We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“stay away”

Cafeteria Antica Roma
Ranked #761 of 774 Dessert in Rome
Cuisines: Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours
Neighbourhood: Colonna
Rome, Italy
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“stay away”
Reviewed 6 January 2014

they charged 18€ for one ice-cream (3 scoops), while the prices at the counter were normal (3€ for the scoop), but they told that the chocolate covered cone means big size of portion that costs so much. Just a robbery!

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
6 Thank Venus V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

379 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    32
    23
    27
    287
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Manila, Philippines
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Trick and not a threat ! 12€ for 2 scoops ( 12€ für 2 Kugeln)”
Reviewed 30 December 2013

Went for ice cream tonight with family. We had 2 scoops each. Normal price is 3.50€ but when the bill came. We were charged 12€ each for a total of 48€ for 8 scoops! Stay away from this ice cream place when in Rome !

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
6 Thank Lillir0se
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Albans, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Quick beer and to use the lavvy...”
Reviewed 15 December 2013 via mobile

€18 (£15) for 2 x 400ml Carlsbergs...ouch....not recommended. 2 doors down it was €10 (£8) for the same. The toilet had no taps (no running water), no toilet paper, no seat, no hand drier or towel. We saw ice creams were €25 rising to €30 after 10pm and all day in high season...not recommended!

Helpful?
5 Thank KarlMu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“RIP OFF!!!!”
Reviewed 6 November 2013

We visited this restaurant in August 2013. Unfortunately we were famished and needed a bathroom so we stopped here without doing our research. 83.50 Euro for 5 sandwiches and a couple drinks.
Then, after we had eaten, we were told tht they only took CASH!!! Thankfully we had enough cash on us but it wiped us out. It was off to the bank machine after that. We were still hungry and so, so disappointed. Tourist's beware. Stay away from this sink hole.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank M C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Syracuse
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Horrible food and service”
Reviewed 22 October 2013

I was there last October with family and saw this restaurant and the staff came out and called us in. The waitress was friendly however that was the end. The food was quite stale and tasteless.
We eventually ordered a small ice cream for our 4 year old .
Once we received the bill, we were charged 16 euros for the ice cream. They claimed it was the special ice cream for kids. Anyways I wasn't in the mood to argue so I war to pay and then stated they wouldn't take my credit card. Once I objected the woman behind the counter began yelling at me and then the staff came beside her and stood by her like they were going to punch my lights out. Obviously wont go back or recommend.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank Aasim A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Cafeteria Antica Roma also viewed

 

Been to Cafeteria Antica Roma? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing