
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2011

The hotel location was great- it is only a short walk to all of the major highlights of Rome. The rooms were spacious; however, one of the pillows on the bed appeared to be blood stained and it also looked like there was blood splatter on the wall. Either way, the hotel rooms could use some major updates.

Room Tip: Request a room on a low floor as the elevator is VERY small.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stacey M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Hotel Trecento
Hotel Trecento
#498 of 1,256 in Rome
117 reviews
Trevi
Hotel Piazza Venezia
Hotel Piazza Venezia
#286 of 1,256 in Rome
182 reviews
Trevi
Cosmopolita Hotel
Cosmopolita Hotel
#319 of 1,256 in Rome
1,241 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Trevi
B&B Luxury Piazza Venezia
B&B Luxury Piazza Venezia
#1,054 of 3,643 in Rome
8 reviews
Piazza Venezia / Ancient City
No photo provided
Piazza Venezia / Ancient City
No photo provided
Vittoriano Suite
#439 of 1,091 in Rome
4 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pace Elvezia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pace Elvezia

Property: Pace Elvezia
Address: 104 (Piazza Venezia), 00817 Rome, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #954 of 1,256 Hotels in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 84
Also Known As:
Pace Elvezia Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing