We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“what a disppointment!”
Review of Trastevere Relais

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Trastevere Relais
Ranked #2,642 of 3,617 Rome B&B and Inns
Meitar, Israel
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“what a disppointment!”
Reviewed 19 June 2010

1. We were charge extra 50EU for so called "late arrival" . No one advised us of this charge.
2. There was a problem with hot water and we had to shower with cold water some of the times.
3. Breakfast was served not within the building but in asmall coffee house, not continental but just some joghurt , a croissant and coffee that was always not hot enough.
4. We were moved from room to room: at the beginning we've recevied a room for 4 persons(!) and by the end of our stay we had a room so small that we had to put our luggage under the bed, simply for lack of space.
5. We went for a few days to Florence and were given a key to our room so we can use it upon return. And here the surprise - once we came back there were some other people staying in "our room".
NEVER AGAIN!

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank DoritM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

97 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    34
    29
    11
    15
    8
See reviews for
14
37
9
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Perth Western Australia
Level Contributor
49 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2010

Caterina's Bed & Breakfast is a comfortable and stylish B & B in a good location close to many of the historical sights of Rome. The initial impression when driving into Trastevere is daunting with graffiti on the shop fronts and the street may look unwelcoming. It seems to be typical of Rome. There is no visible sign on a door front, but ring the doorbell and Caterina will speak to you via the intercom. Whilst for most visitors the steps leading to the rooms looks old and unfriendly, you will be pleasantly surprised when the door of your room opens and all the comforts of home are there to greet you. A lovely bed, SKY TV - a fantastic shower cubicle complete with jets and sprays to play with. It's modern and crispy clean.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LeavemeinBali
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kansas City
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 March 2010

My first clue should have been the difficulty reserving 4 double rooms. I was told they were available, until the actual moment of booking , and then I was told 4 doubles were not available...I then had to book a quad...at the same price as 2 doubles....even though it was less space and less bathroom, The pricing made no sense but I booked it because I believed the website. Mistake.
8 of us stayed last week, the one quad room was as pictured but the 2 doubles we were booked into were on another floor in some women's apartment who rents our rooms. This was no B & B, or relais. There was no common space to congregate , as is mentioned on site. Breakfast is around the block in a coffee bar run by a guy who appears to want nothing to do with you, rude and unfriendly and quite frankly not very good pastries. The owner of the Relais, Catrine, was away for the weekend and left her business to an associate who spoke very little English which ordinarily would not be a problem except that Alice was not able to solve the problems with internet ( no access as stated on website) and I was told that I could have only 1 key for 4 people in a quad. She was very unhelpful and hostile when I insisted that I needed another key. In the end we had to leave our room unlocked, and work around her schedule one afternoon to be sure there was someone there to buzz us into the building. I could go on about how disappointed we all were but I won't . There are so many choices of places to stay in Rome. I would not stay here, although the neighborhood is fantastic, Catrina has much to learn about being in the hospitality business.

  • Stayed March 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank slo31260
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
iasi
1 review
Reviewed 23 March 2010

excelent position,nice rooms,good staff,very clean apartment! 10 for everything!

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dog100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City
1 review
Reviewed 7 March 2010

Went for a romantic week in Rome to celebrate our anniversary. Really enjoyed the breakfast downstairs in a local typical bar/restaurant. Really loved the location Trastevere: authentic and not too touristic. Manager of the B&B was extremely helpful, available to us and very well organized. Goes the extra mile!

Landry & Sofia

Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank LandryM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helsinki
1 review
Reviewed 7 December 2009

Great location and reasonable prices. Easy to reach all main sightseeings on foot.
Very helpful staff.

  • Stayed October 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tinde37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Odense
1 review
Reviewed 15 November 2009

We were highly satisfied with the partment, which was very big and nicely renovated.
And the hotel was situated in a very charming part of Rome close to everything.
The cleaning was also very satisfactory.
It would have been nice to be able to pay by creditcard, and also we would have liked the bathroom to have been provided with an extra roll of toilet paper. During our stay there were a few problems with the hot water.
But generally we were very happy with our stay at Relais.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mahaOdense
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Trastevere
Sonnino Suite B&B
Sonnino Suite B&B
#485 of 1,257 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 162 reviews
Trastevere
Hotel Domus Tiberina
Hotel Domus Tiberina
#510 of 1,257 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 252 reviews
Trastevere
Relais Rome Sweet Home Trastevere
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Trastevere
B&B Danilo Roma
B&B Danilo Roma
#405 of 3,617 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 133 reviews
Roma Trastevere Relais
#1,059 of 3,617 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 31 reviews
Trastevere
B&B Lost in Trastevere
B&B Lost in Trastevere
#740 of 3,617 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 53 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Trastevere Relais? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Trastevere Relais

Property: Trastevere Relais
Address: Via di San Crisogono 32 | (Piazza Sidney Sonnino Trastevere), 00153 Rome, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Trastevere
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2,642 of 3,617 B&Bs / Inns in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The B&B Trastevere Relais is in the very heart of the caratheristic area of Trastevere in Rome. The B&B Trastevere Relais is on the second floor of an ancient building of late ‘800. The property offers the comfort and the smartness of a five stars relais and is composed of five rooms: two double or twin bedded rooms, a single room with a confortable french bed, a suite with a rest room, a four bedded room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Booking.com, HostelWorld, Traveltool, S.L.U., Travel Republic (UK) and Hotel.de so you can book your Trastevere Relais reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing