We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Real charm in the best possible location” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mario de' Fiori 37

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Mario de' Fiori 37
Ranked #24 of 1,292 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
London, UK
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Real charm in the best possible location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2014

We have just returned from a long weekend in Rome and really enjoyed the Mario de' Fiori 37. It is tucked up a narrow back street and exudes charm. All the staff members we met were very helpful and spoke very good English (much better than my Italian). They were happy to recommend dining options - and we struck gold on night 2 with Babette.
We had room 106 which I believe is described as a loft suite? I must confess that it was much more rustic than I had expected from the website photographs and not as slick as I had thought - but it was lovely in a different way and we were extremely comfortable there. The room has an interesting pitched wood ceiling and a micro-balcony overlooking perhaps the least picturesque but most atsmospheric internal courtyard.
The best bit about the hotel is the location. It is bang smack in the middle of so many of the iconic Roman sights and sites. Within easy walking distance of the Spanish steps, the Trevi fountain and the Piazza del Popolo, we actually walked much further afield and found the Colloseum, the Parthanon, the Forum and the Vatican all comfortably within easy reach on foot.
Both mornings we ordered breakfast to the room which arrived exactly on time. There was a good selection and plenty to eat.
There are lots of great bars and restaurants nearby - we particularly liked the fancy cocktail bar in the swanky Hotel Russie about 5 minutes away up Via Babuino.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TedLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

473 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    351
    105
    11
    5
    1
See reviews for
68
301
13
31
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 February 2014

The hotel is located in an excellent location, in a quiet street, not far from the Spanish steps. The limited staff are very friendly. My room (2) is a little tired. I was unable to control the heating system, consequently, the room was like a hothouse and I didn't sleep too well.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Aegis61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 December 2013

I must confess to being underwhelmed by this boutique hotel at first instance despite the central location. We had booked a standard room which turned out to be much smaller than anticipated. Furthermore, on the first day, our Nespresso machine did not work (but was replaced promptly)and the air-conditioning was out of order which meant that there was little air circulation in a small and stuffy room making it a very uncomfortable night.

When I lodged my complaint the next morning, Michaela and Benedicto offered us an upgrade to a junior suite during the rest of our stay. This room was much more spacious and comfortable. I was very impressed with the accommodating manner and efficiency in which they dealt with these issues and for this reason I would recommend this hotel.

This being said, the hotel is not recommended for the elderly or those in a wheelchair as despite having a lift, there are still steps to negotiate to get to the rooms.

Room Tip: For more space, go for the junior suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank May S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moscow, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 December 2013

Stayed in this Hotel in December. The location is just superb, the best it could be. Very clean and very helpful staff. The only critisism I can mention is their recommendation to visit a family run restaurant Edy (never go there) and to teach their housekeep to actually knock before entering..!:)Thank you.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Daria28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 November 2013

The hotel was very central to everything and in a great location. Staff were more than happy to help and gave us great reccomendations of places to go - the ROman notebook they provide is excellent and every place to went to was great.
We also were given a complimentary drink on the roof terrace of the sister hotel!
Would definatelty go back. We dodnt have breakfast included as there are too many other lovely places to try....

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Megan8271234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belmont, California
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 November 2013

We stayed in the Jr. Suite. It was spacious and had a great bathroom--which was luxurious and very well appointed. It was very quiet even though we were right above the street. Nespresso machine was a nice touch too. The only down side was the bed which was placed on an overly large platform which tripped us up several times. The location is superb--below the Spanish Steps but away from the crowds. Lots of street restaurants and shops around the area.

The people at the front desk were very helpful and friendly. Would highly recommend this hotel and we would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rosemary M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 November 2013

This hotel is amazing. We paid for the rooftop suite which was sooo much better even than the website makes out. It was huge and beautifully decorated, we stayed for 2 nights and the location couldn't be better, we went for a special occasion and the hotel made it even better. I don't feel the photos on the hotel website do the rooms justice. We got a free welcome drink at the sister hotel which was a lovely touch.

I will definitely be staying here again...perfect

Room Tip: Rooftop suite is worth it
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bootlacebecky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Campo Marzio
The Inn At The Spanish Steps
Campo Marzio
Hotel Manfredi Suite in Rome
Trevi
Hotel Mancino 12
Hotel Mancino 12
#33 of 1,292 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 414 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Monti
Nerva Boutique Hotel
Nerva Boutique Hotel
#15 of 1,292 in Rome
5.0 of 5 bubbles 537 reviews
Barocco Hotel
#16 of 1,292 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,762 reviews
Campo Marzio
Condotti Hotel
Condotti Hotel
#87 of 1,292 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,151 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mario de' Fiori 37? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mario de' Fiori 37

Property: Mario de' Fiori 37
Address: Via Mario De' Fiori 37/b, 00187 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Campo Marzio
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#29 Romantic Hotel in Rome
#99 Business Hotel in Rome
#155 Family Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Mario de' Fiori 37 2*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Your cozy home in the heart of the city Walk through the door of this charming, 17th century townhouse and leave the tourist hustle and bustle behind. From the thoughtful touches to personalized recommendations, every aspect of your stay at Mario de' Fiori 37 reminds you that this is your home in Rome... One that's just a block from the Spanish Steps. With seven total rooms, your stay couldn't be more discreet in our luxury boutique hotel in the heart of Rome. Meanwhile, our helpful, attentive staff greets you like old friends and caters to your every wish. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Mario de' Fiori 37 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mario De` Fiori 37 Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing