We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location brilliant but not a 4 star”
Review of Pace Elvezia

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Rome
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Pace Elvezia
Ranked #901 of 1,272 Hotels in Rome
Reviewed 14 July 2013

Myself and my partner stayed at this hotel in July 2013 for 4 nights. The location was brilliant, near the colloseum, the Trevi Fountain, shopping, restaurants etc. Lots to do and see within walking distance. The hotel itself was very average though, I wouldn't have rated it 4 star. It is starting to get tatty around the edges but to be fair the hotel did seem to be aware of this and were doing some work while we were there. Our room was very small but I have stayed in lots of old European Hotels and this is normal for the building style. The room was clean, air conditioning worked. The breakfast was Ok / good, to be expected for a continental. The staff were friendly but we didn't really deal with them much other than to order a taxi for the airport and to check in and out.
My only real complaint was the noise. The walls are very very thin and when in your room everything going on in the corridors and even in rooms opposite if loud enough could be heard so every morning around 7.00am we were woken up. The doors lock with keys not modern key cards so everyone locking and unlocking their doors could be heard even if they were quiet themselves. Our room was at the back of the hotel so I cannot comment on the road noise. There were a lot of sirens (maybe a police / ambulance near) but I expect this noise in a city so no real complaint there.
All in all I would say it was average, not terrible but not brilliant. I would look for a different hotel next time but if I had a great deal offered at this hotel I wouldn't be adverse to going back especially with the location.

Room Tip: Maybe ask for a room at the back away from the main road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stefanie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (100)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

18 - 24 of 100 reviews

Reviewed 4 February 2013

We stayed for three nights. The hotel is 20 minutes walk from the termini station where the busses stop from the airport. One our way we found a little neighbourhood with a couple of outstanding local roman cuising restaurants like La Carbonara. We ate great in that resto and in the ones next to that one. Great pubs and local style cafes in that area. Right of the colloseum

The hotel hasn't seen any renovation in the last 20years but i guess that's everywhere in Rome. We liked the location, close to everything and almost located at the roman forum and the colloseum. On the roof terras you have an overview of Rome.

The hotel has a noice issue. It is located in a bussy connection street. We slept good but found the matrass too hard and had to put some blankets under us to compensate the hard matress. I guess if you book a room you should ask for a room in the back.

The breakfast is good and the staff is verry helpfull and friendly.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank hoegaarden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 December 2012

Splendid location

Wonderful location, in the middle of everything in Rome: behind the hotel the Vittorio Emanuele monument and the Trajan’s column; near the hotel Palazzo Colonna via della Pilotta, Quirinale, Via dei Fori Imperiali; Fontana Trevi and Piazza di Spagna at walking distance; a nice bar and restaurants very near. Nice staff at the hotel, the breakfast was OK, the room also OK (but no hot water at 9h. in the morning twice in 5 days). Splendid view from the terrace, probably a very pleasant place to have breakfast… but not in December. A taxi station just behind the hotel, very convenient. An ideal hotel for tourists who want visit Rome walking and enjoying beautiful views everywhere.

Room Tip: The quieter rooms are in the back.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank silvisly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 November 2012

I am surprised at the negative reviews I read about this hotel. I am a very frequent traveller and I learnt how to adjust expectancy in line with the city and period I'm travelling. In Rome city center you should expect hotels in old historical buildings where things maybe a bit old fashioned and old style.

I stayed at Elvezia for 2 nights with my wife and our 10 month old baby. Everything was very good from the first minute we arrived. THe reception staff was very friendly and gave us a very good room with a baby cot .

THe location cant be better, 5 min walk to Cliseum, 10 min to PAntheon and 12 to PIazza NAvona. Internet at rooms, good breakfast friendly staff.

What else ?...

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GokhanOzkan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2012

Our poor experience began with check in and the lack of attention from reception staff. Our room was between 2 elevators however the only room with a balcony. It was a hot day and the air conditioner did not work. To open the window is possible but the noise from the traffic is unbearable. The decor is very old. To sit on the toilet one had to position their knees under the wash basin. The only satisfactory result was when we complained and moved to a back room with working air conditioner. Plenty more hotels in Rome

Stayed: October 2012
1  Thank Loney60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2012

Pace Elvezia is ideally located near so many of Rome's attractions that you will find it most convenient. The staff is friendly and helpful (but think twice before taking their restaurant suggestions: Claudio suggested Grill & Wine, but it was not the best place nearby.) The top floor of the building has a lovely terrace with great views. It's a wonderful place to relax and take in the vistas after a busy day at the Colosseum, Forum, seeing the fountains or the Vatican....

The rooms and especially the beds are WAY past their prime. The beds were visibly saggy in the online photos but I thought that they could not really be that bad - but they were! They must be 50 year old beds and the mattresses half that age.... The bathroom was OK but needed a major overhaul as there were patches etc. that made it feel just this side of seedy.

The breakfast was fine, plenty of variety. The gal in charge of replenishing the buffet and bringing coffee or tea to the tables was not great at checking back to see if we needed more to drink (one cup of coffee is not enough when you're battling jet lag).

How to rate a place like this? It is probably 2 or 3 star quality, but in a 5 star location.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MaryPope-Handy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2012

Brilliant location, just a stroll to most of the major sights. We even had a birdseye view of the marathon from our balcony! The major winning feature is the roof terrace. Once we had got our bearings we realised that not only could we see the Roman Forum and the Colloseum but also St Peters and the Vatican City. An unbeatable spot to sip wine and take in the views and the sunset. On the downside the interior of the hotel was more 'faded glory' than 'shabby chic' but we were travelling with friends who shared the same opinion as us, which was that at least it had a bit of character and didn't have the blandness of a 'chain' hotel. The staff were very friendly and the breakfast choice was generous, and I think that if the place had a facelift it would be even more popular.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank scrumhalves
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Trevi
Hotel Pace Helvezia
Hotel Pace Helvezia
#390 of 1,272 in Rome
690 reviews
Trevi
Tritone Hotel
Tritone Hotel
#332 of 1,272 in Rome
658 reviews
Trevi
Comfort Hotel Bolivar
Comfort Hotel Bolivar
#295 of 1,272 in Rome
816 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Trevi
Cosmopolita Hotel
Cosmopolita Hotel
#303 of 1,272 in Rome
1,323 reviews
Monti
Hotel Gallia
Hotel Gallia
#707 of 1,272 in Rome
403 reviews
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Hotel Genio
Hotel Genio
#423 of 1,272 in Rome
758 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pace Elvezia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pace Elvezia

Address: 104 (Piazza Venezia), 00817 Rome, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Trevi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #901 of 1,272 Hotels in Rome
Price Range: £72 - £159 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 84
Also Known As:
Pace Elvezia Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing