We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Moses Fountain
Nearby Hotels
US$687
US$383
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$623
US$514
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$298
US$269
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
Hotel Navona(Rome)(Great Value!)
US$1,192
US$959
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
Hotel Nord Nuova Roma(Rome)(Great Value!)
US$211
US$193
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Diocleziano(Rome)
US$359
US$293
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
iQ Hotel Roma(Rome)
US$411
US$349
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
US$249
US$211
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$407
US$376
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Grifo(Rome)(Great Value!)
US$383
Cancelon
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (361)
Filter reviews
362 results
Traveller rating
244
79
25
9
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
244
79
25
9
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewswooden doorhotel entranceflights of stairstrain stationstandard roombed was very comfortableshower roombreakfast is servedfantastic hotelclose to terminimain attractionssmall hotelcentral romechurcheuropepantheon
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
123 - 128 of 362 reviews
Reviewed 24 August 2012

Spent 4 nights here and had a wonderful time.highly recommend funky cardinal room with its fab balcony overlooking the busy roads below and the amazing shower and bath in the old turret stairwell. Great location. Very helpful manager Lapo who can book local restaurants for you and recommended a great wine bar. Free mini bar to have when you come back to your room after a days exploration. Breakfast simple but nice to eat outside on roof terrace.
Love to return!

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Veg_grower
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2012

This is almost like a small-town B&B in the heart of Rome. I'll cover the downsides first, and then the large upside

The downsides:

1) there's no full-time staff, which can cause issues--our flight was delayed, and the owner who was supposed to be there to let us in had to go to a funeral, so we had to stand on the street for a while with our bags until the maid heard us ringing the bell.

2) Lots of stairs. Not a problem for us except when we had to carry our huge suitcase up and down, but I wouldn't book this if I had arthritis or COPD.

The many upsides:

1) A real king bed. So hard to find except at five star hotels, and for my very tall husband and me, an absolute necessity.

2) Free minibar. It was lovely to come back at the end of the day and have a cold drink waiting.

3) Unbeatable location. A short walk to Trevi, Spanish steps, and Termini station, where you can catch the train to just about anywhere you want to go. Around the corner from the St. Regis, where you can catch a cab if that's how you roll.

4) Lovely, lovely staff. We got locked in our first night by another guest, and the owner showed up within fifteen minutes, drove us to a restaurant, and talked the waiter into giving us a table. That doesn't really happen at normal hotels.

5) Delicious breakfast. One of the best cappucinos I've ever had.

6) Beautiful terrace. We bought a bottle of wine and sat out there a couple of nights. It was outstanding.

7) Amazing bathtub/shower. Nice and deep, and the shower had terrific pressure. We took pictures because we want our bath to look just like that when we redo it.

8) Comfortable air conditioning. Let's just say I've been in European hotels where this wasn't true--and in Rome in July, it was essential.

9) Delightful views. The hotel is old--it's actually built into the back of the Moses Fountain--and it looks just like you think your stay in Rome should look.

10) Great price. We spent a lot less than we would have for a more "hotel-like" experience, and enjoyed a comfortable, attractive room that was close to everything.

Overall: Not the typical hotel experience. But if you're the sort of traveler for whom that's a plus rather than a minus, you should definitely stay here.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank turtleturtle16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2012

beautiful hotel, great location, excellent service. we were more than happy with our stay here and will stay again next time we visit rome. we stayed at many wonderful places with great service throughout italy, and moses fountain edged them all out with my vote for the absolute best service. we requested the red room when we booked, and the red room was what we got. it was very romantic and so nice that we had trouble leaving the room to explore rome. worth every bit of trouble in trying to find it...it's just a quiet wooden door on the side of the building.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank nancy m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2012

We stayed at the Moses Fountain for two nights, but will surely return on our next visit to Rome. Lapo gave us expert advise on where to eat, places to go and how to get there, he even gave us his cell number in case we got lost.
Surely this is an unusual place to some because it has no physical reception, but we didn't have any trouble with that since Lapo and the rest of the staff where so helpful with everything.
The hotel is walking distance (if you like walking) to some great attractions and it is secluded enough from the hustle and bustle of city life so that you do enjoy a good night sleep.
The room we stayed in was wonderful, ac worked fine and the breakfast was served on demand (it is a typical European breakfast mind you, coffee, croissants, butter, cheese and ham, juice and fruit) and it could be eaten in the lovely terrace or in the room.
I think this hotel is a great place to stay for young couples.

Room Tip: Three room categories, we choose the middle priced one and the room was great. If you want extra comfort (like a turkish bath) choose the highest priced.
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank PinkyHuerta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2012

Lapo, you're a gentleman. You helped make our last 4 nights in Italy a true pleasure!! Really great hotel. Theresa's sofa is a wonderful room. Great steam room/shower you can stay in for ages. Nice location. Away from the madness and a good walk to it all helps burn off the pasta!! Very chilled. Beats the hell out of the starchy 5 star hotels where you pay for services you never use. Its like your own flat in Rome with an exceptional concierge!! Lovely cappuccino in the morning, free minibar feels so much more valuable than its monetary value. Lapo also knows then nicest places to eat....ask him!!

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Scrimmy807
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews