We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Vatican
Nearby Hotels
Hotel Artemide(Rome)
US$319
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$268
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$203
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$365
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$269
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$234
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$172
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
Hotel Colosseum(Rome)
US$184
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$168
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$383
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$277
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
iQ Hotel Roma(Rome)
US$391
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$350
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
Hotel Diocleziano(Rome)
US$284
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$235
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$939
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$428
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$429
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$408
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (244)
Filter reviews
244 results
Traveller rating
151
59
15
13
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
151
59
15
13
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssistine chapelskip the lineaudio guideraphael roomsreligious significancetickets online ahead of timest peter's basillicabooked ticketpaintings and sculpturesavoid the queuesbuy ticketsrome tripbeautiful cityroman forumtrevi fountainspanish stepspope
Filter
Updating list...
170 - 175 of 244 reviews
Reviewed 2 October 2013

To visit the Vatican was a big disapointing experience. Sure it's massive and impressive and lots of fantastic art, but the chaos inside really ruins it all. We where there early october, but even then you walk in a line of people though the museum. Really no chance to stop and take in the amizing art in there. And when you reach the famous chapel, the place is so packed, you hardly can make your way to the exit.
It's not anybodys fault that so many people wants to see it, but if you go there, be prepared, and be sure you have the full days, and a LOT of patience.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
1  Thank SveinBjorge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2013

I had a horrible tour guide when I was in Rome, he ruined the whole day. So from my bad experience I will tell you: You could spend a whole day in the Vatican to really look around and enjoy what you are seeing, don't go with a 1/2 day tour that is actually only a couple hours. You definitely want to purchase tickets ahead of time to skip the long line. Be prepared for huge crowds. Let people go by you, don't let them shove you a long. Please give yourself all day and that way you won't be in a hurry and be rushed through. If you can get a private tour that will let you spend all the time you want in a specific building that would be good, otherwise unless the tour promises all day at the Vatican skip the tour guide and go alone.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
4  Thank loves2laugh29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2013

I have visited the Vatican and it museum a number of times. Thus this time, I opted for something different. Thus, a backed a 2 hour guide tour of the Vatican gardens. Unfortunately, the only way to go inside the garden is by guide tour. However, on the other hand the guide give you some interesting information.

On the day, you need to make your way to the Vatican Museum. It is important to remember to skip the long queue outside, and head directly to the online booking queue which was extremely short. Then, you have to pass through the electronic security (airport style) and exchange your online voucher for the actual tickets. Also, important to note that before going inside the garden & before returning to the museum, the group will be counted.

In the garden, apart from different type of garden landscape, one gets to see various religious artifacts denoted to the Popes throughout the ages. Indeed very stunning is a replica of Lourdes cave, and quite unusual is a piece of the Berlin wall.

Apart from that, one gets to see the Vatican heliport, the Vatican radio and most of the administrative building where pointed out to us. Also stunning views of St.Peter's basilica.

I fulfilled two hour tour, which also allows you to visit the museum. All this for just 32 euro .... and you may end spending a whole day at the Vatican.

Just one word of advise. Although you are in an enclosed area, pay attention of cars & also you would be advised several times to remain with the group.

However, do go the museum is unique & is a most visit on it own right (possibly second onyl to the LOuvre museum in Paris, and the gardens are an added bonus!!!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank Valletta054
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2013

My family and I visited The Vatican , The Sistine Chapel and St Peter's Basilica on a very hot day in August. We had booked a tour for all three places prior to arriving with an amazingly interesting local guide to avoid the huge queues waiting to get into The Vatican City.

Our guide had been a lecturer at The University of Rome and was currently employed in some capacity by The Vatican. As a result we were able to move reasonably comfortably through the interior rooms and corridors as she knew the staff! This really gave our group of around 25 people an advantage which was great , especially due to the heat.

By the time we got to The Sistine Chapel we had been given plenty of information to enable us to appreciate the experience. We were also lucky enough to experience a blessing by a priest who entered the chapel for a short while.

We then moved on to St Peter's Basilica where our guide moved the group around effortlessly, giving us lots of interesting information.

Upon leaving, we walked through the square towards a gift shop. I have to say that this was the part of the tour that wasn't so good for me. This area was plagued by beggars who bothered people by constantly shaking their plastic cups at them. There were also numerous people trying to sell religious tat to any tourist that happened to glance their way.

All in all a wonderful experience even if, like us, you are not Catholic, or indeed particularly religious. Just the feel of being there is lovely, even in the crowds and heat!

Don't forget to wear comfortable footwear and appropriate clothing that covers the knees and shoulders. If you have mobility restrictions, you may have problems as the tour of all sites is on a variety of levels.

Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
2  Thank Pudding1linda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2013

Save lots of time reserving tickets online, the queue outside was very long and we just walked past and straight in. It takes a long time to get around when its packed...avoid 11am as its peak time...apparently just after lunch its much quietier! Amazing place, worth the visit!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Caro624
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews