We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of a kind”
Review of Vatican

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Rome
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Vatican
Ranked #372 of 1,256 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
81 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“One of a kind”
Reviewed 6 July 2014 via mobile

The Vatican is a one of a kind experience. Be sure to pay for a "skip the line" tour during peak travel season. The Vatican museum is great. St Peter's Basilica is one of a kind. Be sure to go down the stairwell left of the altar. It leads to the pope's crypts. Wow.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Muzzlepup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

191 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    120
    46
    11
    11
    3
See reviews for
47
74
8
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
41 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2014

The volume of people especially in the Sistine Chapel actually ruins the experience of such a holy and prestigious place. It is way too touristy. I'm sure this will never change. It is worth the trip to at least cross off your bucket list. Whatever you do buy tickets in advance. I went with a private tour guide hired through RomeinLimo she was the best and there is no way I could have made it through such an enormous place without her.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank IrenieS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
162 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2014

I'm not a very religious person but still went to check it out. The lines were incredible--never made it inside, some people waited 6-7 hrs. I didn't want to waste a day waiting in line but even if u don't make it inside, u can get great photos from outside and appreciate the grandeur of it all.
Still worth the visit to me!

Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank QueenFreak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chatham
Level Contributor
32 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2014

Skip the lines, it is worth it otherwise be in lines for hours. Really enjoyed the tour guide and all the info provided. So much to see and the beauty of the various sections is really over whelming. A must see for a Rome visit.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
Helpful?
Thank ChathamFoodlover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prague, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
52 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2014

Seeing all the people queueing made me wonder if there is a better way to visit Vatican city and to my "surprise" there is. Simply book your tickets online. The only problem we had, was to find the right entrance. For visiting the Vatican museum and Sistine chapel the entrance is on the "right" side of the Vatican city. Reserve enough time to get there and to wait for a bit (15 minutes). The museum is filled to the top with all different pieces of art, but after a short time (2 hours) you will be so overwhelmed that you could be easily dissapointed with the Sistine chapel. Be prepared for huge crowds. When leaving the Sistine chapel don't forget you can visit the St. Peter's and jumping the crowds once more.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Jiri B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
63 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2014

Visited in the days after the Cannnonisations and was a lovely experience. There are so many museums and things to see that it cant all be done in one day. We opted for the tours which included The Sistine Chapel, St. Peters Basillica, Raphaels Rooms, gallery of the geographical maps, Raphaels rooms and more. It was great to be guided through these galleries but DO make sure you get a properly working headset or it does spoil the tour. It gets VERY crowded and with visitors from all over the world (including several countries where aparently good manners are punnishable by death lol!) It can be quite frustrating so bring water to drink in hot weather and stay patient. DRESS CODE can also ruin the trip for some people so do make sure you have your knees and shoulders covered. Hair can be ledt uncovered though. BEING PREPARED is a huge help and I would recommend pre-booking your entrance ticket (including queue jump) as there are thousands of people queueing for upto 4/5 hours on a daily basis.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank natalie c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Williston, Vermont
Level Contributor
73 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2014 via mobile

What an amazing site. The views are awesome. The history that surrounds this place is amazing. You will not be disappointed. We had a guide and were able to walk by a 2 block line and go right in. I recommend you buy tickets in advance and use a guild . Well worth it. Dress code no shorts and ladies need to cover shoulders.

Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank primmer777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Vatican / Borgo
Residenza Paolo VI
Residenza Paolo VI
#126 of 1,256 in Rome
450 reviews
Vatican / Borgo
Vatican View
Vatican View
#35 of 1,256 in Rome
718 reviews
Vatican / Borgo
Palazzo Cardinal Cesi
Palazzo Cardinal Cesi
#361 of 1,256 in Rome
391 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Heart Hotel
#80 of 1,256 in Rome
455 reviews
Vatican / Borgo
Hotel della Conciliazione
Hotel della Conciliazione
#61 of 1,256 in Rome
607 reviews
Vatican / Borgo
Hotel Columbus
Hotel Columbus
#601 of 1,256 in Rome
787 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vatican? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vatican

Property: Vatican
Address: Via Crescenzio 78, 193 Rome, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Prati
Hotel Style:
Ranked #372 of 1,256 Hotels in Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing