We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“I loved the MokHouse” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mok'house B&B

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Mok'house B&B
Ranked #17 of 3,734 Rome B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Israel
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“I loved the MokHouse”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 October 2009

Me and my girlfriend (25-30 yrs old) spent 4 nights at the MokHouse on September 09. We absolutely loved it.

We stayed at the 500 room. It was as unique, well-designed, clean and spacious as seems in the pictures here and on their site. Every word they write is absolute truth. The bathroom is huge, the bed is comfortable, the AC works great and the balcony is fun.

The MokHouse is located 5 minutes from the Colosseum, and 5 minutes from the Termini. It's right next to a main piazza so public transportation is easy to find. It's a walking distance to the historical center of the city and we hardly used the public transportation unless we were going to distant locations like the Vatican. There are restaurants (We recommend the Chinese restaurant just below the hotel), Caffe's and a pub in the area for those late night dinners/beer.

The only real disadvantage is that it's located at the 4th floor with no elevator. We were told of it in advance and it really was a non-issue for us, but I can see how older or out-of-shape travelers might have a problem with it.

Marco (The manager) and Andrea were great hosts and were both very helpful with good tips and a friendly face.

I definitely recommend the MokHouse

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GuYsH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

401 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    337
    60
    2
    1
    1
See reviews for
66
218
20
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Shawnee, Kansas
Level Contributor
149 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 October 2009

Don't be put off by the alley type location, the closed door (ring the doorbell) and dark entrance- this little B&B (two rooms) is close to the Santa Maria Maggiore and walking distance from the Roma Termini. Quiet street - clean - very good beds and bathroom and super nice staff. Be in good shape since it is on the 4th floor and there is no elevator. It served our needs very well and I would not hesitate to stay again. Thanks Marco, Andrea and Fabrizio

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ladybug512
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
63 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 September 2009

Marco and Andrea were super helpful, even before we got there. totally accommodating with our late arrival. great with directions and tips for eating and checking out the city. the room was clean, spacious and the bed was super comfortable. there were doors that lead to a balcony that was really cute. location was good. easy walk to train station, Colosseum, and good places to eat. they even have their own wine...we would definately stay here again. Ciao!

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cindy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Athens, Greece
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 September 2009

Since I discovered the mok'house and its staff, I wouldn't choose another place to stay during my trips to Rome. It offers all you need to discover and have a real taste of the eternal city : a central location near to the train station from where you can reach everything by foot or public transportation easily, big, comfortable, trendy rooms, decorated with the owners modern and clean taste, a staff that will always help you to make the best out of your stay in Rome, providing you with insider tips and useful information for everything you might need and realistic prices with very good value for money. Apart from these facts, what I really appreciate, is that while staying at the mok'house, I have the feeling of beeing a Roman citizen renting an apartment and hanging around with friends, instead of beeing a tourist staying at a B&B. So that is why the mok'house is more than just a B&B.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank romitsa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Haven
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2009

I stayed for 5 days with a friend in the Vespa room.

Pros:

- The room was comfortable, elegant and clean.
- Marco and Andrea were unfailingly helpful and accomodating.
- Good, quiet AC
- Close to Termini train station, but not too close (the area immediately around Termini, as with most train stations, is a little unpleasant)
- Monti is a nice area to stay in
- The price is excellent, particularly as breakfast at a cafe round the corner is decent and included (usually you pay a pretty penny to sit down anywhere in Rome).
- There is free, fast, wireless internet.

Things to be aware of (certainly not 'Cons' to me, but possibly to another sort of traveller)

- The room is on (I think) the 5th floor and there is no elevator. This makes the balcony lovely, but it is a bit of a workout.
- The building is definitely in historic Rome, but not at the center of the Centro Storico. It's about 20 minutes walking to the Pantheon/Campo de Fiori. I have no particular objection to walking past the Roman Forum or Sta. Maria Maggiore twice a day, but if you're not much of a walker this is probably not the place for you. (Although a taxi from the center will only run you about 5 euros.)
- There is a little noise at night from a cafe/restaurant (not sure) across the way. I'm a city-dweller, so I'm used to noise at night, but it might irritate some people.

Essentially, if you are an active and independent traveller, this is a wonderful place to stay in Rome.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank StudentTourist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bbr0ma, Owner at Mok'house B&B, responded to this review, 18 August 2009
I want to thank a lot to our lovely guests for this detailed review!

I just wanted to correct 1 little thing of this review: the B&B is at the 4th floor (not 5th). In our very first e-mail I always specify this and that there is no elevator as I want to set (and exceed) the expectations of our future guests.

Thanks again to them, as well as to all our guests who always recognize our hard work in the front- as well as in the back-of-house.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
belgium
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2009

We stayed for 4 nights in the Vespa Room of Mok'House. After a short walk from Termini we arrived at Mok'House, where Andrea was waiting for us. Even though it was only 11 am, we could already enter our nice vespa-inspired room! In any other hotel, that would simply be impossible. The room has everything you need for a citytrip in Rome: a good bed, a great shower, a small but cosy balcony with view on the street and especially a wonderful (silent) airco!!
Later on that day we met Marco, who immediatly asked if everything was alright, if there was anything we needed... At the end of our trip, we did need something and Marco did really everything to make sure that we'd get what we needed.
Marco and Andrea manage Mok'House with such dedication, and did everything to make our stay as pleasant & comfortable as possible. They offer suggestions for trips, restaurants etc to their guests, but are also interested in the places their guests have discovered during their trip.
If you want to experience Italitan hospitality at its best, then Mok'house is the place to be!

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kc13bel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Jose
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2009

From the first day we arrived at Mok House to the last day of our visit, both Marco and Andrea, received and attended us like family. When you stay at Mok House, you experience first hand, a passion for hospitality and true customer dedication. They will really take time and go out of their way to prove this! Marco and Andrea made our experience at Rome special; with excellent suggestions for restaurants, sightseeing, tourist destinations and "non-tourist" destinations, it was an unforgetable experience! Considering I traveled to Italy with no prior plans on what to do or where to stay in Rome for 3 days....the outcome of my experience was excellent and really unexpected! I would recommend Mok House to anyone who wishes to stay in a safe and welcoming place to experience the past and present of this beautiful city!

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mdh433
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Hotel Artemide
Hotel Artemide
#8 of 1,292 in Rome
5.0 of 5 bubbles 6,356 reviews
Monti
The Fifteen Keys Hotel
The Fifteen Keys Hotel
#9 of 1,292 in Rome
5.0 of 5 bubbles 381 reviews
Esquilino
iQ Hotel Roma
iQ Hotel Roma
#21 of 1,292 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,931 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Monti
Princeps Boutique Hotel
Princeps Boutique Hotel
#19 of 1,292 in Rome
5.0 of 5 bubbles 318 reviews
Campo Marzio
Portrait Roma
Portrait Roma
#2 of 1,292 in Rome
5.0 of 5 bubbles 668 reviews
Monti
Villa Spalletti Trivelli
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mok'house B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mok'house B&B

Property: Mok'house B&B
Address: Via di San Martino Ai Monti 38, 00184 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Monti
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 3,734 B&Bs / Inns in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Mok'house B&B 2*
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Unique in its style, inspired to the Italian design and inspired by the espresso coffee pot (the "moca" in Italian), mok'house for us means "the house of hospitality", as we feel responsible for the success of your holidays and for the good memories that you will bring back home with you. When our guests do not want to leave, then we understand that we are on the right path.mok'house offers you all the charming and magical atmosphere of a hidden and genuine Rome. More than just a location, mok'house is a "concept of hospitality": you will understand our sense of hospitality from the very first e-mail to the last tip for the best gelato or pizza or how to avoid the long lines at the Vatican Museum. You will be sleeping in a typical building of the XIX century, in the heart of the most ancient neighborhood in Rome (Rione Monti), just a few minutes walk from the Coliseum and within walking distance of all main sights such as Trevi's Fountain, Spanish Steps and Piazza Navona (within 20-30mins. walking from our building). Also, a lovely bakery is located just across the street and restaurants, wine bars, supermarkets, banks and grocery stores are within our block. All you are looking for to have a wonderful Roman Holiday is here at mok'house and we look forward to have you as our guests to experience the real flavors and colors of the Eternal City. mok'house - Rome Suite Home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, HostelWorld, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Mok'house B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing