We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very good pizza. Service is as a bar.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Da Gino ai Funari - CLOSED

Da Gino ai Funari
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff
Neighbourhood: Ghetto
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Level Contributor
125 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Very good pizza. Service is as a bar.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2013

We had a nice experience with a excellent pizza and very good treatment. The place is practically a bar with some tables at side of main entrance or outside, the service is not excellent but you have to consider as a bar not classic restaurant. With that you have a Typical Rome atmosphere with no tourists, as we could observe. Price surprises in a positive sense.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank AntonioFrega
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

43 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    18
    14
    4
    1
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Southend-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
128 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Food and location perfect...service appalling”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2013

The food in this little family restaurant is quite simply wonderful...The service is like being at your mums...if she doesn't like you much and would rather not acknowledge your existence and you have transgressed in some unfathomable way that means you have the silent treatment in between staccato barking....that aside I would certainly recommend it,,,the food is REALLY good.

We arrived late afternoon...the pizzeria had no pizzas which made my son laugh...we tried the Spaghetti Bolognese...and Gnocchi porcini...both sublime in texture and flavour. The waitress was curt and dismissive with an approaching not verging on but well past rude...although she did suddenly become smily when it was bill and tip time...odd that.

On the whole...I would recommend this for sheer brilliant food...I'm sure Atilla the Hen was just having an off day.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Blarys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
213 reviews
112 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“Little Treasure”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 April 2013

We stumbled upon this little place after visiting Vittorio Emm memorial. This is a gret experience of Roman cuisine. We had the primi piatti of antipasti a tavola followed by rabbit and roast veal with a side dish of chicory washed down with a half litre of house wine. Gelato and espressi for afters to finish a nice lunch. Service was friendly without pretensions and quick!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank RegCalabria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bolton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
90 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Superb pizzas”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2013

This is a simple restaurant run by husband and wife who have been married now for 35 years, He makes the pizza dough by hand, (not machine) and serves a thin, crispy pizza with plenty of an excellent tomato sauce and mozzarella cheese as the base. It is really excellent unlike so many roman pizzas in tourist areas of Rome. The house wines are fine and the pasta courses good too as is the coffee.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank agrestic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
76 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Just wonderful italian food and atmosphere”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2013

We were so lucky to find 4 free spots between all the locals. What a great experience in all ways, which it was closer to my daily destination :-)

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Per Bjerkov H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing