We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Robin”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Cesar Palace Guesthouse
Ranked #3,097 of 3,782 Rome B&B and Inns
Reviewed 5 August 2013

Had to stay the first night at another hotel. They sent a booking with my name to the other hotel so the other hotel thought i booked the room, not ok.

When we got the room at cesar the day after everything worked perfect, nice staff and a lovely room. Will def stay her on our next trip to rome.

Room Tip: Ask for a balcony!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (553)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

141 - 147 of 553 reviews

Reviewed 15 July 2013 via mobile

As with every review you are asked on the following points : overall, cleanliness, location, rooms, service and value. So overall I gave it a poor reasons... We stayed in room 502, this is located right next to the reception which is actually where you go to eat your breakfast. The room was not like the picture we had wall paper pealing off the wall because of the damp and two beds pushed together to make it look like a double bed room. We were not overly happy with the first impressions seeing as we were told that this was a new hotel bla bla bla you have already read the hotels own description. We entered the lift to the 5th floor where reception is, to find some random chap who speaks very little English on the phone. On the door he was pointing to was a phone number???? Are we meant to phone this for a room or .... Nope didn't understand. About 10 minutes later we were greeted and our documents were checked. So the room (502) the shower overfilled the toilet seat came off and the towels were never changed but this is a 3* guest room, the wifi worked though low at times - unsure why. The tv worked its small but it was fine though don't expect to find many English channels your in rome lol. The air con worked like a charm. The breakfast consisted of a pie a piece of pastry, butter and jam. There was sweetcorn and some hard boiled eggs. We went else where for breakfast as this was unacceptable in my opinion. The location was fine really because everything is reachable by jumping on the metro 6€ per day per person. It took about 5 minutes to walk there and trust me you will be thankful that its not far as your on your feet all day. So to sum up really, this place is ok if your not bothered by where you stay and you just want to crash if your looking for something nice look else where. Oh and the reason we would recommend not having 502, if you want to be intermate with your partner then all can and will hear you. Walls like paper and reception is next door ;). I hope this helps.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Matt T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cesarbedandreakfast, Owner at Cesar Palace Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded 8 December 2013

Dear Matt,
in certain sense reading your review I realy got fascinated. I think your qualities are the one of a sincere and strong observer. I would like to clarify some points:
1. The guesthouse is in 2 apartments therefore it is obvious that the reception is close to some rooms.
2. The breakfast. we strived to offer a good breakfast although continental and not american as you might have expected.
3. We remember 502 had some issues with the paper attached in the wall we have fixed it and we therefore are glad you signalled it to us.
4. We would like to reinvite you to us without the issue of the room in 502 to our place
thanks for your time and your experience description, you are right we are very central and we strive to improve costantly!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2013 via mobile

When we first arrived in Rome it was a little bit hard to find. No big signs which sais hotel or anything. Except that we were very satisfied with our stay! The room was cleaned every day, though I would've wanted them to change the towels more often. The breskfast is the only negative I have to complain about. They served sweets every day. Cookies, pies etc. Nasty! You could find some yoghurt and sereals but it was'nt enough for us. Very nice and helpful staff though so I would go back again!! Also, it was very cheap and by walking distance to all the attractions.

Thank Theglitterygirl
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 27 June 2013

Just spent three nights. The neighborhood is great. Good restaurants and several nice parks. Right by the outer wall of rome. The management was excellent and very helpful. The metro is close by We waled everywhere. The walk from the train station was under a kilometer.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank davidwicks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2013

We arrived a little early and were greeted by Gioia, who was lovely and informative.
We had room 505. The room appeared to be newly decorated, with a modern bathroom.
The guesthouse, although located a bit out of the city, had a bus stop just up the road, which made it very easy to navigate to various places. The area had plenty of places to eat, shop and look around. It was very pleasant.

There were a couple problems and the staff were very efficient in trying to correct things. Wifi in our room didn't work, and the next day they arranged for a repeater which made the wifi signal reach our room. The air conditioner didn't work, and although they initially made an effort to fix it, it wasn't fixed during our stay. Luckily for us, the weather was on our side and we managed without it.
On our last night, at 9.45pm, we had a staff member knock on the door asking us to pay the Rome Tax of EURO2 per person for our stay. We were aware of this, however i did not appreciate the time they chose to ask. I would of paid the amount when our initial payment was taken.
On another note which was out of the hands of the hotel, the room right next to ours, (an adjoining building) had a very noisy couple which woke us on a couple of occasions. To be safe, i will just say they were not in bed talking.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lioness64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cesarbedandreakfast, Front Office Manager at Cesar Palace Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded 23 October 2014

Dear Guest,
We appreciate you notice our effort in trying to solve any inconvenience arose during your stay. Hopefully none of such issue compromised the quality of your stay!
We do recognize it was inappropriate to ask you the city Tax on your very last night, unfortunately it was forgotten at the moment of the Check In. We learned that lesson, as now we ask guests to pay it while Checking-In. About the couple next door, well... there was not much we could do about that… At least it was something to laugh about! Thanks for your stay and your review!
A quick note: our Guesthouse is located right at the border of the Ancient City wall’s, which means we are at the border of the historical city center and at the beginning of the modern city. Definitely inside the city then ;)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2013

Considering its affordable prices, Ceasars is a very well located place. It was ideal for us after a long day touring around Rome to just be able to go to the hotel and relax before stepping out for a great Italian dinner at a wide choice of restaurants only steps away from the hotel! Highly recommend! Very clean and does the job with regards to the price! Thank you!

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Isaacrim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2013

Rooms are clean and pretty basic but it's central and the staff incredibly friendly and helpful. Not like a hotel, more like a well appointed hostel because of its informality. They take a personal interest in your stay and enjoying the city.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Roger G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Hotel Versailles
#690 of 1,271 in Rome
186 reviews
Scheppers Hotel
#1,067 of 1,271 in Rome
276 reviews
Aurora Garden Hotel
#1,042 of 1,271 in Rome
204 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Lorenzo
Athena Hotel
Athena Hotel
#982 of 1,271 in Rome
361 reviews
MF Hotel
#591 of 1,271 in Rome
299 reviews
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Gialel B&B
Gialel B&B
#423 of 3,782 in Rome
288 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cesar Palace Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cesar Palace Guesthouse

Address: Via Nomentana 55, 00161 Rome, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3,097 of 3,782 B&Bs / Inns in Rome
Price Range: £28 - £83 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Cesar Palace Guesthouse 2.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the enchanting area of Porta Pia, close to Termini Train Station and to Via Veneto, house of "La Dolce Vita", Cesar Palace Guesthouse welcomes you for a pleasent stay in the eternal city. Located in an historical building of the early XX century, Cesar Palace has single and double rooms, all with private bathrooms, equipped with linen and towels, dispensers for soap and hair dryer, very spacious and furnished in a simple and elegant, comfortable and vital atmosphere. Quiteness in each room is provided by double windows, as well as other services like: TV Color, Air conditioning, and free Wi-Fi. Daily cleaning will guarantee an enjoyable stay at our place, as well as our Reception Team, always available to assiste you upon your arrival in Porta Pia and in any moment of your stay. Upon request, we serve Kosher breakfast in your room and organize tours in the most interesting areas of our beautiful city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, LoveHolidays, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Ebookers, getaroom.com, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Cesar Palace Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cesar Palace Guesthouse Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing