We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Trendy B&B on a good location with great staff!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mok'house B&B

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Mok'house B&B
Ranked #17 of 3,734 Rome B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Netherlands
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Trendy B&B on a good location with great staff!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 October 2010

Originally we were planning to visit Rome and the B&B in April 2010, but due to the ash cloud, our flights got cancelled. The whole time, we had such a great communication with Marco & Andrea from the B&B. They even held on to our deposit so we could use it later this year. And so we spent three nights at Mok'house in October 2010. And what a great choice it was! October is definitely the best month of the year to visit Rome. The temperature is warm; during the day it's hot and during the nights, it's still warm so a thin sweater or vest is just fine. It is crowded, but not too crowded. It's just great!
Once we arrived, Marco took the time to explain everything to us. He was very friendly and welcoming. As one of our main goals in Rome was to eat great food and to find the best restaurants and trattorias, Marco was of invaluable help. All the recommendations he made, were spot on! We ate the best pizza's, pasta's and gelati thanks to Marco's help!
Regarding the B&B itself, the room is basic but with trendy elements. We were in the Vespa room and knew that we didn't have an en suite bathroom, but for us, that was okay. If you do want an en suite bathroom, you should take the Fiat room. As mentioned in prior reviews, the room also has a small balcony, which is really cute and romantic. And indeed, sleeping can sometimes be a bit difficult as there is a small pub just across the road. The noise is not too loud, and stops in time for you to get some sleep. It didn't bother us at all. It's just part of the Rome experience. The room and bathroom are very clean and there is a lot of space for you and your luggage. Also, the room feels very spacious and lights; very modern.
As for the location of the B&B, it's a 2 minute walk to the subway station Vittorio Emanuele, which is one stop from Termini. The Colosseum is just a 10-15 minute walk. Everything in Rome can be easily reached by either just walking or the subway.
We would definitely recommend the B&B to everyone, because 1) it's not expensive, 2) the location is great, 3) the rooms are clean and safe, and 4) the staff is very helpful and friendly.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Holliday4ever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

401 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    337
    60
    2
    1
    1
See reviews for
66
218
20
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 October 2010

I’ve spent 2 days at mok’house following the great reviews given by tripadvisor. Actually my stay was far beyond expectations.
I was in Rome for a wedding and spent one night in 500 (best room ever!) and one night at Vespa. Rooms are really, really clean – which is something I value a lot, very silent, spacious, comfortable and bright. Beds are surprisingly comfortable and I had a perfect sleep despite the few hours ;)
Being Italian visiting in Italy I have to say I was incredibly impressed by Marco & Andrea hospitality. They run their B&B as if it was a luxury hotel, paying attention to every single customer need and to all details related to their stay. A part from the great location and wonderful rooms, they are the true added value that makes mok’house unique.
You’ll definitively enjoy your stay there!

PS – if you’re thinking to book a car from the airport to the hotel, just do it! Ellia is the best driver ever and you’ll start loving your stay from the very beginning.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank theartyfarty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oakland, California
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 October 2010

I have to admit that I was very skeptical when we first entered the B&B because upon entering we were immediately greeted by a dark, dusty, and creepy lobby. There isn't an elevator in the building which I think was 5 or 6 floors, but Marco & Andrea helped us with our bags. We didn’t mind the flights of stairs especially after eating pasta, gelato, pastries & drinking wine. We stayed in the Vespa Room during our 3 nights in Rome. The room was a good size, with a balcony & a private bathroom outside the room. The room & bathroom were very clean. We were given vouchers for breakfast at a cafe about a block away where the espresso & pastries were quite tasty. There is also a cute espresso maker & fridge that you share with the other room & free WI-FI. For the most part, the area around the hotel was pretty quiet even with the bar just across the way. The staff was extremely helpful and friendly, and Marco always had lots of recommendations for places to eat. This B&B really made us feel as if we were staying with friends because it was comfortable, casual & the staff was great. The B&B is about a 10 minute walk from Termini, 5 minutes from the metro, and 10 minutes from the Colosseum. We spent most of our time in Rome near the Pantheon and the Spanish Steps which is about a 25-30 minute walk or a quick metro ride. If we ever get another chance to visit Rome, we would definitely stay here again. Thanks Mok’house!!!

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mellyg86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 October 2010

My wife and I stayed at the 500 room for 2 nights on our honymoon.
Unlike other hotels in this price range in Rome, the most striking thing about the room was the design : it looks brand new and like there is a lot of thought behind it. it also has a very nice terrace. The location is great - 10 mins walk from tremini but in a very nice neighbourhood, very close to coloseum.When we arrived Marco was very nice and helped with our luggage ( there is no elevator but it wasnt a problem because of the help). when we got to the room marco debriefed us about nice sites to visit and more importantly which good restaurants to go! We stayed only for 2 days so we could try only a few, but all of his recommendations were good. The aircondition was good. There is a little refrigirator and an espresso machine out side of the room which you could use. We had an evening flight , so we checked out in the morning leaving the luggage in the room , and Marco took it to their office (which is in the building) and kept it for us till the evening.
Overall: Cool Room, excelent location, a reasonable price, and above all - Great service and hospitality.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gadi_Marcu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Escondido, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 October 2010

My review includes 4 Mok'House properties, The Imperial House, The Art Apartment, Porta Maggiore, and The Bed & Breakfast. On arriving on Sept 13, 2010 my wife had a stroke and ended up in a Rome hospital for over 3 weeks. The incredible staff at Mok'House sprung into action rearranging housing, providing transportation, translating, comforting, and assisting in all the needs of tourists facing the worst of all possible crisis. The Imperial House and Art Apartments were incredible and the Porta Maggiore and Bed & Breakfast perfect for my disaster needs. It's no wonder, Marco the owner, has an advanced degree in Hotel Management from the United Kindom where he was schooled and trained. He also works the Olympic events as they occur worldwide. You can not replace the Customer Service we received staying at the Mok'House properties. I have been a Store Manager for over 40 years and could not have survived the stress without the assistance of Marco and Andrea his assistant. Throw in Ellia their Shuttle driver and you have an invaluable customer service management team. An example is Marco obtained a laptop computer with internet access so I could attend to all the emergency calls and communications back to the United States with friends, family, Cigna Health Care, Oncall International, The US Embassy, and my wife's personal physician. The laptop also provided my wife with a connection to the outside world whle being confined to a gurney bed for 3 weeks. This was his brother's personal laptop going far beyond Customer Service expectations. Staying with the Mok'House properties is like staying with family. You could stay elsewhere, but you will miss out on the personal experience of the love and caring of Marco, Andrea, and Ellia. You can not put a price on that. Read the other reviews. Combine them with mine and you will understand why they receive such high ratings. I love you guys......Family Forever!

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Porodnisestra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 October 2010

We stayed for two nights in Mok'house (VESPA room), which was recommended to us by a friend who lives in Rome. As so many reviewers already mentioned the location is perfect with 10 mins walking distance to Termini, Collosseum and Monti (lovely area with many restaurants). The VESPA room is big enough, stylish decorated and has a small balkony, however it does not have an ensuite bathroom but it's own private bathroom just next door. It can be a bit noisy sometimes in the evening as a Irish pub is just opposite the road. The rooms have free wifi internet. The breakfast vouchers for a 3mins away cafe are alright. In total it's great value for money for a B&B in the heart of Rome. We enjoyed our stay and would come back again. Thank you Marco and Andrea

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KeywanJing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangalore, India
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 September 2010

I was at Mok house for a day. Conversed with Marco couple of time before I finally reached. He came across as a very friendly person, which was confirmed when I met him. He has a great intent of developing a high quality B&B with a distinct local flavour, which in my opinion has succeed.

I was in the Vespa room and the balcony looks down on the street and an old churces (which according to Marco has original Byzantium murals on the walls). The place is well located in a quite zone but close to metro stations (Termini and Cavour). Marco recommended a nice homely restaurant in the street where I had a very good pasta meal. He also recommended a great gelateria not far away. The only bad thing is that one need to walk to another place for breakfast in the morning. This may change in the next few month when the roof will be ready. Breafast with lovely Rome rooftops will be an added advantage. All in all, I had a great time there too bad I could only manage to stay for a day. Later I wanted to alter my trip in order to spend an extra day in Mok house but too bad it was full.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BSuresh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Hotel Artemide
Hotel Artemide
#8 of 1,292 in Rome
5.0 of 5 bubbles 6,358 reviews
Monti
The Fifteen Keys Hotel
The Fifteen Keys Hotel
#9 of 1,292 in Rome
5.0 of 5 bubbles 381 reviews
Esquilino
iQ Hotel Roma
iQ Hotel Roma
#21 of 1,292 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,931 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Monti
Princeps Boutique Hotel
Princeps Boutique Hotel
#19 of 1,292 in Rome
5.0 of 5 bubbles 318 reviews
Campo Marzio
Portrait Roma
Portrait Roma
#2 of 1,292 in Rome
5.0 of 5 bubbles 668 reviews
Monti
Villa Spalletti Trivelli
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mok'house B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mok'house B&B

Property: Mok'house B&B
Address: Via di San Martino Ai Monti 38, 00184 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Monti
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 3,734 B&Bs / Inns in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Mok'house B&B 2*
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Unique in its style, inspired to the Italian design and inspired by the espresso coffee pot (the "moca" in Italian), mok'house for us means "the house of hospitality", as we feel responsible for the success of your holidays and for the good memories that you will bring back home with you. When our guests do not want to leave, then we understand that we are on the right path.mok'house offers you all the charming and magical atmosphere of a hidden and genuine Rome. More than just a location, mok'house is a "concept of hospitality": you will understand our sense of hospitality from the very first e-mail to the last tip for the best gelato or pizza or how to avoid the long lines at the Vatican Museum. You will be sleeping in a typical building of the XIX century, in the heart of the most ancient neighborhood in Rome (Rione Monti), just a few minutes walk from the Coliseum and within walking distance of all main sights such as Trevi's Fountain, Spanish Steps and Piazza Navona (within 20-30mins. walking from our building). Also, a lovely bakery is located just across the street and restaurants, wine bars, supermarkets, banks and grocery stores are within our block. All you are looking for to have a wonderful Roman Holiday is here at mok'house and we look forward to have you as our guests to experience the real flavors and colors of the Eternal City. mok'house - Rome Suite Home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, HostelWorld and Odigeo so you can book your Mok'house B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing