We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location! Great room!”
Review of Mok'house B&B

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Mok'house B&B
Ranked #34 of 3,722 Rome B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 September 2013

Within walking distance to Colosseum. The rooms were spacious by European standards. The included washer was nice. The living area was big. It has a modern feel and decor. We stayed on the 2nd floor so the steps didn't bother me so much. It was quiet, private and convenient. Isabella was very nice and helpful. We arrived prior to check in and we were allowed to leave our bags at reception.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank travelloverAtl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marco S, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Mok'house B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 27 November 2013

Thanks for your nice words! I'm glad you found the washer useful, even though we use the rank to dry clothes. Come back to visit us!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (420)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

133 - 139 of 420 reviews

Reviewed 18 September 2013

The two negatives were the stairs (we stayed in the 500 room) and the air conditioning (August in Rome is very hot). The air conditioning could not keep up with the heat. The room was clean and nice. The staff was incredibly helpful. The room came with wine openers and a mini fridge shared between the rooms. Both my husband and I would recommend this B&B, but would also recommend avoiding Rome in August.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank David S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marco S, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Mok'house B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 27 November 2013

Thanks for your review! We know Rome in august can be challenging, but we hope you enjoyed the Eternal City anyway! In Spring everything is perfect, come back to visit us!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2013

Excelent location and quality of the apartment!
Everything is new in the apartment including furniture, houseware, washing machine, etc. The space is great to feel very confortble inside but the best is the cleanliness of the place. You can not find any dust or signal of dirt.
The owner and the employees are very friendly and will give you the best tips of Rome and Italy according to your preferences.
When you´re there, you will not feel in a hotel or on a rental apartment, you´ll feel like home.
I fully recommend, you´ll like for sure!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Tiago P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marco S, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Mok'house B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 1 December 2013

Thanks for your kind words! It's always a pleasure for us to help our guest planning their days in Rome or their short trip around Italy, every time is like "travelling with you". Come back whenever you like!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2013

My wife and I stayed in the 500 room, billed as the best on property. The unfortunate first impression is the 8 flights of stairs to get to the 4th floor... while hauling luggage! But once we caught our breath, the desirability of this Bed and Breakfast became very evident. The owners and those that work here have great pride in these rooms was my first thought. Isabella was our contact upon arriving and her desire to be friendly, helpful and kind was obvious. They've decorated the 500 room with care and with a plan. They've taken the time to make a comprehensive book to help guests with restaurant reviews and suggestions, help and directions with everything a traveler needs from tourist sites to safety tips to laundromats. The room was clean, nice sized, a modern bathroom with shower, comfortable bed, and walkout corner veranda between two french doors.

The location of Mok'house is terrific. A 10 minute walk to Roma Termini, the main train station. Just 5 minutes from both a blue and a red Metro (subway) stop. This makes almost any attraction in the city no more than 15-20 minutes from the room! An easy 5 minute cab ride or 20 minute walk to the Colossuem and Forum. The area is safe, not noisy, and surrounded by plenty of dining and small shops.

The breakfast half of this Bed and Breakfast is a highlight! We were provided with vouchers for Il Pasticciaccio, just one block down the street. I felt a bit uneasy entering the first morning handing them a voucher essentially announcing that we will not be spending money here. The uneasiness lasted 15 seconds. The servers were all smiles, friendly and talkative. The pastries were out of this world. You'll find my review on their page.

So upon leaving and paying a price much less than the property could demand, the only negative was the stairs. We groaned most every day after returning from a day of constant walking only to be greeted by the menacing staircase... but the small moments of lazy misery were not near diminishing the stay.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kelly B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marco S, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Mok'house B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 1 December 2013

Thank you for your wonderful review! It's a great pleasure when our work and our efforts are noticed. We are very happy that you have been so satisfied of "Il Pasticciaccio", their pastries are in fact what makes a good start to the day. Come back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2013

This property is in a great location when visiting Roma.Close by the Colosseo and Forum. Silvia and Isabella were great hosts and very helpful when we required any information. They were also extreamly professional and they even gave us therer Mobile phone no and said that if we were in any situation wherever in Rome to just call 24 / 7. We were also very fortunate to receive a Papal blessing while staying there. Pope Francis was visiting the Beautiful Saint Maria Maggiore Cathedral which is just a street away.
There are stairs so may not be suitable for the elder generation. Saying that i am 69 and only three weeks for 70 years and managed without a puff. Great Place and highly recommended.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank greatmate69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marco S, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Mok'house B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 4 December 2013

Thanks for the nice review! We are very pleased that you had the good fortune to see Pope Francis in Santa Maria Maggiore. Come back whenever you want!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2013

It was my teenage granddaughter's first visit to Rome and we could not have picked a better location. Sylvia and Isabella's hospitality was superb and nothing was too much trouble for them to make our stay comfortable. I would have no hesitation in recommending Mok House and indeed hope to return again myself in the near future.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank lms050650
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marco S, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Mok'house B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 4 December 2013

Thanks for the nice review! It 's always a pleasure to help our guests, especially if it is the first time they come to visit Rome, and we are very pleased that our suggestions have been useful. We hope too that you can come back soon and visit us!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2013

My wife and I stayed at Mokhouse from May 18 - 23 following a 30 day cruise. We were extremely pleased with the friendly welcome and the helpfulness of both Sylvia and Isabella. We were in the Vespa suite which is on the 4th floor. As there is no elevator, be prepared for the hike up the stairs. Probably a good thing after eatng at one of the many fine restaurants in the area! The staff were more than happy to assist us with all of our luggage. Mokhouse is located in the older part of Rome which is perfect as many of the sights are within walking distance. There is an Irish pub directly across the road which has live music until 10:30 on Friday & Sat nights so plan on a later return or join the party! The continental breakfast provided is served at a very nice café around the corner which has both indoor and outdoor seating. Delicious fresh pastries!

Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
2  Thank L_L181718
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marco S, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Mok'house B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 6 December 2013

Thank you for the kind words! We really appreciate your spirit for stairs and for the Irish Pub, as I often say: thanks to the stairs you can eat much more pasta and pizza and gelato! Come back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Blue Hostel
Blue Hostel
#2 of 1,150 in Rome
453 reviews
Monti
Locanda al Viminale
Locanda al Viminale
#27 of 3,722 in Rome
753 reviews
Monti
Domus Liberius
Domus Liberius
#48 of 3,722 in Rome
1,069 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Monti
Relais Forus Inn
Relais Forus Inn
#46 of 3,722 in Rome
652 reviews
Esquilino
Amaranto Romano
Amaranto Romano
#23 of 3,722 in Rome
404 reviews
Esquilino
Aldebaran Bed & Breakfast
Aldebaran Bed & Breakfast
#10 of 3,722 in Rome
546 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mok'house B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mok'house B&B

Address: Via di San Martino Ai Monti 38, 00184 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Monti
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 3,722 B&Bs / Inns in Rome
Price Range: £52 - £111 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Mok'house B&B 2*
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Unique in its style, inspired to the Italian design and inspired by the espresso coffee pot (the "moca" in Italian), mok'house for us means "the house of hospitality", as we feel responsible for the success of your holidays and for the good memories that you will bring back home with you. When our guests do not want to leave, then we understand that we are on the right path.mok'house offers you all the charming and magical atmosphere of a hidden and genuine Rome. More than just a location, mok'house is a "concept of hospitality": you will understand our sense of hospitality from the very first e-mail to the last tip for the best gelato or pizza or how to avoid the long lines at the Vatican Museum. You will be sleeping in a typical building of the XIX century, in the heart of the most ancient neighborhood in Rome (Rione Monti), just a few minutes walk from the Coliseum and within walking distance of all main sights such as Trevi's Fountain, Spanish Steps and Piazza Navona (within 20-30mins. walking from our building). Also, a lovely bakery is located just across the street and restaurants, wine bars, supermarkets, banks and grocery stores are within our block. All you are looking for to have a wonderful Roman Holiday is here at mok'house and we look forward to have you as our guests to experience the real flavors and colors of the Eternal City. mok'house - Rome Suite Home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Mok'house B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing