We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful ”
Review of Vatican

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Rome
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Vatican
Ranked #335 of 1,271 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 August 2014 via mobile

The Vatican is a must see for any one in Rome. We visited on a day the pope was giving a speech to children so the area was packed. You couldn't move in certain parts. We bought a skip the line ticket which was well worth the extra money. Be sure to go to St Peter's Basillica. Our ticket allowed us to skip the queue but on exiting the Vatican museum we were ushered a different direction and we missed St Peter's Basillica. Bring a cover for your shoulders and arms as you cannot enter the Sistine chapel with out. Expect crowds through out your tour of the museums and a lot of walking.

Stayed: August 2014
1  Thank JacGalway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (225)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

139 - 145 of 225 reviews

Reviewed 18 July 2014 via mobile

-I saw that there were 3 openings for entering the vatican and one had the huge line up but the middle line was empty and you could enter in with an online ticket...I went in with the tour where you pay extra for people who help you skip the line
-it was ok to take those "skip the line people" as it was quicker but - still had to take 1 hour to enter in

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Thank Mavilous
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2014 via mobile

The Vatican is a one of a kind experience. Be sure to pay for a "skip the line" tour during peak travel season. The Vatican museum is great. St Peter's Basilica is one of a kind. Be sure to go down the stairwell left of the altar. It leads to the pope's crypts. Wow.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Muzzlepup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2014

The volume of people especially in the Sistine Chapel actually ruins the experience of such a holy and prestigious place. It is way too touristy. I'm sure this will never change. It is worth the trip to at least cross off your bucket list. Whatever you do buy tickets in advance. I went with a private tour guide hired through RomeinLimo she was the best and there is no way I could have made it through such an enormous place without her.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Irenie19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2014

I'm not a very religious person but still went to check it out. The lines were incredible--never made it inside, some people waited 6-7 hrs. I didn't want to waste a day waiting in line but even if u don't make it inside, u can get great photos from outside and appreciate the grandeur of it all.
Still worth the visit to me!

Stayed: August 2013, travelled solo
Thank QueenFreak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2014

Skip the lines, it is worth it otherwise be in lines for hours. Really enjoyed the tour guide and all the info provided. So much to see and the beauty of the various sections is really over whelming. A must see for a Rome visit.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
Thank ChathamFoodlover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2014

Seeing all the people queueing made me wonder if there is a better way to visit Vatican city and to my "surprise" there is. Simply book your tickets online. The only problem we had, was to find the right entrance. For visiting the Vatican museum and Sistine chapel the entrance is on the "right" side of the Vatican city. Reserve enough time to get there and to wait for a bit (15 minutes). The museum is filled to the top with all different pieces of art, but after a short time (2 hours) you will be so overwhelmed that you could be easily dissapointed with the Sistine chapel. Be prepared for huge crowds. When leaving the Sistine chapel don't forget you can visit the St. Peter's and jumping the crowds once more.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Jiri B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Vatican / Borgo
Vatican View
Vatican View
#40 of 1,271 in Rome
772 reviews
Prati
Atlante Garden Hotel
Atlante Garden Hotel
#407 of 1,271 in Rome
1,013 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Prati
Hotel Dei Consoli
Hotel Dei Consoli
#489 of 1,271 in Rome
803 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Canada, BW Premier Collection
Monti
Hotel Raffaello
Hotel Raffaello
#84 of 1,271 in Rome
2,541 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vatican? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vatican

Address: Via Crescenzio 78, 193 Rome, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Prati
Hotel Style:
Ranked #335 of 1,271 Hotels in Rome
Price Range: £132 - £152 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing