We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food”
Review of Da Gino ai Funari - CLOSED

Da Gino ai Funari
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Neighbourhood: Ghetto
North Carolina
Level Contributor
19 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great food”
Reviewed 2 January 2013

We were wandering some back streets and came upon this restaurant. It was about 2:00pm and there were only a few other people eating. The food was incredible! All of the 'specials' are sitting out in dishes for you to see. Our waiter was a very pleasant young man. The woman running the restaurant was not nearly as friendly. I had meatballs in tomato sauce that were excellent. Others had pasta and loved it.

This may have been the best food we had in Rome. And that was before the tiramisu, which was awesome, better than other places we had it.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JimmyRow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

43 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    18
    14
    4
    1
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
“Best pizza ever”
Reviewed 24 November 2012

This place has the best pizza in Rome. I make sure to come here every visit I have to Rome. Good prices and great service from the owner himself.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kristen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“nothing special and no surprises ”
Reviewed 7 September 2012 via mobile

it is a safe bet , the pasta and rabbit dish was special of the day, tasted ok, no complains, just do not expect big surprises here.

they have English menu , no one speaks English, maybe they can hire me, haha.

Helpful?
Thank porkybun
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Harwich Port, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
34 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Tucked away off the main street, wonderful local cuisine”
Reviewed 26 February 2012

The little cafe on the corner of our apartment building recommended Da Gino for dinner. We were not disappointed. Reservations are recommended as the place is small and popular. The four of us were seated in the 2nd room at a comfortable table. Our waiter's English was just better than our bad Italian, so we communicated well. The food was good, fresh and local. The pastas and rabbit were very good. Desserts were great.

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank HPHAS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, GA
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Nicest Restauranteur in Rome!”
Reviewed 22 February 2012

This restaurant is a little hard to find but very much worth it! It was recommended to me by a friend who has visited Rome several times and makes it a point to go back each time. I will honestly say that we disappointed with the brusque nature and unfriendliness we experienced overall in Rome...until we entered this restaurant. The owner, a distinguished gentleman, is so gracious, warm and welcoming. The pizza margarheta is the best I've ever had. I highly recommend this special gem!

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank ksherm5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing