We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great tourist location - wonderful owners”
Review of La Papessa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
La Papessa
Ranked #112 of 3,779 Rome B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 May 2014

We had a very pleasant stay here with wonderful hospitality from Caterina, Marcella, and Massimo. Our room was very comfortable with a nice breakfast served every morning along with wonderful help from the owners on putting together a tourist itinerary to start most mornings.

The Via del Corso location is fantastic for tourists - roughly halfway between the Trevi Fountain and the Pantheon, walking distance to the Coliseum and Villa Borghese, and an easy bus connection to the Vatican. Undoubtedly this will be the first place we look into for our next trip to Rome.

Room Tip: We had the room in the back which was very quiet. I can't vouch for ambient volume of the other...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kevin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (291)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

100 - 106 of 291 reviews

Reviewed 27 May 2014

Perfect location. Lovely and helpful owner and receptionists. Rooms decorated with beautiful furniture. Breakfast was very good. Small elevator and a few steps in between floors but we had light luggage and it was no trouble at all. We will come again for sure!

Room Tip: We had the quiet room at the end of the corridor which was a bit small. Next time I would take the o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Christina1707
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2014

This traditional B&B is lovely, from the friendly owners to the huge 'Roman Breakfast' selection you cannot fault their commitment to offering you the best time.
Our room was nearly twice the size of modern sterile hotel accommodation, and laying in our comfortable bed we could take in the 15th century wooden painted ceiling.
If you can walk for half an hour La Papessa is nirvana.
Situated two minutes from the shops, 30 seconds form the bus stop to The Vatican & the Colesseum. It's in the centre of the small circle of 'The Spanish Steps', The Pantheon',Trevi Fountain' & 'Piazza Venezia.
If you get a chance to 'travel back' two thousand years' of history I'd always stay here.

Room Tip: Overlook the Via Corsa, noisy & busy, but with the windows & shutters closed at night, perfe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank shaun1947
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CATERINA P, Responsabile reception at La Papessa, responded to this reviewResponded 25 May 2014

Dears,

thank you very much for your kind comment.

I hope that you are fine, it has been so nice to meet you during your stay in Rome and I hope that you choose again La Papessa for your next trip.

Have a nice day and all the best,
Marcella.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2014

Me and my wife stayed here for two nights during Eastern.

What's really making it worth booking this place:

Location, location, location. Probably one of the best located B&B's in Rome. Walking distance to everything, and even better if you're in to some shopping (it's located on the shopping street in Rome). We had no problems finding the place either. Even though it's so central, we had no problems with noice nighttime - but maybe that's because we got the inner room with window to the backyard.

The people working there are genuinly friendly and will make sure you feel welcome. They'll answer whatever quiestion you might have and give you lots of great advices of what to do.

What's just like expected:

The rooms are OK. They're quite big, and things works as it should, including the bathroom, but I can't say i had an aha-experience

The breakfast is OK. You get a normal breakfast with cerials, bread, sweets and some industrial juice, together with coffee. Absolutely good enough.

What's worth improving:

There was a weird smell in our room of old humidity in the afternoons. We opened the windows and the smell went away.

The door to our shower was broken, so it was hard to take a shower without showering the whole bathroom.

All in all, it's absolutely a great place, and I can warmly recommend it, mainly because of location and hospitality. Considering price level, I find it a bit expensive for what you get.

Room Tip: The room with windows to the backyard was quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Zalle78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CATERINA P, STAFF at La Papessa, responded to this reviewResponded 25 April 2014

Dear Zalle78,

We're glad that you enjoyed your stay at La Papessa and that our position was what you looked for.
Thank you for all your kind comments about our services and room comforts.
We hope to welcome you again in a next future.

Take care,
ciao.
La Papessa Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2014

Travelled to Rome from Florence by train and taxi to the hotel, Taxi did not know of the property so dropped us at 241 Via Corso the guest house address. Not the easiest found property for our 4 night stay just before Easter 2014, Behind a street kiosk, 10 meters down a side street, there is a large door opposite some restaurant tables, up six flights of stairs or via a small lift on in-between floors you will find a door for the La Papessa Guest; not a very impressive entrance but you are in the centre of Rome! However, once inside the welcome is friendly and informative, Marcella talked us through the sites, transport, restaurants and the accommodation. There are 4 rooms and we stayed in the rear room that does not front the Via Corso so had no traffic noise. The rooms are of ample size clean and well decorated. Free fridge and safe provided. En-suite bathroom, our only issue is that the shower has a spa unit in the cubical which makes normal showering difficult as it occupies half the available area. The reception area doubles as the breakfast room and while small functions well. A good selection of fresh breakfast items were available each morning. The location is excellent, we walked everywhere, in any direction we were within half an hour of all the sites including the Vatican, if you prefer local transport it can be found right in front of the property. The great service continued when, as our flight home was in the evening we were able to leave our bags at the guest house after checkout and were given keys to collect them later, letting us enjoy the whole day before meeting the car they had arranged for our trip to the airport. If you want a central location, simple, clean accommodation, friendly and informative staff this is for you.

Room Tip: One room not on the main street so quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Birkland15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CATERINA P, Responsabile reception at La Papessa, responded to this reviewResponded 23 April 2014

Dears,

thank you very much for spending some of your time to leave your comment.

It is very important for us and for our job, you help us to do better and better with your suggestions. I'm sorry for the trouble you had to find us, but it is a pleasure to know that then we have not disappointed during your stay.

I hope to welcome you in the future if you decide to visit Rome again.

"Grazie mille" again,
Marcella.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2014

It is a very nice b&b hotel with big room, good bathroom and it is very good place to explore the city because it is in the heart of Rome.
It is a little bit noisy in the night because the windows is on via Corso but for us it was not important and the view worth it.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Gorskaya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CATERINA P, Hotel Manager at La Papessa, responded to this reviewResponded 25 April 2014

Dear Gorskaya,

thank you for your kind review.

We're happy and very proud to know that for you it has been "the best place to stay in Rome" and we really hope to welcome you again and soon.

Take care,
Best Regards,
Caterina

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2014

This is a wonderful place. If you imagine Rome being divided into two halves, this cosy B and B is in the middle, walking distance to everything. Even the tax refund is opposite the street, so convenient. Its best feature is the host, Catherine and her team. We met all of them. So warm and very helpful. They arranged our transit to and from the airport for 50 euros and this was so convenient and timely. If you are not used to small places and need space, this is not for you. Also they do have a elevator but you get to the first floor and take it to the fourth floor and walk down to the third floor. This may be a disadvantage if you have trouble carrying luggage.
Breakfast was great and there was always cake and coffee available. My wife was celebrating her 50th and although it rained on most days, we simply enjoyed every minute. We would stay there again but it is a personal choice. We were the only occupants in this 4 room B and B and so had the place to ourselves in all but one day.

Room Tip: There are only 4 rooms available
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank olufo001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Trevi
Hotel Regno
Hotel Regno
#153 of 1,272 in Rome
1,772 reviews
Colonna
9 Hotel Cesari
9 Hotel Cesari
#111 of 1,272 in Rome
1,612 reviews
Colonna
Hotel Pantheon
Hotel Pantheon
#105 of 1,272 in Rome
713 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Colonna
Infinity Hotel Roma
Infinity Hotel Roma
#61 of 1,272 in Rome
697 reviews
Monti
Hotel Raffaello
Hotel Raffaello
#81 of 1,272 in Rome
2,585 reviews
Colonna
Trevispagna B&B
Trevispagna B&B
#113 of 3,779 in Rome
141 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Papessa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Papessa

Address: Via del Corso 241 | Angolo Vicolo Sciarra 61, 00186 Rome, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Trevi
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #112 of 3,779 B&Bs / Inns in Rome
Price Range: £76 - £192 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — La Papessa 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La Papessa is located in the historical centre at 200 meters from Trevi's Fountain and 800 meters from Spanish Steps. Located in a XVI century building, our strategic position let you reach by foot all the most important places: Circus Maximus, Colosseum, Pantheon, Piazza Navona, Campo de'Fiori or to take the bus to the Vatican Museums. Pubs, trattorie, osterie, typical restaurantes and the shopping area of Via Condotti, Via Frattina, Via del Corso are just next to us. BREAKFAST Breakfast is served in the breakfast room or can be served in the room at a free cost. It's at continental way (8:00-10:30), with a rich choice of beverages (coffee, tea, italian cappuccino, milk, fruit juices, hot chocolate) and foods (toast bread, jams, butter, croissant, boiled eggs, cheese slices, italian salami, fresh fruits, cereals, yogurts, home made cakes). On request we can provide diabetic and celiac breakfast (no extra charge) STAFF We speak English and Spanish, some French, Portoguese and German and we will be very pleased to assist you and to help you with informations about the events and the curiosity of Rome. A city map will be provided and we will show you how to reach the main famous places. We are at La Papessa every morning from 8:00 untill 13:00 and sometimes also in the afternoon but you can always reach us by phone or Whatsapp - also during the night, just in case of any emergency :: ROOMS The rooms have decorated high ceilings (XVIII century) and antique forniture. Elegant and comfortable for a special relaxed vacation Double, double + extra bed or quadruple, they all have: private en-suite bathroom (shower box, courtesy kit, hair dryer) free wifi minifridge air conditioning safe (lap top size) tea/coffee facilities (tea/coffee free begs included) TV telephone for free local calls and emergency calls Daily Cleanings from 9:00 untill 11:00 For late arrivals, we can provide cold plate packaged directly in the room (extra charge) From 1st January 2011 a city tax will be applied, it is €3,5 per person per night Checkin until 18:00 (6pm) Checkout from 8:00am until 10:30am Please, inform us about your arrival time as we haven't any 24h reception service Airport transfer service (€50 to 80) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), LoveHolidays, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your La Papessa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Papessa Guest House Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing