We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Dampened our stay in Rome poor excuse of a hotel!!!”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of B&B Emanuela

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
B&B Emanuela
Ranked #1,468 of 3,758 Rome B&B and Inns
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Dampened our stay in Rome poor excuse of a hotel!!!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 October 2011

Booked this via a recommendation (learnt my lesson there) rooms seemed clean, that's all this hotel has to offer.....now let me begin booked this thru email and reserved by paying a deposit thru paypal, 90 euros..communicating with this hotel via email was a ball acher but gave them benefit of the doubt due to language etc...also reserved shuttle service via them so thought great, get of the plane get there chill for a bit then site see. Not to be taxi not waiting at airport resulted in making calls to hotel, they had no idea who I was at first then just said "give me 5 mins ok?" and put phone down...were they going to call me back or was I to call them back???? surprise surprise I call them back explained we were waiting for taxi tried to explain who I was felt like I was getting no where, The woman on the other end just said let me call the travel agents and find out then abruptly put the phone down again...five minutes later hoorah guy with my name on placard so at last we thought we was getting somewhere. Got to taxi and driver shows us the reservation and price and stands waiting for fee before leaving. So we pay him and I have to say been on roller coasters in Florida and felt safer (but that's another story) whilst on way to hotel I received a text from the hotel saying "Theres not a shuttle service I call them I suggest you white taxi of Roma standard price €40.00!" to which I reply "We have just been picked up by the company you reserved for us when we reserved our accommodation thank you!" (bad vibes by this time) so we arrive at the hotel first impressions from the outside was hmmmm!!! very compact street and surrounding area looked rough. We called the intercom and was let in via the large double doors, the inside of the entrance area looked quite quaint and quite big so had the tardis effect, from the outside. so up to the second floor with one on lift with cases and the rest of us take stairs to second floor. So we were greeted by Joi in the reception area who wasn't the owner by the way that was Fillipo who we directly booked with, He was friendly went thru all the reservation and passport process explained that one of rooms was still being cleaned but other one was ready which was fair enough it was still the morning. Then asked if we were going to pay them now so we were about to get the credit card out and its, oh no cant pay by card we don't have that facility, we were never notified of this by the illusive owner, so we just explained we will pay later but he didn't seem keen on that idea but we didn't have the cash at hand so it was a case of tough you will have to wait and get paid when we leave like most hotels do. So he explained again about room being cleaned but how one room was ready for us to leave our cases in etc, before going to that room we asked if the room that was ready was the double room or the twin,,,to which he replied "why did you want a twin room?" ermm yes check the reservation email, (bad vibes) so the room was being sorted out and converted to a twin room as we waited in the double room so that ordeal was soon dealt with, and then we get told that because of the gas inspection they have had a banning order and cannot provide breakfast so we would have to go to another hotel for breakfast which was allegedly 100 metres away (bad vibes) but we thought 100 metres down the road is not bad not ideal but not bad.....so the twin room was finally sorted, then we went out for a walk to Colosseum saw the fantastic site came back had a siesta as it had been a long day of travel...woke up in the evening ready to go out for a meal...shower time...SHOWER WAS BY NO WAY HOT OR EVEN POWERFUL!!! it was luke warm that's it.at first i was thinking maybe its because its turned dark and it was down to solar powered heating but no that was the best temperature of the shower during our stay that had done it for me, 90 euros a night am sorry but I been to campsites with better facilities than this....so morning arrives and Joi or Joy the receptionist is waiting for us so he can take us to the other hotel for breakfast....you know the hotel that was 100 metres away...only it wasnt 100 metres away it was a 10 minute walk, my sister at this point told him that she wasnt happy with this, none of us were again 90 euros a night for this.
At this point he had gone quiet, showed us to our table which was in a conservatory, the breakfast was ok, egg and cheese with nice coffee and some buns so that softened the blow a bit. The next morning there was a Spanish couple waiting to go for breakfast and from the previous comment they also had been put in the room which was marked Privado, they were following us to the breakfast venue and it was quite a cold morning too, we saw Joi walking to our hotel, he decided to guide us again as the Spanish couple were with us, My sister and brother in law approached him again and it this point we wanted to speak to the owner Fillipo about some kind of discount just to compensate for our inconvenience, Joi was reluctant to ask him because we also wanted to make sure we had our taxi service back to the airport. Anyway breakfast number 2, as i mentioned it was a cold morning so we had the doors shut for us by Joi as we didn't want to eat in the cold early hours nor did we want cold coffee, but the woman who catered the breakfast had different ideas when we shut the doors again she came back and opened them so my bro in law who spoke some Italian, explained why we wanted the door shut, she pulled a face muttered under her breath and closed it, we were now put off by this as to which we weren't going to go back their for breakfast, when leaving this place she saw us walk out and had a face that probably scare the statues around St Peters square.The next morning we approached Joi again and asked to speak to Fillipo and also to get a taxi booked, Joi just wanted our flight details and we would get a taxi for same price return €43.00 and then there was the case of the discount for the poor breakfast service, at this point Joi said there's nothing I can do and it wouldn't be appropriate to speak to Fillipo as the other guests had to pay, if the other guests didn't want to complain that's there choice at first he said he spoke to Fillipo only to contradict himself later in same conversation. The bill was settled that day also as we were leaving the next morning we also made our own breakfast. So the final morning had arrived, 6:45 am we woke up to a note under the door confirming the taxi was booked and would be picking us up at 7:45 am and priced at €60.00 unlike the price of €43.00 which we paid on arrival and was quoted too by Joi), Best regards Fillipo, so Fillipo had been but decided to show his face in unearthly hours probably to avoid us. This was this morning by the way and felt the need to write this asap. So whilst we were outside waiting for our taxi Joi was walking up the street, he asked us if Fillipo had seen us and we said no and explained about the note under the door, he stood their expecting a tip, if the taxi didn't arrive he would have been stood their a while. Just like to add that the rooms are close to each other you can hear music and talking from other rooms our room was bang outside the reception area so you can hear all the talking in the morning, and the receptionist is only there in the morning there's no one to see after that so if you needed assistance for a cab or something there was no one there to ask in the afternoon/evening, was the worst place i had stopped in by far and this is the first travel review, it sickens me to think that people get away with this service, this owner had 720 euro s out of our stay there, and we were ripped off in our opinion, no hot water no breakfast unless you walked to another hotel no coffee facilities not even a microwave. I would not recommend this to anyone the location was also poor too not much around apart from G Fassi ice cream factory. I feel that strongly about this that I will be writing to Filipo also and will be posting negative reviews on other forums. So verdict, DONT STAY HERE END OFF!!!

Room Tip: Try another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Stephen2471
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

67 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    14
    24
    16
    8
    5
See reviews for
14
20
4
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Freiburg
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2011

I stayed at the B&B Emanuela for 5 nights in May. The only thing that's good about it is that it's not too far from the metro station Manzoni and therefore you can reach the city center quickly.
What's not good about it?
1) It's located near Piazza Vittorio (which is rather dirty and dangerous - you don't want to be walking around here alone at night or any other time of the day for that matter)
2) When we arrived there was no one there to open the door even though we had clearly communicated our arrival time via sms and email
3) At first no one was to be reached at any of the official telephone numbers.
4) Rooms are small and dusty. And instead of a double bed we had two beds moved together (which was not what they had advertised).
5) Around 7 in the morning it starts to be really loud because doors are very thin and the "reception" (if that is what you want to call it) is right next to the bedroom doors. Around seven the cleaning/administration lady arrives and starts talking really loud and making noise - there was no way we could continue sleeping. And since she doesn't speak neither English nor Italian well there was nothing we could do to change it.
6) Price variability and intransparence: There was an Italian couple who payed 40€ per night (half of what we payed) - I know this because the transaction took place right outside our room at 8am and was not to be overheard!!!
In conclusion I wouldn't stay there again!

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JuliaFreiburg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Rome hotels

Albacete
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2011

Although we booked 2 bedrooms for 4 persons and they confirmed their availability almost 3 months on advance, we received and e-mail 4 days before the trip informing that there was a problem with our reservation and they had only 1 quadruple bedroom for the first night, so finally we had to sleep in a quadruple 2 couple, and then we change to 2 bedrooms.
The B&b was very clean and the rooms spacious, the furniture is ok, not very old.
The rooms and bathrooms were never cleaned during the 4 nights that we stayed there although the floor was dirty. They did not change the towels and sheets none of the 4 days.
The person in charge of preparing the breakfast and cleaning the rooms begins the journey at 7.00h in the morning. ,everyday she made a lot of noise talking very loud by her mobile (the flat is small so the noise is heard in all the rooms) and the slams in the doors were continuous, we think that she did it intentionally to wake up all the guest and finish her job early…
The breakfast is very poor, there are not variety: bread, marmalade, butter, toast, croissants (not natural) and a cake (not natural and very dry), coffee and milk, not cacao, fruit , eggs or jam, and not possibility to toast the croissants or the bread.
The first day she heats the milk, but then you should did it by yourself and she gets angry if you ask how to use the cooker.
Personnel do not speak English very well , so it is very difficult to communicate with then or try to get some information about Rome or make a complaint.
We booked the shuttle from the airport through their web page, but we took almost 2 hours to arrive at the B&B because there were more people in the van of other accommodations placed in the opposite side of Rome.
The last day you can leave the luggage but in the “reception” (in the middle of the hall) without any vigilance.
The situation is good, you can go walking to the Coliseum, Saint María la Maggiore y San Giovanni, very near to Termini.
At night is a bit scary, the street is very dark and the ambient not very safe.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ManchegaAlbacete
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
england United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 May 2011

Now I'm not a snob in any shape or form and i'm always on the look out for a bargain. In rome there arent any bargains and hotels cost 150euros up, if you think its a bargain it probably isnt.
We booked through late rooms and took all our documentation with us (big tip have proof! of reservation and email Filllipo before you arrive to ensure someone is there to meet you).
We got there about 11ish, found the street Via Nino Bixio, found the large wooden doors walked up 4 flighst of stairs (there is a lift) and buzzed in, met by 'Christina' who spoke hardly any english. On arrival i gave my surname, she showed me a piece paper of reservations for that day and our name was NOT on this list. She preceded to phone several people, (i presume Fillipo), shouted quite loudly and 'NO room', i was not happy, she also said 'Fillipo sleeping' and ushered us into a TINY room marker 'Privado'. all the other rooms had numbers. i did not argue and just settled as i wanted to start sightseeing as time was of the essence, and she wouldnt have understood me.

i had to then email fillipo on my blackberry to ask what had happened to the reservation and complain about the size of the room. He assured me he had the reservation booked and would move us in the morning. i expect he had overbooked and had overlooked our reservation.
This holding room was minging!!! hairs and body hair all over the floor i had to wipe the floor clean, the sheets seemed to have hair all over them, drains in the bathroom smelled.
Anyway we got our head down for the night and we did get moved in the morning to a much bigger room with 2 single bed and double bed in.The bathroom was small and there is a faint smell of drains but we were happier with this room, ear plugs were needed.

Breakfast: was a glass of red grapefruit juice, vacumed pack croissant, vacumed packed melba toast and we were offered a stale bread roll and a cup of coffee.
needless to say we didnt have breakfast there for the rest of our stay, we went to local patisserie which is near the emanual park.

For the next 3 days and nights we did not see any staff nor guests!! Each night the main door buzzer would go off about 2am in the morning, maybe somebody drunk trying to get in or ringing all the doorbells just to gain entry to the block of flats.

on our check out, we left the luggage in the b and b, which was left in front of the reception booth, not secured but we didnt have a choice.
Then Christina tried to charge us again for the cost of the room for 3 nights, but i had already paid by mastercard with Late rooms, glad i took proof of purchase. All i had to then pay for was the 2euro a night tax.

We stayed out in Rome mainly all day and night to enjoy the experience and try not to stay in the b and b.

It is situated in a not so pleasant area of Rome, graffiti on walls, beggars on streets, beggars sleeping rough at night, lots of other foreigners there with local shops etc.
The are not many places to eat out and i wouldnt want to be out later than 9pm on the streets, and i went with my burly husband and still felt intimidated.
10 minute walk from termini station, metros and buses close by.

certainly recomend Roma pass, 25 euros bought at airport, free entry to metros/buses for 3 days, free entry to Colloseum and roman forum (id recomend the headphones you can buy inside approx 6 euros) and discounted prices on all other monuments after you first two free entries.

Average price of lunch 15euros each, main and glass of wine. Tea/Dinner approx 30 euros each starter, dinner, glass of wine. Rome is not cheap.

Good pair of walking shoes needed, from B and B 20 min walk to colloseum and then walk onto trevi, campo de fiori. i would recomend walk everywhere, take metro for longer looking walks to attractions. was close to some of the bigar churches whcih are equally as amazing as St peters bascilla

im not a moaner, just dont like getting messed around and body hair on the floosr/ bedding. i hope this was just an isolated case.
based on the above i would not recomend this place for couples, girls on their own and people who have average standards like me

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Suzybare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 March 2011

Stayed here with my partner in Feb 2011 for 3 nights. The room was large and clean, the bathroom was also clean. Had a tv but all foreign channels. Within walking distance of the train station about 5 to 10 minutes walk. If you like walking its about 30 minutes walk to the Colusseum, then you can make you way around Rome looking at the rest of the sites. Enjoyed our stay, the receptionist was friendly. Basic continental breakfast, but needed the coffee for the energy because we walked miles! Rome is an amazing place, and this was a good cheap base, can't fault it.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ronn_uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 November 2010

Stayed at the Bed and Breakfast Emanuela in rome for 3 night during October half-term with my 84 year old mother and 2 grown up daughters. There were very few reviews but we decided to take a chance. We booked 2 rooms through Laterooms.com, both of which were spotlessly clean and quite spacious. Our room would actually have slept the 4 of us, had 2 single bed and a double. Plenty of space for clothes, clean towels and bed linen. Rooms were cleaned every day. They also had a TV.

They also arranged airport transfers which worked out the same price as getting the train as there was 4 of us. We were picked up on time and a very nice lady was there to meet us on arrival. The breakfast was adequate, the usual rolls, jam, eggs etc with fresh coffee or tea. You could also use the kitchen to make tea, sandwiches and could put your own stuff in the fridge if you wanted. The staff don't speak very good English but my Italian is rubbish and we managed to understand each.

The situation is great, about 30 minute walk to Trevi and 20 minutes to the Collosseum/forem. It is also 2 minutes from the metro on the red line which goes direct to trevi and the vatican.

Overall it was just what we wanted - great price, well located and very clean. I would highly recommended this accommodation.

  • Stayed October 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sedgelondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chania Town, Greece
Level Contributor
71 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2010

nice and warm environment...I stayed there for 4 days and I really liked it!the room was big and convenient.the location very good...just 10-15 min walk from colloseum and 5 min walk from the metro...helpful and friendly staff...I LIKED IT!!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank p0pit0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Navona Colors Hotel
Navona Colors Hotel
#73 of 1,290 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 625 reviews
Esquilino
B&T Rooms
B&T Rooms
#2,593 of 3,758 in Rome
3.5 of 5 bubbles 86 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Artemide
Hotel Artemide
#9 of 1,290 in Rome
5.0 of 5 bubbles 6,464 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Esquilino
Hotel Continentale
Hotel Continentale
#371 of 1,290 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 397 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel des Artistes
Hotel des Artistes
#278 of 1,290 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,252 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to B&B Emanuela? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about B&B Emanuela

Property: B&B Emanuela
Address: Via Bixio 41, 00185 Rome, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Esquilino
Amenities:
Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1,468 of 3,758 B&Bs / Inns in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Studio Scivoletto S.r.l. , TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your B&B Emanuela reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bed And Breakfast Emanuela
b&b Emanuela Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing