We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
La Papessa
Nearby Hotels
Hotel Artemide(Rome)
US$386
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$322
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$648
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$437
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$179
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$135
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Colosseum(Rome)
US$185
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$163
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Diocleziano(Rome)
US$234
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$194
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$380
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$213
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$188
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$251
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$239
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$262
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$224
Trip.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
US$1,067
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$604
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (294)
Filter reviews
294 results
Traveller rating
204
83
3
2
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
204
83
3
2
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsvia del corsotrevi fountainperfect locationsmall liftguest house isheart of romespanish stepsevery major attractionthird floorwithin walking distancewould definitely stay here againgreat hostsfontana di treviboiled eggsfresh pastriesstreet noisethe wi fi
Filter
Updating list...
102 - 107 of 294 reviews
Reviewed 23 April 2014

Me and my wife stayed here for two nights during Eastern.

What's really making it worth booking this place:

Location, location, location. Probably one of the best located B&B's in Rome. Walking distance to everything, and even better if you're in to some shopping (it's located on the shopping street in Rome). We had no problems finding the place either. Even though it's so central, we had no problems with noice nighttime - but maybe that's because we got the inner room with window to the backyard.

The people working there are genuinly friendly and will make sure you feel welcome. They'll answer whatever quiestion you might have and give you lots of great advices of what to do.

What's just like expected:

The rooms are OK. They're quite big, and things works as it should, including the bathroom, but I can't say i had an aha-experience

The breakfast is OK. You get a normal breakfast with cerials, bread, sweets and some industrial juice, together with coffee. Absolutely good enough.

What's worth improving:

There was a weird smell in our room of old humidity in the afternoons. We opened the windows and the smell went away.

The door to our shower was broken, so it was hard to take a shower without showering the whole bathroom.

All in all, it's absolutely a great place, and I can warmly recommend it, mainly because of location and hospitality. Considering price level, I find it a bit expensive for what you get.

Room Tip: The room with windows to the backyard was quiet
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Zalle78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CATERINA P, STAFF at La Papessa, responded to this reviewResponded 25 April 2014

Dear Zalle78,

We're glad that you enjoyed your stay at La Papessa and that our position was what you looked for.
Thank you for all your kind comments about our services and room comforts.
We hope to welcome you again in a next future.

Take care,
ciao.
La Papessa Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2014

Travelled to Rome from Florence by train and taxi to the hotel, Taxi did not know of the property so dropped us at 241 Via Corso the guest house address. Not the easiest found property for our 4 night stay just before Easter 2014, Behind a street kiosk, 10 meters down a side street, there is a large door opposite some restaurant tables, up six flights of stairs or via a small lift on in-between floors you will find a door for the La Papessa Guest; not a very impressive entrance but you are in the centre of Rome! However, once inside the welcome is friendly and informative, Marcella talked us through the sites, transport, restaurants and the accommodation. There are 4 rooms and we stayed in the rear room that does not front the Via Corso so had no traffic noise. The rooms are of ample size clean and well decorated. Free fridge and safe provided. En-suite bathroom, our only issue is that the shower has a spa unit in the cubical which makes normal showering difficult as it occupies half the available area. The reception area doubles as the breakfast room and while small functions well. A good selection of fresh breakfast items were available each morning. The location is excellent, we walked everywhere, in any direction we were within half an hour of all the sites including the Vatican, if you prefer local transport it can be found right in front of the property. The great service continued when, as our flight home was in the evening we were able to leave our bags at the guest house after checkout and were given keys to collect them later, letting us enjoy the whole day before meeting the car they had arranged for our trip to the airport. If you want a central location, simple, clean accommodation, friendly and informative staff this is for you.

Room Tip: One room not on the main street so quieter
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Birkland15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CATERINA P, Responsabile reception at La Papessa, responded to this reviewResponded 23 April 2014

Dears,

thank you very much for spending some of your time to leave your comment.

It is very important for us and for our job, you help us to do better and better with your suggestions. I'm sorry for the trouble you had to find us, but it is a pleasure to know that then we have not disappointed during your stay.

I hope to welcome you in the future if you decide to visit Rome again.

"Grazie mille" again,
Marcella.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2014

It is a very nice b&b hotel with big room, good bathroom and it is very good place to explore the city because it is in the heart of Rome.
It is a little bit noisy in the night because the windows is on via Corso but for us it was not important and the view worth it.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Gorskaya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CATERINA P, Hotel Manager at La Papessa, responded to this reviewResponded 25 April 2014

Dear Gorskaya,

thank you for your kind review.

We're happy and very proud to know that for you it has been "the best place to stay in Rome" and we really hope to welcome you again and soon.

Take care,
Best Regards,
Caterina

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2014

This is a wonderful place. If you imagine Rome being divided into two halves, this cosy B and B is in the middle, walking distance to everything. Even the tax refund is opposite the street, so convenient. Its best feature is the host, Catherine and her team. We met all of them. So warm and very helpful. They arranged our transit to and from the airport for 50 euros and this was so convenient and timely. If you are not used to small places and need space, this is not for you. Also they do have a elevator but you get to the first floor and take it to the fourth floor and walk down to the third floor. This may be a disadvantage if you have trouble carrying luggage.
Breakfast was great and there was always cake and coffee available. My wife was celebrating her 50th and although it rained on most days, we simply enjoyed every minute. We would stay there again but it is a personal choice. We were the only occupants in this 4 room B and B and so had the place to ourselves in all but one day.

Room Tip: There are only 4 rooms available
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank olufo001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2014

We stayed here for 4 nights over the new year. The location is very central, in walking distance to all the sights. If you don't feel like walking, the staff can offer advice for public transport. The best thing about this B+B are the staff. Thank you so much Caterina (and other staff whose names we do not know) for making us feel so at home (and for describing all of the best sites in the city!). We have stayed at a lot of hotels in various countries and never have we been made to feel as welcome as we did at La Papessa. Nothing is too much trouble for the staff (we even received a complementary bottle of sparkling wine to see in the new year which we thought was a lovely gesture). The rooms were nice, spacious and clean. Breakfast was great. WiFi was also good. When we return to Rome, we will definitely book here again. Tips for new visitors for Rome: Food is not too expensive, but nearer to the Colosseum and Vatican, it is poor food. We always walked to Trastevere just across the river. The food and bars there are good, and a little cheaper than in the city centre. Throughout our stay, the colosseum was packed (possibly because of new years celebrations) and the queues huge. We recommend to buy tickets from outside the entrance to the Roman forum and then you can skip some of the queues at the colosseum. Also, head there for 8.30-9am and you should be able to walk right in as we did. Once again, thanks to all at La Papessa for making our stay in Rome fantastic!

Room Tip: We asked for a quiet room-and we got one no problem. We were never disturbed.
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jabunniii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CATERINA P, Hotel Manager at La Papessa, responded to this reviewResponded 25 April 2014

Hello Dears,

what to say?? Thank you so much for all your kind words:-)
I (Caterina) and Marcella are very happy to know that you appreciated our tips and our informations.
Of course "nothing is too much trouble" for us, we are pleased to be helpfull to our guests and what we love very much in our job is this: talk to the guests, let them know our city (especially if it is their first time here) and give them as much informations as possible.
The checkin and the breakfast time are very important for us, both moments give us the opportunity to know our guests, and (lots of times) to feel them like friends.

We hope to meet you soon again.

Take care,
Kind Regards,
Caterina (and Marcella)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews