We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“2 young, charming guys running a superb B&B in the centre of Roma!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mok'house B&B

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Mok'house B&B
Ranked #17 of 3,736 Rome B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Tervuren, Belgium
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“2 young, charming guys running a superb B&B in the centre of Roma!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2010

Me and my girlfriend went to Roma last june.
Because we didn't want to spend a lot of money on a hotel, we were searching for a B&B or motel. We got the suggestion from a friend who went there a few months earlier. She couldn't tell a bad thing about the B&B.
My girlfriend has a thing with Fiat 5OO, so we wanted that room, but the room was not available at that time. So we took the Vespa room. But we can't complain.
The room was clean, big, spacious, ... it had everything to spend 4 confortable nights!

The B&B is at walking distance from Termini-station, the Colosseum, .. just everything!
Marco and Andrea really helped us finding the best places to go to. Actualy, they helped us with everything. They are 2 great guys! No question was to hard for them. They solved it with a smile!

Roma itself was great, and because of Marco and Andrea we definitely will go back! And ofcourse back to Mok'house!

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SamSchepers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

402 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    338
    60
    2
    1
    1
See reviews for
66
218
20
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Austin, TX
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2010

My husband and I spent a few days in Rome during the HOT summer month of June. The Mok House was like a oasis in the desert. Marco and Andrea greeted us upon our arrival, showed us where the trendy places to go, easiest way to get to the popular sites, and even gave us wonderful restaurant recommendations. We will definitely be staying with them next time! Both rooms are amazing and cute in their own way, very classic and trendy!

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank longhorntraveler27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michigan
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2010

My husband and I started our trip to Italy with 4 nights in Rome at Mok'house. Marco was wonderful and helped us arrange a private car from the airport, and cheerfully greeted us on our arrival. Marco speaks excellent english and everyone there was so friendly. They gave us great tips on where to go and made reservations for us and helped in any way possible.
The 500 room was so cute! I loved the theme and beautiful windows that walked out to the corner balcony with an amazing view! The room was clean and well appointent. It was a tight squeeze, but that's to be expected with most eurpoean hotels. The espresso machine in the shared hall was also great to have on hand whenever we wanted.
We also really enjoyed the cafe where you got your free cappuccino and pastry for breakfast each morning.
The location is close to the main train station and Colosseum / ancient Rome area. It's a pretty good walk to the other main attractions, but Rome is a very walkable city. What we liked best was the great recommendations made by our hosts and amazing balcony. Probably what we liked least was the 5 flights of stairs it took to get to the room. Sometimes after walking all day that wasn't so much fun. The hosts helped carry the luggage though - so don't worry about that! One other tip - make sure you shut the shutters to keep the light out when sleeping. With the shutters closed, it's nice and dark and quiet.
Mok'house is a charming B&B and a great value. For the price it's an amazing stay! I would highly recommend Mok'house to friends - and already have.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nycole52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2010

We had a great stay at Mok'House B&B. Location is convenient from Termini station, 7min easy walk.

We stayed in the Vespa room, which was decorated in a light modern style. Bathroom (used by Vespa room only) was down the hall. Outside of the Vespa room there was a large sized fridge and a coffee machine which was great for a quick espresso. Wifi in room.

Breakfast is served in a cafe 2 min walk from the B&B, and includes warm drink / juice and a pastry.

Great hosts, friendly and personal service. In the evening we tried out one of the restaurants recommended on the board outside the B&B office which turned out to be good simple food and great value.

Will definitively be staying here next time we're in Rome.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Polarbjorn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2010

We stayed for a week at the end of may and after reading other reviews of Mokhouse we were excited and confident that we had chosen the right place to stay.
We were'nt at all disappointed.
The location was perfect, a quick stroll from Termini, we arrived late at night but still felt safe walking to the B and B's location. Marco waited up for our arrival and was so welcoming, he really got our stay off to a great start. Nothing was too much trouble and he was always available and happy to help in any way without being obtrusive at all, the perfect host.
We stayed in the 500 room which had everything we wanted, huge bed, very clean as was the large ensuite bathroom and surrounded by a balcony. The aircon was a welcome addition and silent which helped on warm nights.
Breakfast at a little cafe just a short walk from the B and B was always excellent with a choice of pastries and perfect coffee that we now miss terribly being back in London.
We have to also recommend the bruschetta at il Brigantino just down Via San Martino ai Monti and the canolli at Ciuri Ciuri on Via Leonina just off via Cavour, a short stroll from Mokhouse. We often enjoyed Limoncello and canolli sitting at a little table on the balcony, listening to passing musicians playing in the trattoria downstairs.
Some people have mentioned the stairs and yes, it is four flights up but not at all steep so even after a heavy day of sight seeing it was easily do-able. Marco flew up them with our bag when we first arrived refusing all offers of help.
Location wise Mokhouse really is perfectly placed being close enough to termini to be handy without feeling seedy, like some of the area right next to termini can feel.

We easily walked to the coloseum and would recommend exploring some of the back streets around Santa Maria Maggiore and off via cavour. We found lots of fantastic little shops and restaurants.

Book yourself a stay, get yourself a roma pass and have the best holiday at Mokhouse.
Russ and Jane

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RussandJane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Canton, Ohio
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 June 2010

Thanks in large part to TripAdvisor reviews, we selected Mok House for three days in Rome before a cruise. Everything was just as promised and expected. We asked Marco to arrange a driver from the airport and he was waiting for us just outside customs.

The location of Mok House was wonderful - an easy walk to the Colosseum, the train station, a tourist information booth, and a supermarket, not to mention restaurants and Ste Maria Maggiore Cathedral. We stayed in the 500 room and it was lovely, the bathroom was spotless, and we loved the little balcony and windows. Maybe we simply had enough wine, but we never had trouble with noise keeping us up (we stayed Wed-Fri). Marco was readily available to help with anything that we needed and provided recommendations everything Rome. When we arrived he helped us to our room (assisting with our plethora of luggage) and then provided us with a map, basic directions, etc. His brother, Fabrizio, suggested that we get a RomaPass, good for 3 days public transportation, complimentary entrance fees to two museums/attractions, and discounts to other museums/attractions - great idea! We received vouchers for a continental breakfast at a little cafe around the corner for each morning of our stay and that was a nice way to begin our days. Complimentary espresso was available in the hall between the two B&B rooms and a small refrigerator was there to keep food, juice, water. Wi-Fi (with instructions) made it easy to e-mail home.

The only little hiccup during our stay was when the driver to take us back to the airport early (6:30 a.m.) Saturday morning didn't show - so we knocked on Marco's door and he called a cab which arrived before my husband made it down the stairs.

We truly felt that we could ask Marco for ANYTHING we needed and he really helped to make our stay memorable! If only we could have spent more time there, sigh...

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sailormanswife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 May 2010

Mokhouse (500 or vespa) rooms come highly recommended for pple thinking of where to stay in Rome. I've had the pleasure of staying in both rooms during our honeymoon stay in rome. the location is just stone's throw from the termini station. daily breakfast at a cozy cafe as part of the package is just a few steps away from the apartment. marco n bunch have been very helpful with providing tips and advance reservations for museums visits. Thank u!

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ethanwee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Hotel Artemide
Hotel Artemide
#8 of 1,292 in Rome
5.0 of 5 bubbles 6,376 reviews
Monti
The Fifteen Keys Hotel
The Fifteen Keys Hotel
#9 of 1,292 in Rome
5.0 of 5 bubbles 384 reviews
Esquilino
iQ Hotel Roma
iQ Hotel Roma
#22 of 1,292 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,935 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Monti
Princeps Boutique Hotel
Princeps Boutique Hotel
#20 of 1,292 in Rome
5.0 of 5 bubbles 320 reviews
Campo Marzio
Portrait Roma
Portrait Roma
#2 of 1,292 in Rome
5.0 of 5 bubbles 670 reviews
Monti
Villa Spalletti Trivelli
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mok'house B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mok'house B&B

Property: Mok'house B&B
Address: Via di San Martino Ai Monti 38, 00184 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Monti
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 3,736 B&Bs / Inns in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Mok'house B&B 2*
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Unique in its style, inspired to the Italian design and inspired by the espresso coffee pot (the "moca" in Italian), mok'house for us means "the house of hospitality", as we feel responsible for the success of your holidays and for the good memories that you will bring back home with you. When our guests do not want to leave, then we understand that we are on the right path.mok'house offers you all the charming and magical atmosphere of a hidden and genuine Rome. More than just a location, mok'house is a "concept of hospitality": you will understand our sense of hospitality from the very first e-mail to the last tip for the best gelato or pizza or how to avoid the long lines at the Vatican Museum. You will be sleeping in a typical building of the XIX century, in the heart of the most ancient neighborhood in Rome (Rione Monti), just a few minutes walk from the Coliseum and within walking distance of all main sights such as Trevi's Fountain, Spanish Steps and Piazza Navona (within 20-30mins. walking from our building). Also, a lovely bakery is located just across the street and restaurants, wine bars, supermarkets, banks and grocery stores are within our block. All you are looking for to have a wonderful Roman Holiday is here at mok'house and we look forward to have you as our guests to experience the real flavors and colors of the Eternal City. mok'house - Rome Suite Home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, HostelWorld, Studio Scivoletto S.r.l. , Expedia and Priceline so you can book your Mok'house B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing