We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Totally enjoyed it!”
Review of Clotilde

Clotilde
Reserve with
Save up to 20% when you reserve online *
Clotilde is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #1,976 of 13,551 Restaurants in Rome
Neighbourhood: Campo Marzio
Restaurant details
Neighbourhood: Campo Marzio
Reviewed 9 September 2017

Went to Clotilde with my wife at the suggestion of our hotel concierge. We had delightful meal! We were seated outside on a nice evening. I had the Cannelloni stuffed with meat and cheese, which was terrific. I also had the beef carpaccio , which was excellent. My wife enjoyed her pasta, as well. The service was very good. Only complaint was that the wine (by the glass) I was served had clearly been open for a while. I should have said something, but I am too polite! I'm sure they would have done something about it. The tiramisu we had for dessert was average at best. Other than those things, a lovely evening.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank cramsay1992
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
maramao85, Direttore at Clotilde, responded to this reviewResponded 14 September 2017
Google Translation

Grazie mille per la sua Esperienza da Clotilde . Un saluto da Roma

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (139)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

25 - 29 of 139 reviews

Reviewed 6 August 2017

Let me tell you about a place I had one of the most wonderful experience in the culinary world.
I had the chance to experience a very special meal in such a spectacular, cozy and at the same time professional restaurant hidden in the core of Rome.
I am talking about one of the best for me, because it is not just about the cure and the right treatment they do making delicious and spot on food, (I am seriously talking about the dishes they make such as, the right textures, the right combination of flavors, the prime quality food ingredients and the stunning presentations)
it is also the amazing experience you will go trough, thanks to the delightful staff in there, ready to spoiled and cuddled you from the time you step in to the time you step out, and last but not least, the spectacular environment the restaurant offer in the inside, an architecture and furnishings made out of magic and elegance.
What I really enjoyed most was the way they introduced me a beautiful beverage selection in order to enjoy as best as I can the stunning food, while the chef is walking in the restaurant, table after table making sure that all the costumers are happy and satisfied and also revealing what genuine and perfect ingredients he puts in his incredible dishes, related to traditional Roman cuisine.
If I were you, I would not think twice and get ready for one of the best food experience you can hit in the fascinating and romantic Rome.

Thank GianCPH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AssistClienti, Direttore at Clotilde, responded to this reviewResponded 23 October 2017
Google Translation

Salve
Tutto lo Staff , la ringrazia per le belle parole spese sulla sua esperienza da noi.
Buona Giornata
LA DIREZIONE

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2017 via mobile

Concierge highly recommended but what a huge let down. Pasta was hard and undercooked with a pour out of can sauce with little flavor. Truffle pasta was okay but not as good as the paste at other locations. Service was average and didn't seem to care about the undercooked pasta dishes Don't waste your money

2  Thank HP_Texas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TripyourReview, Direttore at Clotilde, responded to this reviewResponded 22 September 2017

Dear HP_Texas

Thank you for spending your time to give us a straight and detailed feedback.
I think there are a number of cultural differences involved here as well as personal preferences.

Italian food in Italy is very different from Italian food in Usa, pasta is not cooked to a mush; it is cooked al dente, “to the tooth”, with some bite to it.
We like in this way because cooked "Al Dente" is Healthier.
Overcooked pasta has a higher glycemic index, not so easily digestible and stripes nutrients and taste away.
Our pasta is never smothered in sauce, and for sure it is not out of can because it's easier/cheaper/healthier making it everyday from fresh tomatoes.

My suggestion would be: You Tried it - you didn't like it? please do look for restaurants that are frequented by Tourists and that post their menus in five languages with pictures,
you might easily find food that tastes more like "home food".

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2017

On the last day of our break we were wandering around in the afternoon contemplating on where to go for dinner thinking we would consult the concierge at the hotel when we stumbled on Clotide.
Completely taken in by the position and style. Set in a small cobbled area surrounded by tall houses with outside tables dressed in proper linen,with elegant stylish interiors.
Booked on the spot by friendly staff. Menu covers all tastes wine list large enough and covers all pockets.
Food was first rate, service spot on with brilliant staff !
I highly recommend this restaurant and would go back to Rome just for Clotilde!!

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank 599bobthebuilder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
maramao85, Direttore at Clotilde, responded to this reviewResponded 14 September 2017
Google Translation

Grazie mille per la sua Esperienza da Clotilde . Un saluto da Roma

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2017 via mobile

Having stayed at the Hotel Adriano for another return visit , my wife and I were recommended this newly managed restaurant around the corner from the room
Our concierge Giovanni made the call and we attended the Clotilde

From stepping up to the entrance we were made as were all who entered to feel like we were all individually appreciated

The food, wine, service and whole ambiance was amazing

The quality of all was 110% top quality and will return again when back at the Hotel

Thank Splitty7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Clotilde? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing