We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Chroma Hotel
Nearby Hotels
Hotel Artemide(Rome)
US$386
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$321
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$648
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$437
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$179
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$135
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Colosseum(Rome)
US$185
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$163
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Diocleziano(Rome)
US$234
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$194
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$380
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$213
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$188
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$251
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$239
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$262
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$224
Trip.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
US$1,067
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$604
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (135)
Filter reviews
135 results
Traveller rating
40
59
25
5
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
40
59
25
5
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstermini train stationexcellent locationhallwaydeskforum
Filter
Updating list...
32 - 37 of 135 reviews
Reviewed 14 February 2011

Spent alot of time searching for a great value hotel for our valentines visit to Rome. Ended up picking the chroma hotel due to good ratings/reviews and we were not dissapointed. Hotels are very highly priced in rome, so it was hard to find a good balance. We stayed in the ruby fountain room, which is the suite room. Fantastic room, great to have a living room area included in the room. The drench shower is brilliant, there is a big lcd tv in in the living area with most sky channels, the bed is huge and very comfy, the lighting is very good, with a switch that makes everything red if wanted. The staff are very friendly, and cleaned the room daily.
Only downfalls were that the breakfast was very basic, but the staff packed our breakfast up for us when we needed it on the go which was fantastic. Plenty of cafes/restaurants around for a full cooked breakfast if wanted. It is about 5/10mins walk from termini train station. 5mins walk from the coloseum, but a walk right into the centre (trevi/pantheon) takes 15/20mins. No big problem tho, as it was a nice walk. The hotel was quite hard to find to begin with, but following a map it isnt a problem.
Highly recommended, great value, very clean, pretty close to everything without being bang in the middle of the touristy sites. Highly consider staying here if visiting rome!!!

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rhinos_81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2010

Good location.
We had the Emerald room. Large enough, but too noisy, as we could hear EVERYTHING on the lobby. Therefore we couldn't sleep properly for the entire stay.
The breakfast was good, the receptionists very helpful and polite and the room was clean.
We would return, but would try a different room.
And the WIFI was not working inside the room.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank irinai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 January 2010

Chroma hotels is beyond doubt one of my best discoveries yet. I bumped into it quite by accident. I was browing through Google Maps for hotels in Rome when a bright red room with sleek interior caught my eyes. When I checked their website and I was surprised - a nice room in a B&B in central Rome at such a reasonable price was too good to be true. Nevertheless, after sending them a number of emails( which they patiently answered, even the ones with my silly questions!), my husband and I decided to take the chance.

They had arranged for a taxi to pick us up from the airport. When we finally reached the hotel, what we saw in front of us was a charming old building with an old big black gate... The reception was in the first floor, where we were greeted warmly by two members of the hotel. Our luggage was promptly taken to our room while the gentleman at reception gave us a map and in about 10 minutes explained almost everything we needed to know about Rome! He then showed us our room- which was as good as what we had seen over internet. Can't tell how relieved and happy we were! The room was good-sized, extremely clean and nicely decorated. The bathroom was big, shower was great and again, very clean. The room was well equipped with a mini fridge, safe and other essentials.

Chroma is situated in a very convenient location. It is very close to Manzoni Metro station (which makes almost every important part of Rome within your reach), and at walking distance from major tourist spots. There are some good restaurants nearby, so food was never a problem. The neighbourhood is very safe and we were given our own set of keys so that we could move in and out whenever we wanted.

Chroma has met all our expectations and gone beyond. It is a perfect little no-frills B&B - it doesn't have a lounge or a common area, but we didnt go to Rome to sit in a hotel lounge. If you want to station yourself in a stylish pad in the heart of Rome, this is where I recommend you stay. A note about breakfast though- tell them about your breakfast preferences beforehand. They do not serve hot items but what they serve keeps you going for the day.

Many thanks to Chroma team for taking such good care of us and making our stay in Rome comfortable. Wish them the best in their future endevours.

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TheTravelPlanner2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2009

This hotel is located in a residential building in a prime location within walking distance from Termini. There are a lot of nice cafes and restaurants close by. The rooms are very modern contemporary with an awesome high pressure shower head that feels like rain.
I would recommend this hotel for it's location, price, and personalize service. There are only a few rooms with this place and all rooms have an electronic card as a room key.
Jerson and GianCarlo are very friendly and are very accommodating.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ciaobello4u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2009

This hotel is actually more of an apartment place. It will be hard to find as there isn't any signage depiciting it as Chroma Hotel (you will have to rely on your taxi to be knowledgeable enough to find it). It is well situated in a nice neighborhood. Termini Station is about a 10 minute walk. You can walk to the Colosseaum, but it is a long walk (about 20 minutes). The neighborhood has plenty of restaurants, gelato stores and we found a grocery store near by as well.
The rooms are spacious for Europe standards and they are nicely decorated. We happen have the Emerald Room and I must say what I liked best was the bathroom. Although I didn't like the square shower head that sprays water all over you, so if you're trying to avoid wetting your hair, let's say it will be challenging. The beds are big, but the sofa bed is not comfortable, no matter what they tell you over the phone or the website. Once inside the actual Chroma hotel you will see it is very small. It's basically a foyer with the rooms around it as an L. Before you enter you have to climb a floor and the elevator is the smallest elevator I have ever seen. Only one suitcase will fit and you will fit if you are under 115 pounds. Do not expect to see a lobby; it's basically a desk with the person that takes care of everything (it's a one-man show) from checking you in to serving you the coffee in the morning. I think the same person cleans your room too. There is also a small porch where they serve you breakfast every morning. The breakfast selection was well varied (fruit, cereal, yogurt, pastries, milk, juice, coffee- no OJ though or hot items). I did wish they offered regular bread that you can toast in a toaster with butter, but what they had instead was already mini toasted bread that was individually packaged.
As far as the service goes, it was friendly and accommodating. Although, sometimes the attendant was not at his/her desk when we needed to talk to someone. FYI- their english was not that great. They understand the basics. If you like your privacy, do not get the Emerald room since the desk of attendant is right in front and he or she can hear everything that goes on in your room.
Do not expect to find any amenities/services that regular hotels offer; but honestly you won't miss them much if you will be out all day exploring Rome/Italy. Chroma basically offers a nice clean room with breakfast and internet ( you do have to pay extra for internet access). The only thing they provide is baggage storage, which sometimes means leaving your suitcases in the middle of the hallway where other patrons can have access to them. Make sure you take a lock with you.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank vampiresa05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews