We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We Loved It!”
Review of Julius Caesar B&B

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Julius Caesar B&B
Ranked #813 of 3,619 Rome B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
90 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“We Loved It!”
Reviewed 11 April 2012

Alice Jin, the proprietor of the Julius Caesar, is an absolute gem! Her B&B is immaculate and located about a five minute walk from the Vatican. The Ottoviano metro station is literally steps away. Alice is sweet and helpful and goes out of her way to assist you with any information you might require. We also had the use of a kitchen which made our stay more comfy and homey. I would recommend this B&B to anyone who visits Rome. I might even choose it over the Hassler Hotel! Thanks again Alice.

Jo van Doorn
Ottawa, Ontario
Canada

Room Tip: If a room with a private bathroom is not available, don't hesitate to book one with the shared b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jo v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

141 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    86
    41
    7
    5
    2
See reviews for
21
79
2
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Eindhoven, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviewed 23 November 2011

the B&B location is really great, as the owner Alice said just 5 minutes away from Vantican by walking, nice kitchen, room is clean, nice bathroom, Alice is a woman of her words, whatevery she promised, she does it or find help.
I chosed incedently this B&B, but next time if I go to Rome, will for sure chose it again.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank myysmulders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brownsville, Texas
Level Contributor
80 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 November 2011

Stayed at Julius Caesar B & B for almost 10 days and absolutely loved it. Great price, impeccably clean, great location close to the Vatican, surrounded by reasonably priced restaurants. Staff extremely helpful, especially Lorenzo. Would definitely recommend!

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Valentin R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
1 review
Reviewed 24 October 2011

We just came back from a 9-night stay at this B&B. First of all, I recommend that you book your room through their official website rather than a booking website (i.e. venere.com). Once you book your room, I agree with what everyone has mentioned, which is to e-mail the owner, Alice, to inform her of your estimated arrival time so she can greet and orient you. She was very prompt in responding back to me within 24 hours. When we met Alice, we immediately experienced her friendliness and energy. Her warmth made us feel completely welcome. Yes, it's on the 4th floor of the building and yes, the elevator is broken but it's not their fault. Everyone else in the back part of the building has to deal with it, too. Hopefully the contracted workers will fix it soon (or maybe it is right now as I'm writing this).

Location is perfect and steps away from the metro stop Ottaviano (Linea A) and only blocks away from several bus lines that can take you across town to all the major sites.

Our room was Rosa, the one closest to the front door, but far from the other 3 rooms. Pros: less noise from fellow B&B mates, window faced the quiet courtyard of the building, efficient air conditioning unit. Cons: hearing everyone coming and going which may bother light sleepers. Overall, we were lucky not to have anyone who was unusually noisy. We shared a bathroom with one other room and luckily never had major trouble waiting to use it.

Every morning, the housekeeper Whella impecabbly cleaned all the rooms. She is a sweetheart. She's the one who does the daily stocking of the kitchen, refilling the snacks in the bedroom, and scrubbing the bathrooms. She is an angel.

Towels and linens are replaced every 3 days. Eco-friendly. Bring your favorite shampoo/conditioner and body wash. Lots of local flavor nearby so walk around and explore.

We loved this place and would not hesitate to book again.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LoveBirds909
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 9 October 2011

My husband and I stayed at Julius Caesar for 3nights in September, we were warmly welcomed by the new owner Alice. We had arranged with Alice when we would arrive so she could show us our room and kitchen. We stayed in the en-suite room, which was large and comfortable.The shower was great and the bed was very comfortable. The room and en-suite were both very clean, with nice fresh bedclothes.
The location was great as well, just beside the metro and short wait to the Vatican. Was so pleased with Julius Caesar and also very well priced. Would go back again!!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hettie78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cayman Islands
Level Contributor
29 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 September 2011

My friend and I stayed at Julius Caesar, Rome for 3 nights in September 2011. It was the last leg of our 2-week stay in Italy so we were extremely exhausted when we arrived and hoped we had made a good hotel selection. The hotel is in the perfect location, just steps from the metro station, on a main road near the Vatican that boasts shopping and restaurants. You enter a door that takes you inside a courtyard to what appears to be several apartment buildings. This hotel is in the 2nd building. Unfortunately the elevator didn't work and we had heavy luggage. My friend found the lovely Alice upstairs who had a very nice and strong gentleman take our luggage up the 5 flights of stairs for us. There are 4 rooms in this B&B, ours was called Margherita. It was beautiful and rather large for Italy with a private bathroom and private balcony. We had full access to the kitchen which houses facilities for coffee and tea. The fridge is always stocked with milk and juice. Every morning a staff member is there to assist as needed. Our room was cleaned daily. We had a very early flight on the day of our departure and Alice arranged for a taxi to meet us at the door at 5:45am - our driver, Fabian, was wonderful and not only helped us with our luggage but also gave us a private tour of last minute Rome sites on the way to the airport. We would definitely stay here again. Thank you Alice and staff for making our stay most enjoyable!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GrandCayman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 September 2011

First thing to say is that there must be new management, as the place was run by a woman named Alice and her husband, rather than the Ivan and Lorenzo people have referred to below.

We had arranged our arrival time in advance, and the owners were there to meet us at 9 pm. Our room was great, plenty of space, newly decorated with a big en suite bathroom. The rooms (4) are in an apartment on the fourth floor and the lift was broken during our stay. They were very apologetic and helped carry our baggage on arrival departure, and we understand that these things happen. We could hear some noise from the other rooms occassionally, but just chatting, and never too late at night.

Breakfast is brioche, cereal, yoghurt, juice, coffee etc and Wella comes in every morning to help with breakfast and clean the rooms. She is lovely, and speaks very good English so if you have any questions about transport etc, she is the person to ask.

There are lots of bars, restaurants etc close by. Some of them are very tourist due to the location beside Vatican, but we ate in five different restaurants within a ten minute walk, and all were very good. Go to somewhere recommened by a guidebook or trip advisor if you are not sure.

The location was great, right next to the metro and five minutes walk to Vatican. Walking to the centre takes about 30 minutes if you prefer to walk.

Room Tip: We were in the Margherita room, which was a spacious, newly decorated en suite, with a balcony overl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank junebug073
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Prati
B&B Giulio Cesare
B&B Giulio Cesare
#1,160 of 3,619 in Rome
5.0 of 5 bubbles 36 reviews
Prati
Federici Guest House
Federici Guest House
#363 of 3,619 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 199 reviews
Prati
B&B A Casa Di Al & Ga
B&B A Casa Di Al & Ga
#726 of 3,619 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 74 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Prati
Gli Artisti Bed & Breakfast
Prati
B&B Gaius Roma
B&B Gaius Roma
#1,273 of 3,619 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 70 reviews
Prati
Home 103
Home 103
#482 of 3,619 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 45 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Julius Caesar B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Julius Caesar B&B

Property: Julius Caesar B&B
Address: Viale Giulio Cesare 183, 00192 Rome, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Prati
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #813 of 3,619 B&Bs / Inns in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Julius Caesar B&B is conveniently located at the heart of Rome city centre in a historic building 20metres away from the Line A underground stop of Ottaviano and only 100metres from the magnificent Saint Peter’s Church. Our B&B offers four comfortable and practical large rooms tastefully furnished. Lorenzo and Ivan will be happy to provide you with all the assistance and information on the wonders of Rome as well as the various cultural and leisure itineraries that this amazing city can offer! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Odigeo, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Julius Caesar B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Julius Caesar Bed And Breakfast
Julius Caesar Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing