We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location, Clean Rooms, Cute Elevator”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Cesar Palace Guesthouse
Ranked #2,883 of 3,752 Rome B&B and Inns
New Delhi, India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great Location, Clean Rooms, Cute Elevator”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 May 2013

We stayed here for 5 nights and had a great experience. It is a 10 minute walk from the Castro Pretorio station which is a stop away from Termini and a couple of stops from the Colosseum and other popular attractions like the Trevi Fountain, Spanish Steps etc. It is a little hard to find as the sign for it is very small so you might want the hotel's phone number handy when you are looking for it. The double room was a good size, very clean, and equipped with a wardrobe, desk, TV, and mini fridge. the bathroom was also very clean and modern with a hot shower which had great pressure! Our room was cleaned everyday and towels and sheets changed. The staff are fluent in English and were really helpful in answering any questions we had. The only two things that went against Cesar Palace was the breakfast which consisted of a croissant, boiled eggs, biscuits, bread, yogurt, and coffee and juice; as well as that our room had two twin bed/mattresses pushed together to make a double bed.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank akriti9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

510 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    177
    135
    81
    48
    69
See reviews for
73
225
33
42
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 May 2013 via mobile

Rooms were tidy upon arrival, as was reception area. Staff provided a map as well as directions to bus. There was a grocery store nearby. I was advised to stay here by a friend who had visited Rome earlier in the year, it appears to have undergone renovations? But I think a worker was killed while attaching some electrical instillation; this was what the staff had told us when we inquired about the lights turning on and off by themselves in the bathroom. We found it especially disturbing during the night, I believe of our second night of the four night stay, the lights switched on and off a few times before I closed the bathroom door. Following the closing sound I went back to sleep but awoke to a buzzing electrical sound from the bathroom. I went to investigate leaving my fiancé sleeping and opened the bathroom door. Immediately the sound stopped but it looked like there was a shadowy figure against the wall nearest to the shower. I tried for the light but the switch was inoperable. I went to my bedside for my cellphone to use as a light, as the bathroom lights finally flickered on. I looked into the bathroom and the figure wasn't there anymore, but out of the corner of my eye I saw a shadow moving near my fiancées side of the bed, when I looked it was gone. The hotel was pretty crowded and so a room change wasn't possible, but the next two nights went by without any apparitions. The hotel wasn't too far from termini and it was easy to navigate Rome by bus from the hotel. There was breakfast that suited me well, but my fiancé wasn't a fan. They provided a place to keep our bags on the last day before we shipped out to Florence. Overall, really interesting and exciting experience!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dquesada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Averill Park
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2013

The photo's and reviews for this hotel are totally misleading. This place boasted a warm and friendly staff, excellent accommodations and air conditioning. We tried to check in a little before noon but were told we had to wait until 1. That was ok but there was nowhere to safely store our luggage and it was jammed into an area taken up with boxes, a fridge and cartons of pre-packaged "breakfast."

When we were able to check into our room we found that the air conditioner was broken...it was 90 degrees and humid and we were weary after a day of traveling around the city waiting for our room to open. The mini fridge in our room was an old coke cooler...with a clear glass door that had lights in it which stayed on all night long.

The shower door was off it's track and continued to fall off.

The person who checked us in was rude, impatient and offered virtually no assistance. Later staff were far more pleasant but the damage had been done.

Worst breakfast imaginable, unless you like pre-packaged pastries. Coffee? Even worse. How dies THAT happen in Italy?? Neighborhood just o.k., close to a bus line and there is a grocery across the street. No restaurants within easy walking distance. Easy 15 minute walk to the train station, which is the only accurate information offered in prior reviews.

Do yourself a favor...keep searching.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank CBlessing_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cesarbedandreakfast, Proprietario at Cesar Palace Guesthouse, responded to this review, 16 May 2013
Dear Madame
we noticed an unfriendly attitude aimed at considering our job insufficiently apt at satisfying your level. I believe it unfair to have written a critique aimed to be mean. We have constantly been after your request, your daughter has been around the corridors outloud chatting with her friend and a strong smell was being emanated from your room. to the outside. We also accepeted this, we have strived to satisfy your request. Nonetheless we have been attacked from the back by this unfair and totally bias review regarding our rooms service and breakfast
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Rome hotels

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2013

So this guesthouse was a bargain, that is its biggest redeeming quality. Had a bit of trouble when we got there- they thought we were one person, but booking said room for two- so they had to give us a temporary room for one night, before a proper room was ready. Bit annoying and I wouldn't call the reception friendly, just kind of dealt with it, but they weren't openly rude. They did give us a map and kind of point us where to go- so I wouldn't say they were completely unhelpful.
Our proper room was better- fit for two and bathroom was definitely nice for the price. It had aircon, which we had a few problems with, but was fine most of the time. Slept well- no noise really. We had bed and breakfast- breakfast being a lose term for packaged croissants and pots of yoghurt.
It was good for a cheap, young persons trip to Rome- good option if hostels aren't your sort of thing but you still want it to be cheap.
It was located very near to central station, with a quick bus to the main attractions. Was a bit hard to find as it is just a big door, but apart from that location was good. Not much around it- supermarket opposite and a Chinese on the same block (tasty food but made me ill).

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Henri T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2013

Just returned home after a three day stay in Rome at the Cesar Palace on arrival we were offered refreshments and warmly welcomed by Joya who was lovely and very professional any queries we had she answered perfectly so that our stay in Rome was even more enjoyable. Her father also works in the Guesthouse and was also very friendly and helpful. Joya gave us great advice and information on how to best travel around Rome and take in all the sights giving us all the information we needed. We had a nice room at the front looking over a busy street a bus stop was about 100 metres from the guesthouse and on the main route very handy indeed. Also directly across the street is an excellent supermarket if you had forgotten anything. If I was travelling to Rome I would definitely stay here again the location is perfect and the staff are lovely.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank irisheyes26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nicosia, Cyprus
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 April 2013

Spend 3 nights in this guest-house. Location is very good in a quiet student area, only 2 bus stops from Termini (bus 90) and about 15 minutes from Piazza Venezia (bus 60). Bus stop is less than a minute away. Basic breakfast served at 6 euros, staff happy to help, rooms are OK, bathroom was clean. On the down side, wifi is free and good enough for browsing and checking emails, but not for skype calls. Overall this guest-house is ideal if you are on short budget and looking for a place that offers basic service in Rome.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christos1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nazareth, Israel
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 March 2013

I have the adress from Israeli friend. I will returnon August. Its central and definetely comfortable. We found the room to be very clean and new . I like the style of the breakfast and the offer. Hotel is in the area of Porta Pia where there is the Area museum.

Stayed March 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank Norbert A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
San Lorenzo
Athena Hotel
Athena Hotel
#991 of 1,291 in Rome
3.0 of 5 bubbles 309 reviews
Scheppers Hotel
#1,041 of 1,291 in Rome
3.0 of 5 bubbles 252 reviews
Alba Hotel Torre Maura
#1,072 of 1,291 in Rome
3.0 of 5 bubbles 278 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Baltic
#1,092 of 1,291 in Rome
3.0 of 5 bubbles 359 reviews
Hotel Giotto
#1,101 of 1,291 in Rome
2.5 of 5 bubbles 560 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cesar Palace Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cesar Palace Guesthouse

Property: Cesar Palace Guesthouse
Address: Via Nomentana 55, 00161 Rome, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2,883 of 3,752 B&Bs / Inns in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Cesar Palace Guesthouse 2.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the enchanting area of Porta Pia, close to Termini Train Station and to Via Veneto, house of "La Dolce Vita", Cesar Palace Guesthouse welcomes you for a pleasent stay in the eternal city. Located in an historical building of the early XX century, Cesar Palace has single and double rooms, all with private bathrooms, equipped with linen and towels, dispensers for soap and hair dryer, very spacious and furnished in a simple and elegant, comfortable and vital atmosphere. Quiteness in each room is provided by double windows, as well as other services like: TV Color, Air conditioning, and free Wi-Fi. Daily cleaning will guarantee an enjoyable stay at our place, as well as our Reception Team, always available to assiste you upon your arrival in Porta Pia and in any moment of your stay. Upon request, we serve Kosher breakfast in your room and organize tours in the most interesting areas of our beautiful city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), HostelWorld, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Cesar Palace Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cesar Palace Guesthouse Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing