We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Luxury accommodation in the heart of Rome” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mario de' Fiori 37

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Mario de' Fiori 37
Ranked #25 of 1,292 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Marlow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Luxury accommodation in the heart of Rome”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 November 2011

We stayed here for a week and having visited rome many times in the past we knew it was in an ideal location. We had done a lot of research and we finally decided on this. We weren't disappointed! The staff were very good and the rooms were amazing. Everything was immaculate, the bed was huge and very comfortable. Having your own nespresso machine was a bonus! Plenty of storage space, fabulous bathroom, great soundproofing, minibar, robes and slippers added an air of luxury. Whilst it wasn't cheap,it was well worth it! We would definitely consider it again for any future stay.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sukshf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

470 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    348
    105
    11
    5
    1
See reviews for
68
299
13
30
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Leawood, Kansas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 November 2011

This hotel is in a great location, can walk anywhere in central Rome. Lovely rooms with great service. The staff was very helpful. Very sleek, well appointed rooms with many restaurants within yards of front door. We will definitely stay there again!

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Dana B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greenwich, Connecticut
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 November 2011

I booked five rooms for my family and friends at this hotel near the Spanish Steps and we weren't disappointed at all. The location is fantastic and is on a charming street. Rooms are tastefully decorated and complete with windows to shut out the noise and light when needed. Leading up to the trip, the ladies I emailed with responded quickly and gave excellent recommendations when needed. I hope to return there soon.

Room Tip: Not all the rooms have showers so check before you book if that's important.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JDamico
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
118 reviews
114 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 310 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 October 2011

The hotel exceeded my expectations. Rooms are huge by any standard and ginormous by roman standard. The location could not be better in terms of shopping. I was concerned with previous reviews about noise but the room, at least the one I am in is quiet. Love the high ceiling, love the decor, very well thought out and the colour combo in the room is fantastic, very pleasing and could be quite romantic. Love the fact that the room is pitch pack when the window and curtains are closed which is very important to me as I like to sleep later, very late. Yes the elevator is really tiny but who cares? Someone takes care of the luggage anyway. The reception is very helpful and friendly. I also like their restaurant reccomendation. Unlike other hotels, they dont send you to tourist traps at all. Well i asked for suggestion and they recommended a place that i know for a fact that it is superb so i know they are not lying. I actually prefer this kind of intimate service to big hotels. I also never take breakfast so this doesn't bother me at all. Only complaint is that the pillow could be softer or I can at least choose to have a goose down pillow by request but all in all I am very pleasantly surprised by this place. It's a sanctuary in this otherwise every chaotic city.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank rubyyao
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 September 2011

We stayed at Mario de' Fiori 37 for three nights - it was the third stop of our honeymoon after Venice and Florence. The first thing that hits you is the location - really perfectly situated just minutes from the Spanish Steps in the heart of one of Rome's nicest neighborhoods. There's a plethora of shopping, restaurants and attractions within walking distance.

As for the hotel itself, it's a sort-of hidden gem. A discreet entry and basic lobby (coupled with a tiny elevator - take the stairs) is a prelude to rooms that have everything you need: quite contemporary in terms of appearance, but very comfortable. The layout may be a little quirky: our room had a large living/sleeping space, but the bathroom was split in two with a toilet and bidet in one room, and a shower and vanity in another. It defied logic slightly - putting the vanity in the same room as the toilet would work better - but shuttling between the two rooms was a minor inconvenience rather than a drama. In any case, the free wi-fi, air conditioning, blissful silence, Nespresso machine, and fantastic location made up for any foibles.

The service was good but not outstanding - then again, this isn't a regular hotel where staff are at your beck and call 24-7. As an example, however, we inquired about shipping some items home - while a top-notch hotel would not only investigate options but even take care of everything for you, the staff at Mario de' Fiori 37 first appeared to have forgotten and then merely showed us an ad in a local guidebook. We ended up having to investigate it ourselves and shuttling in taxis to and from Mail Boxes Etc. The best way to describe the service is that it's perfunctory, rather than eager to please.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ablcfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RomeLuxurySuites, Proprietario at Mario de' Fiori 37, responded to this review, 27 September 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review our boutique hotel Mario de' Fiori 37.

I was glad to see that you enjoyed our location, the decor and design of the rooms, and the ameneties we offer our guests.

I would like to take this opportunity to apologize for the courier incident. We are familiar with shipment procedures, and have helped many guests in the past on this front.

I have taken your point up with the staff. Apparently they thought you wanted to take care of the shipment directly.

We will make a greater effort to be more efficient and clear when providing information to our guests so that these misunderstandings don't happen again.

I hope you offer us the chance to demonstrate our normally high level of service on your next visit to Rome.

Your sincerely,

Alberto Moncada
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
39 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 September 2011

We stayed 4 nights in summer and loved the location and hotel. Double glassed windows and good aircon meant we didn't hear the commotion outside when we didn't want to and could recover after a very hot day of touristing. There is a small lift but you have 2 to 4 easy stairs to get into most rooms. The bathroom doors are semi-transparent which may not please everyone but in some rooms are not in direct view anyway. Internet connection is great and free - I was able to get some business done without problem (and the hotel can print stuff) before venturing out to see the sites.

Our room was big enough for 3 of us - a little squeezed but fine for recovery and sleeping. Also stay an earlier night in a smaller room which was a good size for 2 people but the hotel is an old "house" so the rooms are nice but aren't huge. Bigger rooms on the corner but these are over a restaurant: we found those on the side street may be a little quieter.

The desk staff all spoke great English and were very helpful with restaurant recommendations, etc. The other staff were also great.

If you would like a spot of shopping, the location is very central to all the great areas and brand names. The area appeared quite safe to us, then we were prepared too. A couple of good restaurants within 10 mins walk are Babette and Crispy 19. Get recommendations for others as you can pay a lot for food that is pretty average in the tourist areas (main piazzas, etc.).

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Xagas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Egypt
Level Contributor
142 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 September 2011

I honestly do not know where to begin and if I can give sufficient credit to the incredibly professional, courteous and efficient staff at the Mario de' Fiori 37, starting from the manager, Mr. Assem, and up to the housekeeping crew. Before addressing the staff, although they really set this establishment apart from the rest, I will talk about the hotel itself. Location could not be better - you are in the very midst of the heart of Rome, seconds from the Spanish Steps, minutes to the Pantheon, Navona, and Trevi Fountain, and just about every important piazza and street. The most exclusive shops are at your doorstep as well as an array of restaurants and eateries plus a pharmacy and a supermarket. Could you ask for more? The suites are impeccably clean, spacious, elegantly furnished and decorated, and equipped with all possible amenities that you could ask for, including a Nespresso machine with a wide selection of aromas that are replenished daily; not to mention a bucket of cold still and frizzy water in the lobby welcoming you in after walking the hot streets of Rome. The bathroom is of a good size and the toiletries are replenished daily and in handsome quantities. A contiental breakfast is included in the rate. Now, moving to the staff - and I will elaborate here to try to bring home how wonderful they are. We were originally staying at a great hotel but the location was not very good to my elderly mother and so we were roaming the streets of Rome late at night trying to find a more convenient location. We were so lucky to have stumbled across the Mario de' Fiori very late at night and were courteously and warmly greeted by Mr. Assem at their sister establishment Babuino 181. As the Mario De' Fiori is not manned at night, he asked his very polite and friendly assitant, Bernard, to escort us to one of the suites at the Babuino to give us an idea of what the rooms look like. We were impressed by the suite and more so by the reception we got from Mr. Assem and Bernard and decided to immediately book at the Mario De' Fiori. The following morning, and as we had not checked out yet of the original hotel, my husband and I took my mother to the Mario to see the rooms. After the tour, and despite the fact that we had already booked a particular room the night before, my mother liked a different one and the Mario staff were ever so kind and patient to let us change the booking. Not only did they do that, but it was the way in which they did it. They allowed us yet a second tour, and this time, the ever so professional Michela, who is a real gem, in a very elegant manner excused herself from the room to give us the freedom to decide in private. Simply wonderful! The room came with an extra sofa bed for my elderly mother but after the first two nights, she felt that her back hurt as the mattress was not too comfortable, and so she joined me and my husband on the king bed. We did not mention it to the staff as we felt they were really going out of their way to help. Despite that, my mother found that the entire sofa bed with the mattress were changed the following morning. How? The housekeeping crew noticed that she had not slept in the sofa bed the night before and gathered that she was not comfortable!! You would never find this at a big chain five star hotel and believe me, we are frequent travellers and stay mostly at five star hotels, but as Mr. Assem and the rest of the staff insist, the human touch and the personal relationship they establish with their clients is what matters most to them. They proved once and again that these are not just empty words. Just to show you how great they are, we had ordered lenses from Salzburg to be delivered to us in Rome but had given the old hotel address. Until the day of our departure, the lenses had not reached the old hotel. Superb Michela tracked down the shipment, located it at the Italian National Post and we reached an agreement with her and Mr. Assem for them to follow up with our original hotel, pick up the shipment upon arrival and fedex it to us in Nice, which was our next destination. Again, superb. They did pick it up, fedex it to us, and called us on our cell phone in Nice to update us on all the developments. Had it not been for them, we would have lost the lenses as shipment to our home destination would have been problematic and most probably impossible. We cannot thank the staff enough. So our gratitude and appreciation to the consummate professional and real gentleman Mr. Assem who sets the example to his staff, the great Michela, the wonderful Theodora who was extremely gracious and generous, full of helpful tips on where to eat, shop, have fun, and ensuring that our stay was as enjoyable as possible. Our thanks also goes to Marianna whom we did not get a chance to know as well as the others because she was on vacation during the majority of our stay, but who proved during our brief interactions to be very polite, professional and helpful. A big thanks also to housekeeping and to each and every person at Mario De' Fiori 37 for making us feel quite at home. We feel that we got to make new friends and not just stayed at a lovely hotel. When next in Rome, there is no shred of doubt in our minds that this is where we will be staying. We just hope that with their great service, they would not be fully booked for us to find a room there. We have already started recommending the hotel to our friends. What a real gem!!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Shakers_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Campo Marzio
The Inn At The Spanish Steps
Campo Marzio
Hotel Manfredi Suite in Rome
Trevi
Hotel Mancino 12
Hotel Mancino 12
#33 of 1,292 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 413 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Barocco Hotel
#16 of 1,292 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,758 reviews
Monti
Nerva Boutique Hotel
Nerva Boutique Hotel
#15 of 1,292 in Rome
5.0 of 5 bubbles 536 reviews
Campo Marzio
Condotti Hotel
Condotti Hotel
#88 of 1,292 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,151 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mario de' Fiori 37? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mario de' Fiori 37

Property: Mario de' Fiori 37
Address: Via Mario De' Fiori 37/b, 00187 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Campo Marzio
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#29 Romantic Hotel in Rome
#99 Business Hotel in Rome
#155 Family Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Mario de' Fiori 37 2*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Your cozy home in the heart of the city Walk through the door of this charming, 17th century townhouse and leave the tourist hustle and bustle behind. From the thoughtful touches to personalized recommendations, every aspect of your stay at Mario de' Fiori 37 reminds you that this is your home in Rome... One that's just a block from the Spanish Steps. With seven total rooms, your stay couldn't be more discreet in our luxury boutique hotel in the heart of Rome. Meanwhile, our helpful, attentive staff greets you like old friends and caters to your every wish. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mario de' Fiori 37 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mario De` Fiori 37 Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing