We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good hotel, great location, could do a bit better”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Moses Fountain
Ranked #572 of 1,291 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Scotland
Level Contributor
92 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Good hotel, great location, could do a bit better”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 September 2013

We stayed here for three nights in the apartment booking it well in advance, I chose it as it was a bit different from all the normal run of the mill hotels, not a normal hotel. A few days before we where due to travel to Rome I received an email saying that we where being moved out of the apartment and into a normal sized room. We had specifically chosen the apartment so our daughter could have a separate sleeping area from us and would not be disturbed by us as she slept. Thankfully when I answered the email and protested they did back down and kept us in the apartment.

The location is great, it's a few minutes walk from the Republica Metro station and the bus stops for the tour buses are close to that also so they are easy to get to and there is also a taxi rank beside the fountain. There are plenty of bars/restaurants around the area so you wont go hungry. We also walked (with a 4 year old) to the Coliseum in around 40 mins, you could probably do it faster without a small child stopping to look at everything and take in the surroundings :) You can easily walk to the other big sight seeing locations from the hotel if you wanted to. We took the Metro to the Vatican Museum for an evening opening and it was cheap, clean and quick.

The hotel itself is behind the Moses Fountain, our taxi from the airport had no issue in finding it, provide the correct address and you should be OK. Don't be concerned if your taxi drives past the fountain and seems to be taking a longer than required route, the entrance is in a one way street so they need to go right round the block to get in the street.

This leads me to my only real complaint about the hotel. There is no reception and the door is secured with a keypad. You need to call the reception telephone number to get access, so do remember to take the phone number with you! They will give you the door code so you can at least get into the hotel building and wait either inside of on the terrace until someone arrives to show you to your room, around 10mins at the most. This is the one area they really need to improve upon.

Breakfast is served on the terrace and the selection is great with something everyone will like.
There is a free mini bar in the room with soft drinks, a snack selection and some alcoholic drinks. As we where in the apartment we also had a microwave, two ring induction hob and dishwasher.

As with other reviewers here I did find the hot water a bit temperamental and I am sure the water was hotter in the bath than in the shower. I did report it but not really given a satisfactory answer, however it was freezing and it was hot in Rome that week so I wasn't really bothered.

We where happy in the hotel, the location is great, although very busy the double glazing on the windows does a great job of muting the traffic noise so we slept well each night.

My only complaint is the situation with reception, they really do need a better system in place which would make the arrival a whole lot better.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ksmith38a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

351 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    238
    78
    23
    8
    4
See reviews for
21
273
7
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 September 2013

Loved this hotel. The staff at the hotel were very helpful and super nice. Rooms were very clean and the bathrooms were very modern. Only issue might be that there is no elevator so you have to carry all your luggage up lots of stairs.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Arezou J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 September 2013 via mobile

I get what they are trying to do here and like some aspects of the experience. The most basic room was well furnished with a luxury bathroom. Unfortunately this was let down by a fairly epic fail when the hot water did not work for two days in a row.

Some nice touches, generous mini-bar included with juice water beer and nibbles, but really a Nespresso machine is a lousy way of not making a hot drink!

Breakfast on the raised terrace was pleasant, but there is no excuse for stale bread being served two says in a row.

The idea of this being a secluded b&b in the heart of the city is nice, but actually the traffic is heavy, the fumes awful, and the drone of the air conditioning from the big hotel next door is ever present. The area is big hotels and govt offices, and local restaurants are geared to this type of trade, with overpriced tourist menus.
You are paying hotel rates and don't really get hotel services or standards apart from the room furnishing. You can walk to most of the sights, but you can do that from nicer places that are better located depending on what you like

Helpful?
Thank Richard S
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 September 2013

The Moses Fountain hotel was suggested by a travel consultant and after reading the many positive reviews, we decided to stay there to celebrate our 10th wedding anniversary. Having stayed in Rome before, we knew not to expect a massive room on our budget within walking distance of the centre of Rome and major attractions.

However, we didn't expect to get no sleep on our first night and for that to ruin the rest of our 3-night stay. The reason - the hotel is basically built into the rear of an ancient but working fountain. On arrival (we stayed in Golden Nest) we noticed a hum like a car engine running outside the window but as it was early afternoon, it didn't sound out of place. On our return to the room in the evening, it was clear that the noise was coming from inside the hotel.

After a very early start that morning to get our flight to Rome, we were pretty exhausted but when we tried to get to sleep, we could feel a vibration coming through the floor to the bed. It's no exaggeration to say that it was like trying to sleep on an aeroplane or a train. After an hour or so we realised that there was no chance of sleep, so we rang the reception of the sister hotel (there were no staff on site after breakfast) before midnight and demanded to move floors. We were told that the fountain noise was quite normal and that the Moses Fountain and sister hotel were fully booked. The receptionist said that the Manager would come in the morning to see us.

Neither of us were able to sleep at all that night, such was the combination of noise and vibration. The Manager did arrive at our room quite early and was very apologetic, to his credit. However, it would have been clear that we were very tired, upset and unhappy with the situation. He explained that there was a fault with the fountain, but that a city engineer had been called to fix it that afternoon. He did not offer to compensate us in any way and when we asked again to move to a superior room, he told us again that the rooms were all booked. However, it was clear from the number of breakfast trays that we saw in the morning awaiting delivery (our room adjoined the breakfast preparation cupboard), that the hotel was half full. The problem was sorted, but had left such a bad impression that it ruined our anniversary break.

Other than that, a few small annoyances... The fridge contained bottles of beer, fruit juice etc, replenished daily, but there is no bottle opener in the room. We hadn't brought our own (surely we could have expected one) so we called the reception. After being questioned at length why we needed one, we were told that one would be brought in the morning - it wasn't. We asked the breakfast staff and they said there were none in the hotel but that she would ask the receptionist to arrange one - it never arrived. We had to resort to the opening bottles on the edge of a wall outside! A guide to bars, shops and restaurants in the vicinity of the hotel would be handy. This might sound strange in a city that has thousands of options, but the hotel is a good half-hour walk from the central area and we didn't want to travel for food and shopping every time. The rooms are described as having a 'Workstation with high speed internet access' - there is wifi, but no workstation so bring your own device! And be aware, there is no lift so if you have lots of luggage or mobility problems, this hotel is not for you - there are three flights of narrow, steep stairs to navigate before you get to the hotel entrance.

My advice - stay somewhere that has staff on-site and that isn't built into a fountain.

Room Tip: A floor that has less fountain noise!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Spendosa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
51 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 September 2013

My wife and I spent three nights at the Moses Fountain Hotel staying in Velvet Indigo room. With only six rooms you get very personalized service from the moment you arrive to the moment you leave. The room has a very comfortable queen sized bed, there is a good sized armoire with plenty of hanging space and drawers (including a safe for securing valuables). The bathroom is well stocked with amenities, towels and bathrobes. There is plenty of hot water for the shower. A young woman named Maricel took care of all our needs from carrying our luggage up the stairs from the street to our room, to cleaning, to preparing breakfast every morning. Breakfast was delightful assortment of fresh breads, cereals and fresh fruit that is served on the rooftop dinning area. We had a minor problem back home and the owner Andrea was quick to help us and then check back with us to make sure things were resolved. The hotel is located away from the main tourist attractions but well within all Rome transit including the Statione Terminal. Moses Fountain Hotel is a lovely place to stay and we highly recommend it.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank nycnative1919
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 September 2013

The Moses Fountain hotel was by far the nicest and most romantic hotel we've ever stayed in.

The location was brilliant, just a short walk away from bars, shops and restaurants. There is also an underground train station two minutes walk from the hotel which takes you to the main attractions such as the colosseum, and is very cheap in price.

The rooms are very modern, with free wifi, sky tv and the mini bar is re-stocked every day for free. The breakfast is served on a lovely little terrace and is continental with a very good choice of different foods. The hotel building itself is incredible, historic and has a fountain on the front which makes for a beautiful picture.

In the evening the terrace is lit up beautifully and is so romantic; this was the place that my now fiancé proposed to me!

If you stay at this hotel you will not be disappointed! Thank you very much Moses Fountain for a wonderful stay!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kayleighcoops
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2013

This is a great place for those who value privacy with an intimate touch. The hotel has only 6 rooms but service is great. Andrea, the owner, is the perfect host and gives excellent insider tips while in Rome. Rooms are modern, comfortable and quiet with a great location.
The place has a unique charm.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Conrado L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Selene Style Hotel
Selene Style Hotel
#124 of 1,291 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,235 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Mascagni
Hotel Mascagni
#152 of 1,291 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 916 reviews
Gambrinus Hotel
#283 of 1,291 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,330 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Monti
Hotel Boutique Nazionale
Hotel Boutique Nazionale
#192 of 1,291 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 321 reviews
Esquilino
Target Inn
Target Inn
#382 of 1,291 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 268 reviews
Esquilino
The Britannia Hotel
The Britannia Hotel
#129 of 1,291 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,145 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Moses Fountain? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Moses Fountain

Property: Hotel Moses Fountain
Address: Via 20 Settembre, 98/L, 00187 Rome, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Esquilino , Castro Pretorio
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#108 Romantic Hotel in Rome
#272 Luxury Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Moses Fountain 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Please contact the property in advance to communicate your arrival time. For arrivals after 14:30, you will receive a code to access the property. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Moses Fountain reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Moses Fountain Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing