We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It's all true!”
Review of At Your Place

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
At Your Place
Ranked #34 of 3,739 Rome B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 June 2014

Luca is a great host. My family of 5 had two rooms at Luca's place for 2 nights. We would go back in a minute!
Luca was helpful from the moment of booking and served a huge, delicious breakfast.
The rooms are comfortable. The location is great -near the Vatican. We are walkers so walked everywhere else as well.
The only drawback I can see is it is not handicap friendly as you have to take a quaint elevator up the stairs then cross a bridge between buildings to access his floor--pretty fun for the able bodied but would not be great if you were not.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank KatA2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (993)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

119 - 125 of 993 reviews

Reviewed 29 June 2014

Great location near Vatican. Apartment is on 5th floor with elevator. Room is small but we were out most of the time. Beds and bathroom are clean. Each has a balcony. Breakfast is plenty with good coffee . Luca is a great host. He waited for us in front of the building when we arrived late in the evening. He helped us to navigate the city with many good tips (restaurants, transportation and sights seeing). He reserved the tickets for us to see the Pope. He is very pleasant and patience. Five star for Luca.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Whitesandbeache
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2014

I found this B&B through trip advisor actually and based on all the positive reviews we decided to go ahead and book it. I am so glad we did. Luca is the best host you could ask for. He will sit down with you and show you all the places to go and will help you to avoid the tourist areas and get true authentic italian food. As other reviews mention the location cannot be beat. You are a mere 5 minutes from the vatican and if you enjoy walking like we did its not a bad walk to the colleseum. Even if you dont though they have the metro and bus system that will get you there quickly. The breakfest Luca provided always filled us up for the day. He would always bring fresh pastries in the morning along with bread and chease, blood orange juice, coffee, cappuciono, and eggs. It was always plenty of food and always amazing. He would even pack up the left overs for you so you could take it for a snack later that day. The B&B was very quit with no issues in regards to noise. Luca also makes your safety a big priority. HE helped my wife and I ensure we got the right tours and right car service so that we were not taken advantage of. All in All my wife and I absolutely loved this B&B and would not hesistate to recommend it to anyone. If your on the fence def make the decision to stay here. You won't regret it.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cameron F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2014 via mobile

You cannot go wrong staying at this wonderful B and B. The owner, Luca, is like having your own personal travel advisor. His english is outstanding and he knows everything about Rome and surrounding areas. You are minutes by foot to the major sites. We rode the bus only 2 times in 7 days which is indicative of the excellent location. Luca made a great and plentiful breakfast each morning and always provided a bag to place uneaten food for lunch or a snack later in the day. The room was very good size with plenty of storage, and a good size bathroom.bath room. It was perfect for us!



1  Thank Mike S
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 5 June 2014

As soon as we made booking of our room Luca, the owner of the B&B contacted us and was helpful in every way. He helped us with transfer from and to the airport, he helped us to book guided tours of our choice (perfect oportunity to skip the lines which are ver, very long). We had our tour of Vatican rather early in the morning - well Luca was at B&B early just for us to fix our breakfast (thanks again for that). He gave us shopping tips, and much much more information about this beautiful city. It felt as if we had our own place in the middle of the city, so close to everything. You can walk to all the important sights - we did it.
It was more than good, and both me and my children (which are 14 and 16 years old) are very happy with our trip, and we warmly recommend At Your Place!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gorana Ö
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2014

There is already a lot of information here so I will try to fill in the gaps to help other travelers.

My mom and I stayed five nights here in mid May. The B&B is located on the fifth floor in the building. When you enter the "lobby" of the building you must climb two sets of stairs to reach the elevator. The elevator is small but enough room for four people or two with luggage. After reaching the the fifth floor you must climb some more stairs and then go down some more stairs before you reach the B&B. I mention the stairs because if you have mobility issues this can be a challenge. My mom had knee surgery several years back and the stairs were a little challenge for her plus she sprained her ankle in Paris prior to arriving in Rome.

The room we stayed in was called the Castellano room (I think I got the name right) it was a spacious room with two beds (a third roll a way bed was stored away as a chair in the corner) This was a double room (two separate beds) and each bed was the size of a single bed in the U.S., so yes very small. It had a beautiful balcony. The bathroom was average size with a shower that water would pool up near the drain but would eventually drain. The rooms were cleaned daily but the towels were changed every three days. The room had a desk and chair to write your postcards back home and a small tv. The tv received a handful of english speaking channels, mainly financial news services.Now the location was great. Ten minute walk to St Peters Square. Fifteen minutes to the Metro. Lots of great restaurants and gelato shops.

The main reason we came to Rome was that my mom wanted to visit the Vatican. She had been here years before when on a cruise but didn't have much time to see much. For the price and location this was a great find. Luca was very helpful. He made a large breakfast every morning.

Pros Location to the Vatican
Great neighborhood
Metro within walking distance
Great BIG breakfast every morning
Luca was kind and helpful
Restaurant and gelato and post office and banks nearby.
Tour bus stop five minute walk down the street

Cons Cash only
Lots of steps to get to the B&B door

This is a great place to stay. If you have real bad mobility issues it may be hard with all the stairs. I wish Luca would have mentioned in one of the five emails we sent to each other that this was a CASH only place. I do know that some B&B require a cash payment but just having stayed at a B&B in Paris that was not a issue there and were happy to process our c/c. I only mention this because I support my travel with my c/c points and luckily it was at the end of our trip and I had the cash available. No where on the B&B website is this mentioned.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank brilliantmadness
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2014

This B&B is located about a half block from Castel San Angelo and two blocks from St. Peter's and the Vatican. Everything but the Colosseum can easily be reached by foot. Our room had a little balcony overlooking a very quiet street. The area felt safe too. The central location was absolutely perfect for our Roman holiday.

The B&B is just one floor of a large, old building. The inside is labyrinthine so be sure to email the owner the time you plan to arrive so he can meet you downstairs and direct you inside. There is a small plaque by the door with the B&B's name so you know you're in the correct spot. Once inside, there is one tiny, old elevator. However, there are two small flights of stairs that cannot be bypassed by the elevator. Keep that in mind if stairs are challenging for you.

The owner was friendly without being overbearing. He served huge breakfasts each morning. We'd save a breakfast pizza or sandwich to eat later for lunch. He also offered many spot-on recommendations for traditional Roman food.

The B&B is small with only about 4 or 5 rooms. Our room was bigger than the average European hotel room. The bed was firm but decent. The decor was very simple, but the rooms were clean. One day we noticed a slight unpleasant smell from the bathroom drain. The next morning a plumber stopped by to fix a nearby bathroom, and I think that resolved our odor issue too.

We used the private car service recommended by At Your Place for travel to and from the airport. It was more expensive than public transit, but very easy and convenient. The driver didn't speak English. He was professional though and dropped us off right in front of the B&B. We would use his car service again.

Overall, this B&B has spoiled me. I have yet to find another accommodation in any European metropolis that compares to At Your Place - it was safe, reliable, and affordable.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TT_ND
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Prati
Gli Scipioni Bed & Breakfast
Prati
Gli Artisti Bed & Breakfast
Monti
Locanda al Viminale
Locanda al Viminale
#27 of 3,739 in Rome
765 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Prati
La Cupola del Vaticano
La Cupola del Vaticano
#24 of 3,739 in Rome
348 reviews
Prati
OM2Rome
OM2Rome
#47 of 3,739 in Rome
329 reviews
Campanella3
#3 of 3,739 in Rome
395 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to At Your Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about At Your Place

Address: Via di Porta Castello 33, 00193 Rome, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Vatican / Borgo
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 3,739 B&Bs / Inns in Rome
Price Range: £47 - £142 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — At Your Place 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
B&B At Your Place has recently opened and is located in one of Rome's most characteristic and prestigious central districts, Borgo Pio. The B&B is housed in an elegant building that dates back to the end of the 19th century. The top-floor apartment is home to the B&B and lies on the fifth floor of the building that conveniently has a lift/elevator. Each guest room has a balcony with great views overlooking the gardens of Castel Sant'Angelo, the Palace of Justice or the Vatican Walls. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your At Your Place reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
At Your Place Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing