We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Funky Good”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Moses Fountain
Ranked #591 of 1,257 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Odessa, Florida
Level Contributor
150 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Funky Good”
Reviewed 31 October 2013

Never stayed anywhere quite like this. Built into a five century-old fountain connected to the Roman aqueduct. Third-story room with no elevator. (Mr. Otis wasn't around in the 16th Century, unfortunately.) Thought we would die dragging our luggage up the stone stairway but the manager helped and gave me a beer when I reached the top so all was forgiven.

We stayed in the "Swanky Cardinal" suite and it was amazing: bright red wallpaper (like a Cardinal's robes) with 15 foot ceilings and a nice little balcony over the street. It had a very modern bathroom with a two-step sunken bathtub with a rain shower coupled with a hand-held spray and about a hundred twinkly lights overhead. There ain't no Marriott or Hyatt anywhere anything near this place!

Absolutely loved the place! The only negative is the fact that the office is only open about seven hours a day. If you need people to contact you off-hours when no one is there to answer the main phone line; you're out of luck. Otherwise, I wouldn't hesitate to stay here every time I was fortunate to visit Eternal Rome.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Bob B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

352 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    238
    78
    23
    9
    4
See reviews for
21
274
7
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 October 2013 via mobile

We had a great stay at the Moses Fountain. The rooms are beautifully decorated in a very personal way and furnished to a high standard. The bed was mega comfy. The bathroom is also of a high spec.

Room service was great and the owner at all staff we meet very helpful and friendly.

The hotel is in a very unusual location backing on to a 400 year old statue and fountain. You will never have stayed in a location like this before!

The above brings some potential negatives. The building housing the hotel does not allow for a proper reception or restaurant area. Not a problem for us as we didn't have any issue needing a reception and the weather was nice to be able to eat outside. You can also east in your room, which again was fine for us.

After our visit I found out that the mini bar was free! It would have been nice to know that whilst we were staying there. There is no hotel information pack in the room.

The room was quite noisy perhaps from the fountain pump. It is really a kind of white noise so it blends into the background, so it didn't disturb us and we had three really good nights sleep

Previous reviews have said the hotel has a slightly odd set up, with limited reception and no restaurant.

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Michael D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
USA
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 October 2013 via mobile

My daughter discovered this hotel on an Internet search. I had my doubts since it seemed so small, but the location was great, so I agreed. We stayed in the apartment for 3 nights and thoroughly enjoyed it. We were given some great restaurant suggestions and the small size made it feel like personal service. The terrace area is a lovely place to unwind. The free mini bar was a great touch! There is a pizza place a couple blocks away (Pinsere?) that was fantastic. I would definitely recommend this hotel.

Stayed October 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank barbphillips75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lima
Level Contributor
87 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 October 2013

A great experience. A small boutique with an excelente location in the center of Rome, close to Termini, Piazza Barbieri and many restaurants.
The rooms are very nicely furnished and for European standards are big. A comfortable bathroom well appointed.
If you are expecting a lobby and a lot of people, this is not for you. But if you are looking for a special place for yourself look no further.
Special high marks to the manager, Andrea. A great help with recommendations , either for restaurants, places to see and how to get there.
I should say that Andrea made our stay great, especially with the help with my lost luggage , which AirBerlin sent Lisbon!!! If it wasn't for all his patience and the way he insisted with the airline I will still be without my bag.
Great place, great staff.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pedro B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcestershire
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 October 2013

We asked for a small, individual hotel with a bit of character and that was what we got! The room was lovely - comfy bed, larger space than expected, good bathroom and all very clean. The manager, Andrea, was very helpful and so was the lady who cleaned and provided the breakfast. It was located an easy walk from the Repubblica metro station but away from the main tourist sites. The only drawback is the fact that it is up two flights of stone steps, which have seen better days, then a short metal staircase and, if you're not on the first floor of the hotel, another flight of stairs. It's a long way to carry your bags and especially long when you have walked around Rome all day. There is also a background hum I assume came from the aquaduct underneath. If you live in a town or city, or are used to air conditioning, you probably wouldnt notice it.

Room Tip: We stayed in Velvet Indigo - up an extra set of stairs but a nice size.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MrsJ1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenixville, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
36 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2013

We stayed at the Moses Fountain Hotel in September 2013 for four nights. it was a short, easy walk to the hotel from Termini Train Station. The hotel is right next to the St. Regis hotel and across the street from Santa Maria della Vittoria that has the statue of the Ecstasy of Saint Theresa.

Since it was morning and our room wasn't ready, Andrea took us up to the terrace and gave us a personal overview of Rome detailing on the map sights, restaurants, etc. We used that map for our whole time in Rome.

We stayed in the apartment and had plenty of space. One bedroom with King-sized bed, small kitchen - we didn't use this, LR/DR, and bathroom. Bathroom has a rain shower head - not my preference, but for four days it was fine. Breakfast is on the terrace - so nice to have breakfast outside. Great way to start the day.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mkm0108
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
193 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 October 2013

This tiny hotel, located above the Moses Fountain, was a great place to relax for our three-night stay in Rome. The room was clean and comfortable, and despite being beside a road junction, the soundproofing meant that the traffic noise was reduced to a very acceptable background hum. We chose the Swanky Cardinal room, which gave us a balcony overlooking the church opposite, with views along three roads. This was more expensive (and, for some reason couldn't be booked via the hotel's booking system - we had an exchange of e-mails to get this room). The bathroom was superb, with a mosaic-tiled bath and shower installed in a turret, with sparkly overhead ceiling lights twinkling away!
Breakfast was provided on the terrace, surrounded by a range of pot plants large and small. The food was excellent and plentiful; the only problem was that the coffee tended to cool off rather fast outside. Normally I prefer hotels with a buffet breakfast so that I can choose, but the trays provided had wide range of toast, pastries, cereal, fruit, yoghurt, etc. and therefore I was very satisfied. The room also had a free mini-bar with soft drinks, snacks, water, and beer, and was replenished daily.
The hotel is hidden away behind a discreet wooden door on the Via XX Settembre, and the rooms are directly above the fountain. Several of the on-line maps show the hotel across the road from the fountain, but don't be fooled. Look for the sign above the door just around the corner from the fountain and opposite the church. The hotel doesn't have a permanently-staffed reception, and so one has to inform the hotel in advance of one's arrival time. There are staff around in the mornings for breakfast and checking out.
Overall, we had a delightful stay, and would stay here again.

Room Tip: The Swanky Cardinal room is more expensive, but is the only room with a large balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Antony B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Selene Style Hotel
Selene Style Hotel
#121 of 1,257 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,256 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Mascagni
Hotel Mascagni
#152 of 1,257 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 921 reviews
Gambrinus Hotel
#291 of 1,257 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,337 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Monti
Hotel Boutique Nazionale
Hotel Boutique Nazionale
#206 of 1,257 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 324 reviews
Esquilino
Target Inn
Target Inn
#407 of 1,257 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 268 reviews
Esquilino
The Britannia Hotel
The Britannia Hotel
#129 of 1,257 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,162 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Moses Fountain? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Moses Fountain

Property: Hotel Moses Fountain
Address: Via 20 Settembre, 98/L, 00187 Rome, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Esquilino , Castro Pretorio
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#108 Romantic Hotel in Rome
#279 Luxury Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Moses Fountain 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Please contact the property in advance to communicate your arrival time. For arrivals after 14:30, you will receive a code to access the property. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Moses Fountain reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Moses Fountain Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing