We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Small room, great service and good location”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Meraviglia

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Meraviglia
Ranked #843 of 3,755 Rome B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Small room, great service and good location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 April 2012

We had a choice between a small but quiet room or a larger room facing the street. We chose the smaller one, wanting quality sleep which we got. The small fridge came in handy for storing groceries and lunches. The concierge was really nice and tried to help however she could even if she doesn't speak much english. The location seemed a little sketchy but we never felt unsafe and it was very close to the old city. We walked everywhere, even to the Vatican (more or less 5km) but there was a metro station right outside the inn. Make sure to contact them before you arrive since no one was there when we arrived. And lastly, check to make sure you're able to unlock the doors before leaving because they are a little tricky.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Catherine C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

162 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    66
    65
    18
    6
    7
See reviews for
23
90
10
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bordeaux, Aquitaine, France
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2012

The rooms were big and had a good view of the plaza and the staff was very kind and helpful. The room is very clean and was cleaned every day, which was great. It was sometimes hard because they don't speak much french or english, but we managed to understand each other and it was great. I would recommend this hotel to others and I would certainly stay here again. Very close to the metro also, which is helpful for early morning Vatican visits.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Melissa V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bucharest, Romania
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 March 2012

We were in Rome in March and we had a great time here.The accomodation at Hotel Meraviglia was very very good, the rooms are very clean and modern furnished,the towels were changed every day, the bathroom was very clean too and the most important thing is that the location is great. In front of the hotel is the entrance at subway(Vittorio Emanuelle,very close to Termini).Very closer is a nice garden and many stores and shops from where you can buy food or souvenirs.The host was very kind with us and we asked her about all the things that we could do there.
I recommend to you with confidence because it deserves to stay here,especially of the price which was very good.look on the site and make a reservation here,is more advantageous.

Diana&Dan-Bucharest

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Diana B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 May 2011

Really close to a metro station so we used to 3 day pass on the metro and travelled all around Rome. Hotel was clean and well presented. The hotel is located about a row of shops and it not easy to find the first time. There is a big brown double door with a small sign indicating the hotel entrance but we walked passed it several times before realising. I would recommend not going out at night alone in this area - people tended to follow me and my friend - we never had any trouble - but we were always together.

There is a great little take away just next door that does really greap pizzas for just a few euros.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lp89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Granada, Spain
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 April 2011

Okay to be honest I was really nervous about the hotel and the area prior to arrival. I read mixed reviews about the place but when I arrived I was greatly impressed! When we arrived the website Anytrip.com said it was the wrong address and we had to ask another hotel where it was. We got there and had to be buzzed in to the building. Sometimes they are not there so you need to call them and let them know what time you will arrive that day so everything is prepared on time for you. Online its called a hotel, but I wouldn't call it that. Its way better, nicer, cleaner, then a hostel, but it is definitely not a hotel! Once there I was sketched out where the check in was (which is the second floor) and I was nervous about the rooms. DONT BE!!!!! Once in the room it was beautiful! The bed was the most comfortable thing I have ever slept on! The room looked recently redone (I assume it was not the only one). There is a kitchen in the hall way if you want to make coffee or breakfast. The shower was tiny but it didn't matter it was great water pressure and long hot water. The bathroom itself was really nice and clean. The room had a chair a comfy queen size bed, plasma tv, windows, closet. The room was great. There was some noise outside we could here but that's European buildings in general. The owner or manager is so helpful; he speaks great english and gives you his cell number in case you need anything at all! He would prefer you to call and ask him questions so he knows you are getting the most from your trip! The hotel is right next to the metro so you can get anywhere basically very easily. I wouldn't walk around the area at night, definitely take a cab if u can't get on the metro. All in all I enjoyed my experience here very much! I would definitely stay here again and recommend it to anyone. It is definitely not a four star hotel but it is definitely a place where you feel comfortable, clean, welcomed! I think this place is a steal! If you can get a room for a good deal do it!

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cgangi01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
19 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2010

Whats good: clean room

Whats bad: everything.
- no airconditioning; need to pay extra
- paid extra but airconditioner did not work; they took money upfront and then did not even answer our calls/ rings/ mails.... one woman housekeeper used to come but she said she couldnt underdstand english and cant help us. It is hot in summer. we did not sleep a single night out of our 5 night stay
- no breakfast. we were told there was breakfast when we booked.
- very very scary location. there are tramps walking around and people lingering in corners.. doesnt feel and is NOT SAFE AT ALL; I did not go out even once without my husband
- the house managers itself look and are very scary... they smell.. smoke in your face and make you pay every cent before they even show you your room
- it is so so so noisy its unbelievable. rooms are bang over the road and dont even think of opening the window. the tram passes by all night and noise is just unbearable

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HungryBackpacker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
12co14, Propriétaire at Hotel Meraviglia, responded to this review, 2 December 2010
As "HungryBackpacker" don't give his name it is difficult to find the booking, anyway after checking out again and again we didn't received an american couple for 5 nights in July.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bathgate
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 January 2010

We paid 35 euros per night for an ensuite room, and consequently we were not expecting much. We were pleasantly surprised. This newly renovated hotel had clean rooms in good repair. The flat screen TV carried a variety of English and French language news, in addition to local programming. Despite being in the somewhat run down neighbourhood on the Piazza Vitro Emmanuelle II, the security was tight. The hotel is centrally located, virtually on top of a subway station, and a short (5 minute) tram ride to Termini Station. The tram and the subway entrance are right outside the door. On the downside, even with double-glazing on the window, the noise from the street took a bit of getting used to. Might not be as much of a problem in summer when the AC is running to drown out the noise. Also, the place has no reception as such. The manager or other employees were generally about in the morning and evening, but during the balance of the day you were on your own. The area has lots of restaurants, grocers, and a large covered food market is about a block away.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kidikley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
B&B Bel Ami
#594 of 3,755 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 123 reviews
Esquilino
A Casa di Mei
A Casa di Mei
#1,117 of 3,755 in Rome
5.0 of 5 bubbles 7 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Bed in Roma
Hotel Bed in Roma
#1,174 of 3,755 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Colazione Al Vaticano
#1,095 of 3,755 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 109 reviews
Esquilino
DaMa di Roma
DaMa di Roma
#674 of 3,755 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 47 reviews
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Gialel B&B
Gialel B&B
#283 of 3,755 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 279 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Meraviglia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Meraviglia

Property: Hotel Meraviglia
Address: Piazza Vittorio Emanuele II 55 | 1st Floor, 00185 Rome, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Esquilino
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #843 of 3,755 B&Bs / Inns in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Guest House Meraviglia is located in the heart of Rome and will allow you to reach all the main places of interest in the city easily and quickly on foot or by public transport and car, every room has a private bathroom and air conditioning. The reception is open every day from 09:00 am to 05:00 pm check-in is from 02:00 pm to 05:00 pm (any check in after 05:00 pm should be agreed upon kindly by mail with the communication of their approximate arrival or the number of the flight or train) . From Termini train station take the Metro Line A (Orange) to ANAGNINA and leave after 1 stop at VITTORIO EMANUELE. Take the "Via Mamiani" exit to Piazza Vittorio Emanuele, you will find the Meraviglia Guest House at door number 55 ( under the arcades of the square where the tram tracks are ) - first floor . ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Hotel Meraviglia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Meraviglia Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing