We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place, great guys!”
Review of Ganymedes Palace

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Rome
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Ganymedes Palace
Ranked #3,005 of 3,643 Rome B&B and Inns
Norway
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great place, great guys!”
Reviewed 9 January 2010

We had a fabulous stay at Ganymedes Palace last summer! The two hosts were so helpful, cheerful and fun, the rooms were nice and clean, and the breakfast was yummy. Quiet area, and nice view over the city from the balcony. There was a bus nearby that went downtown to Trastevere. We'll come again anytime! Vivian & Roy, Norway

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RoyofNorway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

13 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    4
    3
    0
    0
    6
See reviews for
1
11
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 October 2009

I had booked this b & b on September 9, 2009 for a stay Oct. 29-Oct. 31. I used a booking website and received confirmation that the room was booked. They advertise a free pick-up service so I e-mailed them a week prior to arrival that I would like to use it.

They responded, canceling my room due to an "idraulic" problem and putting my in another B & B, which was totally not what we were looking for (we did a lot of research prior to picking this one).

They noted that they didn't have my e-mail or contact info for some reason (even though I received a confirmation e-mailed and was on record with hotels.com)... and were trying to get a hold of me!

I can't imagine what I would have done if I had arrived in Rome without being warned of this! They only contacted me AFTER I e-mailed them! What's more, this new b & b has not even e-mailed or called at all! I cancelled both. Really disappointed with the service and looking on here, I am not the first one this has happened too.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Emily J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Rome hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Maidstone
Level Contributor
79 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 October 2009

I stayed at the Ganymedes with my girlfriend for 3 nights in October 2009. Before our arrival we confirmed the booking via email with Alex and Thanos (the owners) who in turn offered to collect us from the Termini station which we felt was very kind.
On arrival at the airport we phoned to arrange a collection time however unfortunately they were busy, so offered to pay our taxi fare, which worked out at 20 euros (they took this off of the room price).

When we arrived we were greeted by the couple who offered us a drink and gave us details of local buses, taxi firms, restaurants and maps. They were very welcoming and made us feel at home.
The B&B is situated on the top floor of an apartment block in a residential area of Trastevere about 15 minutes walk from the main town. We stayed in the 'suite' which has its own bathroom and is on the top floor of the block with it's own private balcony. It was clean and tidy with air conditioning, hairdryer, towels etc. We had full use of the kitchen downstairs and also tv and internet access in the lounge. It was very laid back and we felt welcome to use the amenities at any time.

Although it is a 15 minute walk from Trastevere, we made use of the 44 bus which picked up from round the corner and was 3 stops from Trastevere, and about a 10 minute journey to the centre of Rome. The buses come regularly (about every 10 minutes) and turned into Bus 19 after midnight. The bus costs 1 euro per journey regardless of where you get off but people rarely ask for tickets!
Breakfast at the hotel is between 830-1030 and offers a good selection of food including fresh eggs (made by Alex and Thanos), cakes, cereals, fruit etc. We ate in the small dining area as the weather wasn't great. On a good day you can eat on the terrace.

We couldn't fault the service, nice personal touches, and Alex & Thanos were always on hand to give advice. Thanos also took the time to walk us to the bus stop as we got lost!

The only small criticism is they don't accept cards so we had to pay in cash. However there are plenty of banks nearby.
Would recommend the Ganymedes if you are looking for a quiet stay near Trastevere which is a beautiful place to visit. We found Trastevere far less commercial to the centre of Rome, a lot more rustic with beautiful restaurants and piazzas. All in all, a fantastic trip, and a great place to stay.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Neil1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Napa, CA
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 12 October 2009

My wife & I stayed two nights in the Ganymedes Palace in September as we traveled through Italy. This B&B is close to the Travestere area but not located in the immediate Travestere neighborhood which can be crowded and expensive. Within bus or taxi reach, this B&B was a wonderful surprise. Alex was patient and helpful while we struggled with the language and transportation. He got us to all the sights we wanted to visit and even recommended a delightful favorite local restaurant complete with local food and atmosphere. The room was clean and the private bath across the hall was convenient. Breakfast on the 5th floor patio with a view was a treat. Would highly recommend.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank philchez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bucharest
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 September 2009

Although we had booking confirmed with credit card, 3 weeks after making the reservation we received an e-mail that they made other reservations and we are double booked. Alternatively the owners offered to place us to two alternative hostels which we could not accept. Highly unreliable, little respect for their clients.

Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Carmen12Bucharest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Utrecht
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2009

We have been to Rome more than once. This place was really good in terms of comfort, hospitality, view and price. If you are looking for a B&B at a nice walk from the city (15 min), this is the place to stay. The rooms with private balcony with a view on the city are nice and romantic, especially with a good bottle of wine and some anti pasti from the store around the corner.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dutch_Couple_Utrecht
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rotterdam
2 reviews
Reviewed 14 June 2009

Very good accomodation facilities which give you experience how is it to live in Rome. Great area, very good connection to all turistical atractions and to go-out places around Tibera. Excellent service and great breakfests on the terrace with fabulous view.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank honzka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Hotel Continentale
Hotel Continentale
#385 of 1,256 in Rome
408 reviews
Esquilino
B&T Rooms
B&T Rooms
#2,198 of 3,643 in Rome
89 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Artemide
Hotel Artemide
#9 of 1,256 in Rome
6,617 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Campo Marzio
Condotti Hotel
Condotti Hotel
#96 of 1,256 in Rome
1,179 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel des Artistes
Hotel des Artistes
#278 of 1,256 in Rome
1,268 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ganymedes Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ganymedes Palace

Property: Ganymedes Palace
Address: Via Basilio Bricci 23 | Via Isole del Capo Verde 336, 00152 Rome, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Monteverde , Gianicolense
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3,005 of 3,643 B&Bs / Inns in Rome
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We decided to open Ganymede’s Palace in order to create a place where you could find the comfort of your own home in a quiet, welcoming and relaxing atmosphere at a convenient price. Ganymede’s Palace is on the top floor of a modern building situated in a strategic area of Rome, just a few steps away from Trastevere and from Gianicolo Hill and only a few bus stops away from the main attractions of the eternal city such as the Trevi Fountain, Piazza Navona, Pantheon, Spanish Steps and Vatican City. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing