We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Don't be fooled by the 4 star rating.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Venetia Palace Hotel
Ranked #350 of 1,290 Hotels in Rome
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Don't be fooled by the 4 star rating.”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 November 2010

Located close to the Roma Termini station, this hotel certainly is situated in a good location just three blocks away from the station but is still a long trek from the leonard express terminal which is a 400m walk from the main entrance. So it took 20 mins to get there from terminals 26 -28.

Room
Room was very small with poor quality fittings. Wardrobe too close to the bed and I broke my toe nail opening it. Also the side of the wardrobe was hanging off - not what you expect in a 4 star hotel. See image. There was also a very clinical backlight above the bed which felt more like an asylum light than the warm light you would expect in a 4 star hotel room.

Wi-Fi
Thankfully the wif-fi service was free but nothing to write home about. The service is delivered via a code on the TV that is renewed every 4 hours so if you are a frequent user or dependent on wi-fi you will not appreciate having to renew your code every 4 hours. The download speed was around 5 MB/s with the upload speed no more than 1 mb/s at best. YouTube struggled to load but text-based websites were fine. The wi-fi was also monitored by the hotel.

Breakfast
Breakfast was perfunctory - self-service coffee machine. The maids did not greet us once but did offer to make a coffee as I was making my own which seemed a bit pointless. You get a range of typical breakfast meals - muesli, yoghurt, toast, sausages, croissants etc. The room resembles a cafeteria and didn't exude class or the feeling you were in a supposedly luxury hotel. On the Friday to Sunday the place was very busy and many could not even sit down.

Reception Staff.
Service was mixed. Some staff were friendly but others aloof and snobbish. One receptionist questioned my entrance into the hotel on my fourth day there even though I had spoken to her earlier. Because I was carrying cans of Fanta she assumed I didn't belong there.

Cleaning
Room was often not cleaned until the afternoons which was inconvenient. On two ocassions the room was cleaned late even though the sign was on the door requesting the service. Once the maid was opposite and saw us leave at 10am but when we came back at 1pm the room had not been cleaned. Taps in the bathroom were left uncleaned.

Other services
You had to book the sauna in advance for 45 minute solo sessions but no lockers or robes were provided so it meant sauna users had to walk thorough the reception in wet towels. Very undignified. The gym was small but I could not see any free weights there. No bottled water was provided there either which is an oversight.

Conclusion
I would not recommend this hotel because of its misleading status and the poor, unfriendly staff, some of whom were snobby in the extreme.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Ym32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

745 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    184
    346
    131
    57
    27
See reviews for
98
341
52
138
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Romford, Essex, UK
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 November 2010

I went here with low expectations as friends had warned me generally about all hotels. I was a bit put off when we arrived to check in as the guy was on the phone and was checking us in at the same time - bit rude. I had chosen the deluxe room with the jacuzzi which would be ideal after 6-7 hours of walking and sightseeing - would definately recommend doing this. But i was disappointed with the room as it was very small even though the jacuzzi was a step down tub which was really cosy. The guy changed us to the junior suite at no extra cost the very next day which was great. Would have liked and expected tea/coffee facilities in the room for a 4 star. Bar was never open. Breakfast was very disappointing and cramped- cappacino was good. Ideal place for location as all main attractions are walking distance, we only got the metro to the way to vatican city (walked on the way back). it cost 1 euro each and the station was visible from the hotel - good walking distance. Do not eat in the touristy areas and food is appalling - not authentic and very expensive. Go to the back streets of cavour street (where the roads continues but has a right turn (not far from termini station), and go across the water to traverese area - for £10 got a three course authentic meal with quarter wine!!! do not but mineral water and there are foundations all over which have spring water running through them and is for drinking. For shopping the designer shops are on condetti rd (come off spanish steps and turn right or straight. the high street type of shops are on corso del - all close together where we had the best cappacino in a cafe.

All in all, glad we stayed at this hotel - its newly refurbished with a very modern and relaxing touch which is just what you want on a city break.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank n1kk1_km
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thirsk, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 November 2010

Having booked this hotel at short notice and read some of the reviews, we were not sure what to expect. However we were greeted with friendly, efficient, English speaking staff. Our room was certainly much better than we had ever imagined - all very neat and clean with a modern design. We requested a "quiet, high room" as we do like to be able to sleep in peace at night. We were given a room at the end of a corridor on the third floor above a very quiet side street and the blinds at the windows completely blocked out the light. We were happy with this. The only problem was that there was virtually no sound-proofing between the rooms so when the people next door arrived in the early hours we were disturbed in a big way. This was our only minor gripe but not really the fault of the hotel. The breakfast was good and the staff happy to make us coffee to our liking.
Although we did not use it, the hotel had a sauna and spa which looked inviting.
The location, only a stones throw from the main Termini station was perfect and it was still easy to access the rest of Rome without feeling as if we were way out of town but whilst staying in a quiet area. We found some very nice places to eat only a short walk away.
On our day of leaving, the hotel were only too happy to look after our luggage until it was time for us to catch our train. All in all, a lovely hotel to which we will return.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mary W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
53 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 169 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 October 2010

I have to agree with previous reviews of this hotel. It looks great from the outside but there is no substantace to how it delivers service to its customers.

The rooms are modern and small but the bed was comfortable. The bathrooms were not very well designed and the finish of the fittings were of low quality. Free wi-fi is available in room.

Check in was swift and housekeeping were very good and all areas of the hotel were kept clean.

The fitness room was very basic with no free weights available.

The hotels one big downfall was its breakfast area. Small and inadequate to accomodate all hotel guests. This lead to guests having to wait for a free table and there was no order in who was served first. The manager of the breakfast area left much to be desired, his manner to guests was very abrubt. The food quality though was in line to other hotels with both hot and continental selections available.

There are many hotels around Roma Termini and no doubt one could find one that would provide a more pleasant experience.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank flyingroo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tonsberg, Norway
Level Contributor
115 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 October 2010

We changed our hotel from H10 roma Citta hotel because we wanted a more central option. After short time we regret that. This hotel try to be fancy , but its just not anywhere close to a 4 star hotel. The rooms are very small. The breakfast is very poor. The service is not there at all. Most of the people who worked there need to understand what kind of job they have. The lobbybar was never open. Asked to borrow a iron, they could not help.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ToolBergen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 October 2010

The Venetia Palace hotel in Rome is just like the Colosseum, looks great at first but on closer inspection needs some work. At first glance it looks great, modern, clean and just a walk away from the Termini Station. The women at the front desk are very helpful but that is as good as it gets. We were shown to our room and it was very small, but not only that the bathroom was far from adequate. Everything felt like it was about to fall apart. The toilet jutted out from the wall with no base so when you sat on it it felt as though it was going to break, a larger person may have severe difficulties. When you took a shower it took about 15 minutes for the water to drain, so you are showering in dirty water, the bathroom sink looked as though it was about to fall apart.
We were then told of a spa upstairs on the roof and a steam room and sauna. This was wonderful news as we had travelled quite far and needed to relax, I got into the spa and I have no idea what sort of water they used there but my skin tightened and and felt very uncomfortable, after this I walked down to the sauna only to have one of the male staff members hanging around and peering in through the window.
This all seemed nothing to the welcoming response you get when you go down for breakfast in the morning. The older gentleman that runs the breakfast area is rude and disgusting to say the least. On our first morning we watched him crash plates, slam doors and talk very rudely to customers, on the second morning it was our turn. He yelled at us that the table we were trying to sit at was for 4 and not 2 , as there were no more tables we moved to another table only to be yelled at again, mind you this was in front of a lot of other guests, very embarrassing and not a great way to start your day. Romans are not the friendliest of people anyway but to get this sort of service in your hotel is far just wrong. DO NOT STAY HERE!!!!!!!!!!!!!!1

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Thommytraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NAPERVILLE
Level Contributor
44 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 October 2010

This hotel is located only a few blocks from the main train station in Rome so access to public transit was a breeze. The staff was friendly, helpful and enthusiastic. The rooms were clean, well thought out and not lacking in anything. The decor is very modern, which is not our style, but we'd stay here again and recommend it to anyone.

After we checked in and unpacked, as we left to go outside for the fist time, the staff asked us if the room was ok, did we need anything. THey truly seemed interested in making our stay enjoyable. When we asked for a dinner recommendation, the staff quickly offered an excellent,close by restaurant and made the reservation. When we needed the best way to the airport, the same, quick answer and reservation made.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jaamo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
BEST WESTERN Premier Hotel Royal Santina
Esquilino
Hotel Morgana
Hotel Morgana
#126 of 1,290 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,115 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Royal Court
Hotel Royal Court
#189 of 1,290 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 658 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Esquilino
Hotel Villafranca
Hotel Villafranca
#515 of 1,290 in Rome
3.5 of 5 bubbles 869 reviews
Esquilino
The Building Hotel
The Building Hotel
#216 of 1,290 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 216 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Venetia Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Venetia Palace Hotel

Property: Venetia Palace Hotel
Address: Via Marghera 47/A, 185 Rome, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Esquilino , Castro Pretorio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#148 Business Hotel in Rome
#188 Luxury Hotel in Rome
#235 Family Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Venetia Palace Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 77
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Lastminute, Odigeo, BookAssist, Hotels.com, Priceline, Southall Travel, Agoda, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Venetia Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Venetia Palace Rome
Hotel Venetia Palace

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing