We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Piece of Heaven in Trastevere”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Trastevere Relais

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Trastevere Relais
Ranked #2,698 of 3,752 Rome B&B and Inns
Vilnius, Lithuania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A Piece of Heaven in Trastevere”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2011

We stayed in Trastevere Relais for two nights and were pleasantly surprised from the very first moment we stepped into this place. Originally decorated and stylish rooms full of wonderful interior ideas and extremely helpful and kind staff,- all of this exceeded our expectations. The owner of the apartment seems to be aware of how to make the stay of her guests unforgettable. We enjoyed the location as well, - Trastevere is the best place to stay if you are visiting Rome. It was a short stay in Rome, but Caterina's hospitality and this special place - Trastevere Relais - created a wonderful and unforgettable picture of Rome. Our best recommendations for everyone!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vaida M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

97 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    34
    29
    11
    15
    8
See reviews for
14
37
9
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Paris
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2011

Its my second trip to the Trastevere Relais - and this stay was even better than my last. The hotel is calm, spacious and very stylish. Its exteremly well situated on the main street in Trastevere only minutes away from the river.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dylantimetraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Monica, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2011

This is a nice little hotel. Stayed in Room 205- clean and modern, mini-fridge, flatscreen TV, wifi access in the room for a few € a day. Comfy bed and cold AC (the unit was a little loud, but white noise helps me sleep, so perfect for me). Small, but suitable for a solo traveler. The bathroom was spacious and spotless, and had a shower with those little hydro-jets poking out everywhere from the walls, which just delighted me and amplified my bathing scenario. Cool padded headboard and semi-goth chandelier. Awesome pizzeria on the street half a block away.
The breakfast, however, is just a pastry and cappuccino from the coffee shop down on the street... and if you show up hungover, be prepared to carry your luggage up 3 flights of stairs.
The staff is charming and helpful and attractive. I requested the same room when I came back thru Rome the next weekend and I was glad I returned.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CBW76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2011

Although the location was good I would not recommend this B&B as the female manager/owner has a big attitude problem. I booked in for six nights and not once were my towels changed. When I enquired I was told I could have a clean towel at a cost. I was not expecting them to be changed every day but at least once would have been nice. My shower was used on one occasion when I was out and I found blood on the floor and on a face towel when I returned. The manager was not around to complain to and the person on duty did not speak English. When I did get to speak to the manager she was downright rude. The breakfast at a local cafe left a lot to be desired and I'm sure the charge of 4% when paying with a car cannot be legal. I stayed in two other similarly priced hotels one in Rome and one in Amalfi where the staff were lovely and I received clean towels. I'm amazed that this woman can get away with such shoddy treatment of guests and I notice a number of other found her offensive also. Pity I didn't read those reviews before I booked as it was a most unpleasant welcome to rome.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Muqarnas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Rome hotels

Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 March 2011

Catarina, the owner, handled everything with grace. As Americans who booked a last minute trip to Italy, with almost no Italian language skills, the hotel was perfect. Catarina sent someone to pick us up at the airport, spent over an hour on the phone with Hertz changing our car rental reservation, and was brilliant with our 3.5 year old son. We will stay there again at the end of our seven week trip!

check out our travel blog at www SuchANiceLife dot com!

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BrianWPedder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 January 2011

We stayed at Trastevere Relais for 10 days in May and found this place the best. The hotel is in the walking distance from all major sites of the city. Good old Italian restaurants are near.The room was clean and comfortable. One of the good thing is you can have room keys and come and go whenever you want! So, we had night walks around the city! Breakfasts are simple but good! Caterina - the host - is a very helpful and kind person, who became a very good friend of ours. Next time we would stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AlexanderSiberian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
110 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 January 2011

I used to live in Rome, and know this area very well which is why I was so excited to book a room here - I wouldn't want to stay anywhere other than Trastevere, and this is pretty central Trastevere at a pretty reasonable price...
Unfortunately once I confirmed the booking I received a T&C document which kind of stunned me. No refunds were allowed under no conditions, and everything seemed to have an additional cost: late arrival, early arrival, internet, baggage deposit, late departure, etc. So be careful of this.
The photographs are accurate but the room - or, at least mine - was much smaller in reality than I thought it would be based on the photo. But it was just me, so it was fine. The room and furnishings were new and all in very good condition, but I can't possibly believe this is classified by someone as a 4-star place.
Caterina who runs it is really lovely. Unfortunately because I stayed over New Year's which was a holiday for everyone including staff, I didn't see her besides my arrival date. She knew this would be the case, and so I had to pay my room pretty much up-front, which was fine really. For the time she was there I found her to be very helpful, whether it was for a hotel restaurant or museum info.
There was no breakfast at all like depicted on her website. Instead we were given vouchers for a coffee, croissant and juice at the bar on the next street, which wasn't quite what I might've hoped for (the site gives a totally different impression).
I was there for New Years as I said, so my room wasn't cleaned over the holiday, but I guess I wasn't that surprised.
In the end as no one was around I left the keys on the reception desk and just left. Also, I think once again because no one was around, I was able to leave my bags for the afternoon at no charge...
Would I stay there again? Probably - after all it wasn't really that bad, the room and furnishings were new, the location is too good, and because I know Rome like my second home and I travel alone, it's fine. I just would make sure I would have no reason to be charged anything extra! But I wouldn't consider it ideal for anyone going on their first trip who wants to have that warm, welcoming feeling you get at some places.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank globetrotter1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Trastevere
Sonnino Suite B&B
Sonnino Suite B&B
#483 of 1,291 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 162 reviews
Trastevere
Hotel Domus Tiberina
Hotel Domus Tiberina
#498 of 1,291 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 246 reviews
Trastevere
Relais Rome Sweet Home Trastevere
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Trastevere
B&B Danilo Roma
B&B Danilo Roma
#356 of 3,752 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 133 reviews
Roma Trastevere Relais
#1,157 of 3,752 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 29 reviews
Trastevere
B&B Lost in Trastevere
B&B Lost in Trastevere
#631 of 3,752 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 51 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Trastevere Relais? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Trastevere Relais

Property: Trastevere Relais
Address: Via di San Crisogono 32 | (Piazza Sidney Sonnino Trastevere), 00153 Rome, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Trastevere
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2,698 of 3,752 B&Bs / Inns in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The B&B Trastevere Relais is in the very heart of the caratheristic area of Trastevere in Rome. The B&B Trastevere Relais is on the second floor of an ancient building of late ‘800. The property offers the comfort and the smartness of a five stars relais and is composed of five rooms: two double or twin bedded rooms, a single room with a confortable french bed, a suite with a rest room, a four bedded room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Agoda and HostelWorld so you can book your Trastevere Relais reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing