We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Sorry Bourdain, we don't agree” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ristorante Roma Sparita

Ristorante Roma Sparita
Ranked #497 of 12,046 Restaurants in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$22 - US$43
Cuisines: Italian, Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Kids, Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Neighbourhood: Trastevere
Description: Good food is served in a comfortable environment. The outdoor space in the main square is really unique in Rome and can take place about 90 people. The inside spaces are two very welcoming hall: the entrance hall of about 30/35 people and the other room can accommodate more than 60 others.
Brookville, Ohio
Level Contributor
83 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Sorry Bourdain, we don't agree”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2014 via mobile

We booked a table here before we left for Rome, after watching No Reservations. Our meal there was on one of our last days, so we'd already had plenty of great Italian fare. Roma Sparita is not one of the better places we ate at. I think their Cacio e Pepe was featured on the show because it's beautiful on camera, not because it tastes good. In fact, it was so salty, I couldn't get down 1/3 of it (and I generally salt all my food even before tasting it). Nothing else was exceptional. In fact, the panna cotta was downright bad, like a super firm milky Jell-o covered in Hershey's syrup. Sorry.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Robbie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,736 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    738
    661
    178
    86
    73
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
62 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Some good some bad”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2014

We had two courses here, both starting with their signature "Cacio e Pepe", a pasta dishes served in a cheese sauce, and inside a 'bowl' made of cheese. It was very cheesy, my partner had to scrape off some of the parmesan that was on top, but I enjoyed it immensely. Unfortunately our main course of beef was far too salty. Not inedibly salty (beef will take a lot of salt), but certainly it was a lot more than anyone really ought to be eating. I finished it but my partner couldn't due to the salt. Otherwise we enjoyed the service, and the value was pretty good.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank MartinSpoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
65 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Cacio è pepe”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2014

Visited for lunch, and as with most people had the cacio è pepe. After failing to get here on a previous trip to rome I was determined to make it there this time around.

It was definitely worth trying at least once. We did manage to finish it all off, although it was quite a heavy dish. Wasn't miles better than other cacio è pepe we had, but it was done well.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Peter K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
51 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Go later in the evening and get more than cacio e pepe”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2014

We were staying at a hotel close by on our last night in Rome. The place was extremely busy in the evening and we didn't have a reservation. Luckily we came at a time when the first set of diners were leaving (I think it was around 21:00 hrs.) and within a few minutes the owner had found us a good table.

Nearly every table around us had a serving of the famous cacio e pepe. I didn't order it, but ate bites off my partner's plate. It's delicious and worth raving about, but too heavy for me to finish alone. Three or four bites can already put you in a cheesy coma if you are not used to rich food.

The locals around us seemed to order a lot from the specials selection (it was mussels in a tomato sauce that evening) and we also ordered a dessert of fresh wild strawberries and ice cream which was not on the menu and not initially suggested to us by the waiter. However, we saw beautiful bowls of it being sent to Italian speaking tables and asked to have the same. It turned out to be an excellent choice.

The place is charming, the waiters seemed overworked to keep up with the clients but they were still chatty and friendly to us. If you want more than the cacio e pepe look for the seasonal offerings part of the menu (either posted outside or ask the wait staff.)

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank FreeAgentX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
22 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Cacio e pepe - a Roman experience”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2014 via mobile

We went for the cacio e pepe which is served in a bowl made of pecorino cheese. It was great, but so was everything else on the menu. This is not haute cuisine, but it is at the top end of good family restaurants. The service was surprisingly good given the small staff and the crush of customers. You definitely should reserve in advance. The restaurant is a bit out of the way but worth the trip.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Jacques L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Ristorante Roma Sparita also viewed

 

Been to Ristorante Roma Sparita? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing