We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home away from home.”
Review of Frank's House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Frank's House
Ranked #448 of 3,640 Rome B&B and Inns
Toronto
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Home away from home.”
Reviewed 26 May 2013 via mobile

Staying at Frank's house was more like being a guest in his home than being at a hotel or bnb. The room was spacious and warm. The ensuite bathroom was stylish and functional and Frank was friendly and helpful. The price for such a convenient location was a bargain. I highly recommend.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tsmyers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

218 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    176
    35
    7
    0
    0
See reviews for
13
109
17
12
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 May 2013

My friend and I stayed at Frank's House for 4 nights, it's the best B&B experience I have ever had. The loft is cozy and clean with a well-equipped kitchen. We requested a cooking course of Italian food from Frank and Soledad in one of the evenings. They are so kind and patient to teach us how to make carbonara and tiramisu, and also introduced us the pre-drink and a bottle of nice red wine that goes well with the meals. We had dinner together, chatted and relaxed. I feel so lucky to find this B&B to stay, and definitely recommend it if you ever plan to visit Rome ;)

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NCTW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Paul, MN
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 April 2013

My wife and I stayed at Frank's House for 5 nights in April. Frank was great work work with to set up the stay. He arranged a car to pick us up at the airport, and return us for our flight home (totally worth it and highly recommended) and gave us a great overview of Rome when we arrived. Frank even walked us over to the TIM store to get us set up on Italian SIM cards for our iPhones and provided some great restaurant suggestions.

The guesthouse is located one subway stop from Termini (about a 10 minute walk) and is close to everything you want to see. 15 minute walk to the Colosseum, 20 minute walk to the Spanish Stairs.

The neighborhood is much more residential then tourist which we loved - and priced accordingly.

The room (we had the larger one with en-suite bathroom) was comfortable, roomy and had a great bathroom/shower. While it could get a little loud with street noise - we loved being able to open the large balcony windows and letting int he air. At night - the ac keep us comfortable.

If we find ourselves in Rome again - we will most definitely be staying here again!

Room Tip: Pay for the larger room with en-suite bathroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dkaplan76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Valletta, Malta
1 review
Reviewed 23 March 2013

I've stayed at Frank's House 3 times. Frank is a great host, always ready to offer advise on where to eat and what to see. The property is just a 5-10 minute walk from Termini station and 30 mins walk from other attractions.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark_Micallef79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 February 2013 via mobile

We spent our last vacation in Rome, and decided to stay at Frank's House. Honestly, the place looks much better than in the website photos, and is very clean, comfortable and cozy. It is also very well located close to Termini Station and the subway, but we could still reach most of the major tourist points by walking because it was pretty central as well. Besides the place, our hosts were very helpful and down to earth, and always available to answer our questions and make suggestions for different places to go eat without spending a lot of money. I'd say that if you follow their advice you'll really enjoy Rome as a local! Good value, great stay!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank RyanDav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 February 2013 via mobile

This was really a lovely little place with two incredible hosts. Frank and Soledad saw to all our needs, answered all our questions, and really just made our whole experience wonderful. The accommodation in the larger room was first class with very nice bedding and the bathroom was impeccably clean, not to mention that considering the prices in Rome this place was practically a steal. The breakfast wasn't included but they told us about some very nice bakeries close by, and for those prices who's complaining? We would highly reccomend it.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MMWright69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MI
Level Contributor
30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 February 2013

My wife and I stayed at Frank's house (room #1 with private bath) for two nights. Franks was VERY easy to communicate with in making the arrangements. He had a friend of his meet us at the apt. when we first arrived, which was very helpful. The room is large enough, very clean and well appointed. Like a nice hotel room really.Comfortable bed with extra soft sheets and fluffy pillows. It has windows overlooking the street, the heat works fine, the wifi is fast, the bathroom is clean. There is a lift in the building. The apt. is near a park away from the tourist area, but most everything in Rome is within walking distance. It is also about a 10 minute walk to the train station, which is good. Safe but not a fancy area. I kind of like being in a place that is mostly where people live instead of just vacation. Thanks Frank and Brendan for making our short trip to Rome so easy.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DavidMi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Hotel Napoleon
Hotel Napoleon
#72 of 1,256 in Rome
2,597 reviews
Esquilino
Taormina Hotel
Taormina Hotel
#397 of 1,256 in Rome
527 reviews
Esquilino
The Independent Hotel
The Independent Hotel
#35 of 1,256 in Rome
1,267 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Esquilino
Daysleeper B&B
Daysleeper B&B
#315 of 3,640 in Rome
144 reviews
Esquilino
Adelina Guesthouse
Adelina Guesthouse
#266 of 3,640 in Rome
43 reviews
Esquilino
Generator Hostel Rome
Generator Hostel Rome
#15 of 1,090 in Rome
157 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Frank's House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Frank's House

Property: Frank's House
Address: Via Lamarmora 11 | Piazza Vittorio Emanuele II, 00185 Rome, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Esquilino
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #448 of 3,640 B&Bs / Inns in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Frank's House is conveniently located in the heart of 18th Century Rome, right off the corner of one of Rome's main plazas, Piazza Vittorio Emanuele II. It's just a 5 minute walk from the central Train Station Termini, and the famed Basilica of Santa Maria Maggiore, and just a 15 minute passeggiata to the Roman Forum and Colosseum.The multi-ethnic neighborhood of Esquilino, in which it is located, is rich in both diversity and vibrant city life. Nearby mass transit stops, including the Metro and numerous bus and light-rail links, also make it an ideal and easy location to base your Roman Holiday. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and HostelWorld so you can book your Frank's House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing