We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice Hotel but pricey”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Domidea Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Domidea Hotel
Ranked #216 of 1,291 Hotels in Rome
Oklahoma
Level Contributor
52 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Nice Hotel but pricey”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 January 2014

we booked the hotel under the pretense that we would be able to sleep 7 people in one of the suites. When the hotel found out that we would be 4 adults and 3 children, they made us pay for another room, even if it was only for one night. We paid 151 euro for one night in a room that was way too big for two adults and two children. The rooms were huge by European standards and very clean. The wifi worked okay. The front desk was very helpful and friendly. However, they really do mean it when they say "only 4 people" despite the fact that the couch turns into a futon and you can sleep 7 comfortably. I would not stay here. We've had better hotels for less money.

Room Tip: they really mean that a room is only for however many people THEY recommend, not how many people you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sara B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

606 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    181
    307
    75
    26
    17
See reviews for
168
169
20
147
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 December 2013 via mobile

This is one of the worst 4 star experience in my life. This hotel should not be rated 4 star. This is supposedly a business hotel but there was no internet during my 2 days stay. There is no proper kitchen in the hotel. The breakfast is very very poor. First hotel in my life that does not serve scrambled eggs in the breakfast. My room was freezing when i cheked in. By the way this is a room without windows. They told me a technician will check. They then informed me that it was fixed but there was no change. They asked me to wait couple of hours. After 3 hours they decided to cahnge my room. Try to avoid this hotel.

Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Alican S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok
Level Contributor
158 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 October 2013

This hotel was a total let-down and is no way anywhere close to the claimed four-star level. The rooms are small, my laptop screen is bigger than the tiny television, the shower is flimsy and lacking in hot water, there is no assistance for luggage, parking is minimal, the breakfast does not measure up, and the internet is a joke.

I booked two rooms. One was a Double (Single Use), and it was clearly marked as such. There was even one single silhouette so there was no confusion. The other room was a Double Use, there were two silhouettes, and there was no mention of single use. When we arrived, we were told there would be a 25 euro fee for the second person in the second room. I complained, and I was told that it doesn't matter what is said online, this was their policy. I looked again and saw that the same room for two people was only 10 euros more than the room for one person. I had to fight and enlist Agoda's help, but I did finally get the price reduced to 10 euros more per night instead of the 25 euro.

This hotel is listed as a business hotel. For a business hotel, the internet was unusable the entire first day. I got online, and it took me an hour to send three short e-mails responses (I had to wait and wait for the messages to actually be sent.) Then it died completely. I went to the staff, and they insisted it was working, suggesting I should come to the lobby. I showed them it wasn't working, then they realized that their own internet was not working. At this point, the receptionist literally threw up his hands and bluntly told me that the manager would be in at 10:00 AM the next morning, and he would have to take care of it. As a "business" hotel, we need internet. Not having it is unsatisfactory. Aside from business, I check out restaurants on Tripadvisor to make sure we pick good ones, and I could not. Hence, we just picked four at random, and only one was adequate.

As I had no internet, I had to make three toll free calls. The hotel charged 3 euros each for a free call, even if their internet caused the issue.

One reason we picked this hotel is that it supposedly had parking. The hotel has 89 rooms, but less than 20 parking spaces. We had to park out on the road away from the hotel as all the spaces were taken by 6:00 PM.

The hotel website indicates that they have a free shuttle to the nearest metro station. What they fail to mention is that the shuttle does not seem to be available much, and it is only free if you have an upgraded room. For the standard room, you have to pay.

I have never stayed in a four-star hotel nor a business hotel that did not have CNN, CNBC, BBC, or some international news. There was one English-language station that showed standard entertainment series, and that was it. Of course, with the tiny screen, even that one channel was pretty much unwatchable unless you sat at the end of the bed.

On a more minor note, the reservation was supposed to be all inclusive as far as price, but there was an additional three euros per head per night tax added to the bill.

Service was impersonal and even rude. The cleaning ladies were nice, and the early morning receptionist went out of her way to be helpful, using her iPhone to pull some phone numbers off the internet. I wish I had her name as she was a bright spot in this very disappointing stay.

All told, this hotel was extremely substandard for what is was supposed to be. I cannot recommend to anyone that they should stay at the hotel.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jonathan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel_Domidea, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Domidea Hotel, responded to this review, 7 November 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for spending time in writing your impressions about your stay in our Hotel.
Guests opinions are really important for us.
It is a pleasure for us to take care of all the issues you mentioned listing them as follows:

1.Rooms
Our Hotel provides with Standard and Executive rooms.
The first ones are smaller and located on the ground floor, as the Double for Single use you booked; while the Executive rooms are more comfortable, located on the upper floors, as the Double room you choose.
2.TV
We are already planning to change the smaller TV with bigger ones.
3.Luggage assistance
It is a free service that we usually offer.
4.Parking
Our Hotel disposes of a private unguarded external parking subject to availability, and we are located in an area of Rome where people can easily find also free parking outside our property.
5.Breakfast
Most of our Guests appreciate our Breakfast.
Everyday we are careful to offer a wide variety of sweet and salty specialities.
6.Rates
With reference to the difference paid between a Double Room Single Use and a Double Room, the Reception gave a wrong information: there has been confusion with the rate for an additional bed. Soon the colleagues asked the Front Office Manager who gave the right guideline that allow you to pay the right amount.
7.Internet line
Unfortunately during your stay the wi-fi signal was week and internet was not working very well. As you can understand, signal problems may happen for various reasons that often do not depend directly on the structure. It causes also inconvenience in work procedures, therefore, we truly comprehend the discomfort you had. We will take care of your complaint to get in depth into the matter.
8.Restaurants
It would have been our pleasure to give you all information about good Restaurants in our area and downtown, as our Hotel offers a Reception Concierge service all day long, with the aim of meeting the needs of all our Clients.
We are pleased to inform you that our Hotel disposes of a design Restaurant FIL – Food is Love which has very good reviews.
9.Telephone calls
Concerning this issue we really thank you for your reporting, we will verify immediately the proper functioning of the interfaces.
10.Shuttle Service
Our shuttle service is a complimentary service for the Executive rooms, subject to availability and according to a specific timetable.
11.Television channels
As our Guests are international, we provide with one channel for each of the main spoken languages, infact there is a channels list in the rooms. Furthermore, when our Guests have specific requests our Maintener does his best to add the requested channel, if possible.
12.City Tax
It is clearly mentioned that the City Tax is not included in the price of the room on our Official web-site, portals and in all the written confirmations of reservations.

Hoping to have been exhaustive, we wish you all the best.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Midlands
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 October 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights in October. Hotel was great and everything we needed. Not the best view from the room but we weren't in it long enough for that to matter. As all the reviews say, it is quite far from the centre but we went prepared for this as it was a lot better than any of the other hotels close to the centre in the same price range. There were 2 buses we could catch to the Metro station (437 and 075) from opposite the hotel (there is a temporary stop at the moment a bit further up from the normal stop - took us half an hour to realise this when the buses kept going past us!) we had to wait up to 20 minutes for one and it took 15mins to get to the metro. Once you're on the Metro its not too bad as its fast but you get on at the first stop so takes around 10 stops to get to most of the attractions.
All in all we had a really good time, there was quite a bit of travelling involved but it was worth it for a nice hotel at a reasonable price. The only one disappointment was that we got back to the hotel around 10pm on Sunday night and we fancied a drink in the bar but it was shut. The restaurant next door was nice although we had to wait a while for our food.
Hotel staff were all very nice. Would reccommend.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Becky C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 October 2013

We stayed for two nights and were upgraded to a comfort room so cannot comment on the standard rooms. Our room was enormous, two double wardrobes, plenty of drawers, full length mirror. We had a small balcony which looked out over the bus depot next door, however it you looked further there were views of the countryside around Rome. Our bathroom was lovely, large shower cubicle, brilliant shower with hot water, plenty of towels and there was lots of storage space for toiletries. Breakfast was good, plenty of choice. The coffee was a bit of an issue as there was only one machine so there was a waiting time. There was filter coffee but it was not fresh, this is what british and german people like and maybe they should consider making coffee pots available to save queuing at the machine. That said, it was a good breakfast and I would recommend this hotel for business travel and for visiting Rome if you are fairly self reliant and happy to use public transport. The price was really good, I had paid more to stay in a so called 4 star in Latina the night before and this hotel is way above the standard of that hotel. Just one thing though, the public areas have strange doors that look as though they belong in a sports centre.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank boardcell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sacramento, CA
Level Contributor
65 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 October 2013

All in all, this was a comfortable quite location with a very good breakfast for most places in Italy. They had a lovely buffet that did not run out of food every a.m.! Staff was pretty helpful for little things we needed and questions in general. We stayed in Rm 128, which was small but adequate for two people. it had good closet and drawer space.

The biggest downside of this hotel it that it is at the END of one of the tram lines PLUS you then have to take a 15 min. bus ride to the hotel. We figured we spent at least 90-120 min each day traveling back and forth to get to the highlights of Rome that we really wanted to see. We probably did not save enough money overall to make it worth the extra cost of the transportation either.

We had one issue with the room. Every night the AC went off automatically so we had to get up at 12:15am and turn it back on because there were no screens on the windows and bugs that would have come in, so we had to leave it on.

Next time we go to Rome we will for sure stay closer to the actual city rather than a hotel with nothing but a restaurant and bar close by.

Room Tip: Get a room in the back off the street! :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mazbarth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thessaloniki, Greece
Level Contributor
70 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 October 2013

It is a very nice buliding and a new one with very clean areas. Very good breakfast, almost everything on the buffet (but very small and crowded breakfast area, if are not lucky you have to wait somebody to stand up in order to sit). The stuff is very friendly and. The hotel is located very far from the city center, but the shuttle bus is very fast and luxurius and you can reach the nearest metro station (rebibbia station) just in a few minutes.
As concerns the rooms, they are very spacious, very clean with brand new and nice furnitures and decoration.
The area around the hotel is quiet enough, because of the industrial area character. The only places nearby are a supermarket, a restaurant (a good one), and a bar-casino-restaurant (3 in one!).
All these details i knew them before the booking so no problem with it. The one and only problem that i had is that i booked for an upper floor room for 4 persons (Executive family room), and they gave us the simple family room that is located on the first floor (with the small bathroom, without balcony, without sofa, without dining table and chairs, interior view and of course smaller room).
We complained at the reception and they contended that this is an executive one, but it was a lie... We saw many reviews and of course more pictures before the booking.
ALL IN ALL, it is good idea to book in this hotel but for more than two nights, because transportation will cut some hours from your schedule!

Room Tip: Book the cheapest room you can
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AkiSKG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Hotel Poggioverde
#112 of 1,291 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 293 reviews
Warmthotel
#191 of 1,291 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 165 reviews
Monteverde
Le Fate Apartments
Le Fate Apartments
#142 of 1,291 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 279 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Artis
#371 of 1,291 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 614 reviews
San Lorenzo
Villa San Lorenzo Maria Hotel
Hotel Castle
#158 of 1,291 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 377 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Domidea Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Domidea Hotel

Property: Domidea Hotel
Address: Via Raffaele Costi 17/21, 00155 Rome, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#24 Best Value Hotel in Rome
#121 Luxury Hotel in Rome
#183 Business Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Domidea Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 85
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Domidea is a modern 4-star hotel . Connected to the center of Rome with Tor Sapienza Railway Station , it is located just 300 meters far from the hotel , that in just 25 minutes it reaches the center. It is reserved for guests, that book comfort rooms, the private shuttle bus that it reaches the metro b in 5 minutes. Our strong point is the rich continental breakfast , assorted by sweet and salty. Inside the hall, there is a stylish lounge bar , in which we organize happy hour with musical accompaniment . The rooms are very spacious and some rooms are with spacious balconies . The Parking zone is free . Furthermore , our reception staff suggested several local attractions and bike rides along the nearby River Aniene , immersed in the Natural Reserve . What are you waiting to visit us ?? ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Lastminute, Ebookers, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Domidea Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Domidea Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing