We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Loved It. Perfect Location, good value for money and even better Owner!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ape Latina

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Ape Latina
Ranked #669 of 1,067 Speciality Lodging in Rome
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Loved It. Perfect Location, good value for money and even better Owner!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 September 2011

Stayed at The Ape Latina last July.
The location is wonderful, if you walk just 5 minutes through a park you come to the Colosseum and Forum/Palatine Hill.
The rooms are of a good quality with comfy beds and clean, with one bedroom with an ensuite room and 2 rooms sharing one bathroom which being a student was no problem! All rooms share a kitchenette with a fridge, which I personally didn't use but everything was clean. (And cleaned every day to a brilliant standard. by the owner)
Moreover what the most wonderful part of the experience was the was Lady that owned the hostel. She was friendly and helpful even giving us a map to walk around Rome with and telling us good local hotspots. I would go back just on that basis alone.

Room Tip: Ask about the Room with the en-suite bathroom if the idea of sharing bothers you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank VictoriaBaker92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    19
    14
    4
    4
    9
See reviews for
4
25
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Rome, Italy
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2011

My stay in Ape Latina was FANTASTIC !!!!!!
The staff were amazing, perfect location, just a few minutes from the Colosseum and the roman forums !!!!!
Andrea and Francesca are very kind and will make you feel at home.
Very clean and comfortable !!!!!!
I'll be glad to come back again.
Highly recommended

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DanFuentes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2011

BE WARNED!!! If you book here, you don't actually stay here. I booked a few nights at this HOSTEL but like many other people who have written comments on this site, I showed up to the front door of this DUMP looking apartment building, where I waited for OVER 2 hours until somebody finally showed up and told me that I was being MOVED 4 blocks away to another hostel (Ares Rooms) owned by her friend, who was rude and the place was infested with BED BUGS. I have over 100 ITCHY RED BUMPS covering my neck, ears, and arms. Thank you Ape Latina for your kind rearrangements! I will never return to Rome thanks to you. Also, private in suite bathrooms don't exist at this place, they use it as a SCAM to make more money off of you and they try to argue with you to make you pay the money. They give you a shared bathroom (down the hallway) and tell you it's private when it is NOT! Do you think your customers are stupid? We notice when other people are using our bathroom and when it is not inside our room. Thanks again for my terrible experience in Rome!

Room Tip: Don't ever book here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cali41588
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Rome hotels

Lake Jackson, Texas
Level Contributor
31 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2011

Ape Latina was amazing for the price! We had a huge room & comfortable bed. There were other people staying but we never had to wait to use the bathroom. Had a nice kitchen/bar area to fix food and eat at. Very clean & safe! I was with my husband but would stay there alone without any hesitations! The neighborhood is quiet and safe and there are several inexpensive cafes just a few steps away. Also a quaint little grocery store within the block. You are very close to lots of attractions and just a short cab or bus ride from the others. I would suggest opting for a taxi from Termini to the building as it is quite a walk and the taxi's know right where to go! Andrea & Francesca were amazing! Very helpful and there when we needed them! They shared several out of the way spots to eat. We appreciated their help immensely! We stayed for 4 nights and had absolutely everything we would need plus some!!

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pillarsoflight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 January 2011

After a disaster trying to find the place ( the 'new address' you are told to go to from the website is infact not the correct address) we arrived really annoyed that we had wasted so much time stuffing around. But franchesca was so lovely that we couldn't stay mad. The place is really clean and retro. The rooms are big and although the beds are not super coumfy for the price you pay it's worth it. The location is a little far away from the main attractions in Rome. But the sunway is 100m away so it is easy to get around. The area is safe and for 1€ you can get a crossant and coffee for breakfast which is great value. All in all I would stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank EmCakes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 January 2011

Boyfriend and I stayed here for a week over new years. Paid 440 euro for 7 nights. More expensive in the new year period.
This is not actually a hostel, but an apartment. The owner/s are never here, literally. You get your own set of keys upon arrival and come and go as you please. Be sure to advise which time you will be arriving or you won't be able to get inside. Also ask any questions you have when you arrive because it will be the only chance you get. The owner is friendly though and will give you her mobile number so that you can call her if need be.
There are no cooking facilities or common room/tv area. There is a fridge.
Bathrooms are fine, however shower gets blocked and I had to pull out other peoples hair to unblock the drain, eww.
Our bedroom was massive, very happy with the size. The bed and pillows are rock hard and uncomfortable and the room doesn't get very warm with the radiator on.
Not a good place if you're looking to meet other people and have a chat, we didn't see the others staying here at all. Cool if you're keen on having some quiet time and doing your own thing.
3 minutes walk to metro which is 2 stops from Termini. 10 mins walk to Colloseum. Location good!

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kymlee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 December 2010

We were a little unsure of the location at first but once we found it we were very impressed! For 15 euro a night in Rome, excellent proximity to the metro, walkable to Colosseum, helpful staff. One of the women who owns it, Francesca, was very helpful! Had great tips and ideas for things to do. She told us about this awesome pool right beside the Colosseum that turns into a nightclub at night! We stayed in a 4 person room and it was very very clean. Nice modern decor. 2 bathrooms, very clean. Free internet was helpful as well! Overall this was a complete surprise for us, we would go back in a heartbeat!!

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank aarthi89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Navona Colors Hotel
Navona Colors Hotel
#68 of 1,292 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 609 reviews
Esquilino
Alessandro Downtown Hostel
Esquilino
B&T Rooms
B&T Rooms
#2,559 of 3,734 in Rome
3.5 of 5 bubbles 86 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Lorenzo
B&B Stay at Rome
B&B Stay at Rome
#1,732 of 3,734 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 50 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Artemide
Hotel Artemide
#8 of 1,292 in Rome
5.0 of 5 bubbles 6,356 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ape Latina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ape Latina

Property: Ape Latina
Address: Via Angelo Poliziano 27, 00184 Rome, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Monti
Hotel Style:
Ranked #669 of 1,067 Speciality Lodging in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 27
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Ape Latina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ape Latina Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing