We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wish we could stay longer”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Venetia Palace Hotel
Ranked #343 of 1,271 Hotels in Rome
Reviewed 23 July 2011

Very modern, great location, particularly if you are arriving via airport train after a long days travel. Easy 5 minute walk from termini, therefore can visit all major tourist spots walking and catching metro back or vice versa. Breakfast was included and sufficient, free wi-fi, very funky sunken bath with spa jets in room. What looked like brand new state of the art gym, should have used it...to busy eating pasta though. Staff were very helpful and friendly, room was super clean with air-con. The roof top spa was perfect after a long days pounding the pavement, there was one day when the water was freezing & we couldn't get in..perhaps it had just been cleaned. I would have loved to stay longer than 5 nights.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SamSydneyAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (891)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

306 - 312 of 891 reviews

Reviewed 23 June 2011

After 3 weeks of constant travel with my sister and elderly mother, we wanted to finish our trip in a lovely 4 star hotel, unfortunately whilst this hotel has a 4 star rating it's a 3 1/2 star at best (and I'm being generous).

When we booked the accommodation we were advised that we would have 3 single beds, it turned out to be 2 single beds and the worst fold out couch we slept on during our entire 3 week holiday. When we spoke to reception there was nothing they could do... Disappointing.

Once we unpacked we noticed a foul odour coming from the bathroom drains. Housekeepings solution was to pour some drain cleaner down the sink, whilst the smell did improve it by no means disappeared.

On night 1 my sister and I decided to go out for dinner whilst our mother rested. The remote control to the TV did not work as per the instructions, so I went to reception to ask for assistance and was advised that they would send someone up, unfortunately that someone never arrived.

On day 2 we left the hotel at 9 am to tour Rome, at 3:30 when we returned to the hotel, room service had only just begun to clean our room and as a result they asked us to come back. Surely they could have done this earlier.

I also agree with other reviewers the showers are a poor design and extremely awkward.

On a good note the Internet connection was great as was the location. Whilst our complaints fell on deaf ears the staff were very polite.

I know this sounds like whiney email, but this was a really disappointing way to end our trip, especially when we had stayed at 3 star hotels that were far better than this hotel (and cheaper)

In summary, would not stay here again and would not recommend it unless you were able to secure it at a better price.

  • Stayed: July 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kylie2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2011

Friendly service, clean and comfortable. Near termini, makes getting around easy. Free internet, when asked provided gluten free - no extra charge. Jakuzi, clean. Breakfast room a little small, needs some more thought. Overall a good experience, would stay here again

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DahliaBlack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2011

We stayed for 3 nights at the Venetia Palace in June. We caught the shuttle bus from the airport which stopped outside Termini station and was just 5 mins walk away from the hotel. The road was quiet with a small number of restaurants - prices in these were far more reasonable than those in the main attraction areas and whilst you don't get such great scenery the food tasted as good (if not better).
We arrived a few hours before check in time but our room was ready, and the reception staff were welcoming & efficient. The room was spacious enough for us and the bathroom had the 'wow' factor (though jacuzzi bath was playing up!).
Breakfast was more than adequate - continental mix of fresh pastries, breads, ham, cheese and eggs/sausages. We didn't try the roof top jacuzzi but ambled up there to be nosey and it looked great fun. We didn't see the bar open, though I'm sure if we'd have wanted a drink and asked we'd have probably got one!
Our room was cleaned everyday and fresh towels provided. Free internet access was provided with code being available thru TV information page in room and served our purposes perfectly well.
We walked everywhere (including back from the Vatican), though must admit our feet ached at the end of our stay. The city bus tours are again 5 mins walk away outside Termini and as someone else mentioned, are a good way to get your bearings. We'd also recommend taking the escorted tours for Vatican and Colosseum/Palatine Hill- whilst it is more expensive you do skip the queues (which were very long), and our guides were very knowledgeable and entertaining. We'd certainly go back.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CarolineWestSussex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2011

We stayed at this hotel for 5 nights. We had booked a much cheaper hotel at first, but my boyfriend changed it to this hotel, much to my displeasure, since this was quite more expensive then what I was willing to give. BUT I ended up being so thankfull in the end. The hotel has a friendly staff, it's very clean, and the sauna and jacuzzi is the best part! Rome is very hectic, and you walk a lot, so after a looong day of sightseeing and shopping, the jacuzzi on the rooftop does wonders for your aching limbs! The room is a bit small, but well equipped with tv, table, minibar, closet with safe etc. Breakfast was really good and enjoyable, something for every taste. All in all a great place to stay for a romantic getaway to Rome.

  • Stayed: June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Zu3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2011

Poor service, free Internet because you wouldn't pay for this speed, rude staff, smelly poorly appointed gym, no parking. On a positive note, breakfast was good though the coffee was awful.

  • Stayed: April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Oceantreader
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2011

After two days searching for a central hotel I found this little gem. Although it is the middle price range I got a good deal with Laterooms. The hotel is a 2 mins walk from Roma Termini Station but in a quiet street. The rooms are bright and clean with all amenties needed. The staff where pleasant and helpful and even though my flight was 5 hours after checkout I was allowed to leave suitcase and go and stay in the fantastic rooftop terrace with jazucci!! The location is fantastic for walking everywhere in Rome and travelling by train/or Metro if required.
The only criticism would be the bathroom walls where made of frosted glass in my room therefore you can see people in the shower/toilet.
If I had one recommendation to make to anybody who goes to Rome, take the open top bus tour to get your bearing.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank manthy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Hotel Pulitzer Roma
#101 of 1,271 in Rome
1,301 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Canada, BW Premier Collection
Monti
Hotel Italia
Hotel Italia
#203 of 1,271 in Rome
1,075 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Esquilino
Suite Dreams
Suite Dreams
#107 of 1,271 in Rome
1,505 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Palladium Palace
Hotel Palladium Palace
#232 of 1,271 in Rome
914 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Venetia Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Venetia Palace Hotel

Address: Via Marghera 47/A, 185 Rome, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Esquilino , Castro Pretorio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#148 Business Hotel in Rome
#186 Luxury Hotel in Rome
#235 Family Hotel in Rome
Price Range: £55 - £186 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Venetia Palace Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 77
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sitting right in Rome Historic Centre, Venetia Palace has been recently refurbished. This hotel is reasonably priced. Diocletian Bath is within half a mile. All of the guestrooms are complete with minibar, air conditioning, fully stocked bathroom, TV, free Wi-Fi, and in-room safe. Daily housekeeping is available. Venetia Palace boasts multilingual staff, fitness facility, sauna, business centre, 24-hour front desk, laundry facility, terrace, and luggage storage. Free breakfast is featured daily. Refreshments are available in the on-site bar/lounge. Limited-hour room service is available. Either, guests have access to several restaurants close by, including Agora’ Restaurant & Bar that features Italian food. During their stay, guests can visit the National Roman Museum, a ten-minute walk away. As well, Roman Forum is within two miles. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Agoda, Southall Travel, BookAssist, LoveHolidays, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Ebookers, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Venetia Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Venetia Palace Rome
Hotel Venetia Palace

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing