We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location & Service”
Review of Frank's House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Frank's House
Ranked #489 of 3,734 Rome B&B and Inns
Reviewed 8 July 2013

My colleague and I stayed in the new Artist's Loft for 4 days while attending a conference. Great location to see the sights without paying high tourist prices. Frank was very attentive and helpful in response to our many questions! Despite not having cell phones, we were able to easily communicate with Frank via email, due to the great wireless in the Loft. He even made dinner reservations for us due to our utter lack of Italian.

The loft was beautiful and clean and is perfect for a couple or friends traveling together. The kitchen had all of the conveniences of home.

Room Tip: The Loft has a private bathroom en suite and a kitchen.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Melissa G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (219)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

46 - 52 of 219 reviews

Reviewed 19 June 2013 via mobile

This place is absolutely great! Rooms are very clean, equipped with everything you will ever need during your stay in Rome. Windows are on the opposite side from the street, so there is no nose from Roman traffic. Frank will prepare the full insight of the places you should visit during your stay, along with the tour map, and locations of the best bakery, gelatteria and restaurants nearby. My wife and I spent for wonderful days at this place, and will definitely come back on our next trip to Rome.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Aleksandar J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2013

Clean, comfortable room with a bathroom outside of the bedroom. What I didn't really understand prior to staying there is that you are actually staying in Frank's house... the foyer is shared. Two of the doors lead to bedrooms that he rents out, one door leads to his apartment, and the last door is the shared bathroom. Its a cool, different experience but nothing we had encountered before. Frank was very helpful on our first day and gave us a lot of cool recommendations, travel tips, safety tips, etc. The only negative thing I can say is that we are pretty sure that he accessed the room one day to turn off the air conditioning, which made us kind of uncomfortable. Regardless, it was a very good, clean, safe budget rental (€375 for 5 nights).

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank tdenten
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2013 via mobile

Staying at Frank's house was more like being a guest in his home than being at a hotel or bnb. The room was spacious and warm. The ensuite bathroom was stylish and functional and Frank was friendly and helpful. The price for such a convenient location was a bargain. I highly recommend.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tsmyers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2013

My friend and I stayed at Frank's House for 4 nights, it's the best B&B experience I have ever had. The loft is cozy and clean with a well-equipped kitchen. We requested a cooking course of Italian food from Frank and Soledad in one of the evenings. They are so kind and patient to teach us how to make carbonara and tiramisu, and also introduced us the pre-drink and a bottle of nice red wine that goes well with the meals. We had dinner together, chatted and relaxed. I feel so lucky to find this B&B to stay, and definitely recommend it if you ever plan to visit Rome ;)

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NCTW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2013

My wife and I stayed at Frank's House for 5 nights in April. Frank was great work work with to set up the stay. He arranged a car to pick us up at the airport, and return us for our flight home (totally worth it and highly recommended) and gave us a great overview of Rome when we arrived. Frank even walked us over to the TIM store to get us set up on Italian SIM cards for our iPhones and provided some great restaurant suggestions.

The guesthouse is located one subway stop from Termini (about a 10 minute walk) and is close to everything you want to see. 15 minute walk to the Colosseum, 20 minute walk to the Spanish Stairs.

The neighborhood is much more residential then tourist which we loved - and priced accordingly.

The room (we had the larger one with en-suite bathroom) was comfortable, roomy and had a great bathroom/shower. While it could get a little loud with street noise - we loved being able to open the large balcony windows and letting int he air. At night - the ac keep us comfortable.

If we find ourselves in Rome again - we will most definitely be staying here again!

Room Tip: Pay for the larger room with en-suite bathroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dkaplan76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2013

I've stayed at Frank's House 3 times. Frank is a great host, always ready to offer advise on where to eat and what to see. The property is just a 5-10 minute walk from Termini station and 30 mins walk from other attractions.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mark_Micallef79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Hotel Papa Germano
Hotel Papa Germano
#462 of 1,271 in Rome
297 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Artemide
Hotel Artemide
#7 of 1,271 in Rome
6,918 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Continentale
Hotel Continentale
#352 of 1,271 in Rome
434 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Domidea Hotel
#219 of 1,271 in Rome
661 reviews
Campo Marzio
Condotti Hotel
Condotti Hotel
#111 of 1,271 in Rome
1,228 reviews
Esquilino
B&T Rooms
B&T Rooms
#1,886 of 3,734 in Rome
92 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Frank's House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Frank's House

Address: Via Lamarmora 11 | Piazza Vittorio Emanuele II, 00185 Rome, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Esquilino
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #489 of 3,734 B&Bs / Inns in Rome
Price Range: £49 - £95 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Frank's House is conveniently located in the heart of 18th Century Rome, right off the corner of one of Rome's main plazas, Piazza Vittorio Emanuele II. It's just a 5 minute walk from the central Train Station Termini, and the famed Basilica of Santa Maria Maggiore, and just a 15 minute passeggiata to the Roman Forum and Colosseum.The multi-ethnic neighborhood of Esquilino, in which it is located, is rich in both diversity and vibrant city life. Nearby mass transit stops, including the Metro and numerous bus and light-rail links, also make it an ideal and easy location to base your Roman Holiday. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and HostelWorld so you can book your Frank's House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing