We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Bolognese I've Ever Had”
Review of Trattoria Primo Sale - CLOSED

Trattoria Primo Sale
Price range: US$28 - US$51
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special Occasion Dining, Business meetings, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Lunch, Reservations
Neighbourhood: Della Vittoria
Description: Trattoria Primo Sale restaurant is a new addition to the Rome dining scene, a smart and welcoming place near the Piazzale Clodio. The chef/owner has gastronomy flowing through his veins, as his brother is the renowned chef of la Altro Mastai restaurant. In Trattoria Primo Sale, each course is split into two and at each juncture you can choose either traditional Roman dishes or the chef's own creations, inspired by Roman cooking but utterly innovative. Veer from the past to the present and back again - very much like a walk through Rome itself.
Reviewed 7 September 2012

The concierge at the Rome Cavalieri recommended this restaurant to us, since it was only a short walk from the hotel. The trattoria is very unassuming from the outside, but what a wonderful restaurant! Everything we ate was amazing! We had buffalo mozzarella, a salad, veal milanese, and the BEST fettucini bolognese I've ever had. The sauce was rich, flavorful, and had the perfect combination of beef, pork, and veal for a true bolognese! And of course, the marinara was amazing because of those perfectly sweet and ripe Italian tomatoes. Reasonable prices, friendly service, and memorable food -- all in walking distance from the Rome Cavalieri.

Date of visit: October 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Daniellex1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviews (111)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

7 - 11 of 111 reviews

Reviewed 6 April 2012

Instead of going back home with a miniature David statue or a beer opener with the Pope's face on it, why not enjoy lunch or dinner at "Il Primo Sale" and bring back home a real souvenir - the memory of a genuine Italian meal. Chef Pasquale's menu features everything from mouth-watering regional delights to Italian nouvel cuisine. The fish is fresh. The meat is juicy. The vegatables and salads are tasty. If you get lost looking through the wine list, sommelier Manuk can help you choose just the right wine for palate and pocketbook. The waiters let you savour each course, neither rushing nor boring you through your meal. Enjoy a meal at "Il Primo Sale" and get the most for your money. And go home with a real souvenir!

Date of visit: April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Paul M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2012

Instead of going back home with a miniature David statue or a beer opener with the Pope's face on it, why not enjoy lunch or dinner at "Il Primo Sale" and bring back home a real souvenir - the memory of a genuine Italian meal. Chef Pasquale's menu features everything from mouth-watering regional delights to Italian nouvel cuisine. The fish is fresh. The meat is juicy. The vegatables and salads are tasty. If you get lost looking through the wine list, sommelier Manuk can help you choose just the right wine for palate and pocketbook. The waiters let you savour each course, neither rushing nor boring you through your meal. Enjoy a meal at "Il Primo Sale" and get the most for your money. And go home with a real souvenir!

Date of visit: April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank PaulMilton505
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2010

Really the only reason that we went to this restaurant was that it wasn't too far from our hotel, and we didn't want to have to journey back to the middle of Rome for dinner.
But we were pleasantly surprised.
The restaurant is fairly small (definitely recommend reservations). We were the only people there for the 1st 30 minutes, because as Americans, we eat way earlier than most Europeans. But after that, the place was packed.
Menu in Italian mostly. They did have a translated menu, but the translation was weird, and I did better just reading the Italian.
Excellent food with the best tiramisu ever. Good wine. Nice waitresses. And the place is way less expensive than eating at the hotel.
You do have to take a taxi from the hotel to the restaurant. Too dangerous to walk there because of the location of the hotel on the hill and no real sidewalks--might get hit by a car at night.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank Feistyrg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2010

when i was in rome my friends tolm me about an excellent restaurant in rome,really small but it was in a family style,warm.The food was awesome,the quality was amazing.The dishes were great and tasteful and the tiramisu was the best in my life.
you go to try it!!!!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank bispeed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing