We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Stay in Rome...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Sotto il Sole di Roma
Ranked #313 of 3,643 Rome B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Best Stay in Rome...”
Reviewed 30 June 2012

We stayed at Sotto il Sole di Roma for 4 nights. Our taxi transfer was arranged via Raul from Leonardo Da Vinci airport which was a total of 60 euros (for 4 people).

Upon arrival, we were greeted by Abu who was a friendly chap and showed us to our rooms.

Our first impressions/expectations, having read previous reviews on here were good. We noticed immediately the rooms had as per description aircon which was already ON and fully working!

As mentioned, the rooms are plain, simple but kept very clean. All the essentials one would expect from a B&B.

After a good 4 nights sleep, we all agreed and came to the same conclusion. This has to be the most comfortable bed/mattress away from our own home.

Our continental breakfast was basic but suited our needs. Raul, Carmela & Mario supplied us with copious amounts of English breakfast tea, coffee (caffeinated & decaf), croisants, toast, cereal, pastries etc etc.

Having been to Rome twice already and this being my third, I can genuinely say this is the best stay in Rome thus far.

I have no hesitation in recommending Sotto to friends and family. And will definitely be returning here again in the near future. We miss it already...

A huge thanks to Raul, Carmela, Mario & Abu for making our stay so wonderful. We all enjoyed our chats/laughs during breakfast and not forgetting all your assistance/guidance of Rome. Your local knowledge was indeed invaluable!

Grazie Mille!

Richard (Ricardo) & Tracey (Teresa) ;)

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Richard S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

228 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    169
    47
    8
    4
    0
See reviews for
40
104
24
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level Contributor
50 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2012

We could not have been more happy with our experience at this B&B! Raul and Mario were amazing! Raul was very helpful with everything. The rooms were clean and well kept. The location was great and we felt very safe walking around by ourselves at night. I highly recommend Sotto il Sole di Roma to anyone traveling to Rome!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank winepr0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pleasantville, NY
Level Contributor
58 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 May 2012

Stayed for just one night, so it was livable. Very plain decor. The bed was comfortable. Dark halls, minimal lighting. Breakfast was disappointing. Stale croissant. Packaged snacks. Weak coffee. Raul, the owner is nice and tries to be helpful when he is there. Wi-fi worked fine. Decent view from my window. Nice residential neighborhood. Long walk to the main sights. But close to the Vatican. You can hop on the bus which is close by. Also close is a shuttle bus to the airport for 8 euro each. Price was reasonable.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Pinksky77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2012

A great thank you to Raul, that help us to let be our honeymoon wonderful!

We spent 3 days in Sotto il Sole di Roma, room was spacious and clean, breakfast with a lot of fresh croissant, cereals, jam, chocolate and more.

We were really sad to leave, but we have to continue our trip.
anyway, next time that we'll be in Rome, we'll stay in this beatiful and comfortable place.
Thank you again!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MChang1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 March 2012

This is the second review of my recent trip to Europe. Sotto Il Sole Di Roma is a great choice if you are looking for something cosy and nothing too grand. Rooms are a decent size, you get a lot of privacy plus the convenience of a breakfast/meal room on the same floor very near the rooms (for those who enjoy eating your late night snacks). Offers fantastic and value for money room rates (so far not matched on our Europe trip this time). :)

Of particular mention here are our hosts, the young Raul (humorous fella) and Mario (supervisor of the building). They go the extra mile to make you feel right at home. The big plus here is that the location is very near Vatican City and Castel Del Sant Angelo and in what is deemed as the safer part of the city. Unfortunately it is a little far from the Colosseum and anciet city of Rome (for those familiar with the geographical layout of Rome).

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank yeongest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rauletto85, Proprietario at Sotto il Sole di Roma, responded to this review, 11 April 2012
Thank you for everything, especially for the most funny breakfast!!
See you in Sngapore.

Raul
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 March 2012

Sotto il Sole is a clean, modern space on the third floor of a palazzo in the Prati section of Rome, between St. Peter's and the Castle San't Angelo, a prime location within easy walking distance of other attractions such as Piazza Navona. The rooms are small and simple, and breakfast is a simple cappucino and cornetto, but the attraction is the city of Rome outside. What really makes Sotto il Sole special, though is the personal service offered by Raul, who greeted us by name each morning and made dinner reservations for us. With just six rooms he could really treat us as individuals and this made us feel quite well cared for. We have already made a reservation for our next visit.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TPE3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thessaloniki, Greece
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 March 2012

Very clean, near to the Vatican, and walking distance from all major attractions. Price very reasonable, and very good and friendly service. Also, the heating was very satisfactory, because we visited Rome during a very cold period. I would like a more traditional breakfast though! Thanx for everything, I hope I ' ll be back soon.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank StellaRapti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Prati
Annette B&B
Annette B&B
#367 of 3,643 in Rome
155 reviews
Vatican / Borgo
Rome Traveller's B&B
Rome Traveller's B&B
#1,706 of 3,643 in Rome
28 reviews
Esquilino
Il Sole
Il Sole
#621 of 1,091 in Rome
9 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Prati
Cassiodoro
Cassiodoro
#182 of 3,643 in Rome
87 reviews
Prati
San Pietro Boutique Rooms
San Pietro Boutique Rooms
#124 of 3,643 in Rome
89 reviews
Prati
Le Finestre di Luz
Le Finestre di Luz
#734 of 3,643 in Rome
80 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sotto il Sole di Roma? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sotto il Sole di Roma

Property: Sotto il Sole di Roma
Address: Via Pietro della Valle 2, 00193 Rome, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Prati
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #313 of 3,643 B&Bs / Inns in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Sotto il Sole di Roma 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are at the 3rd floor, in a really old Roman building in the heart of Rome, just few steps from St. Peter square, Vatican Museum and historic center. We have 6 rooms; all are provided of all comfort that a 4* hotel has, like A/C, TV Sat, refrigerator, safe, hairdryer, bath robe, bathroom en suite with shower. We also serve the breakfast in a particular room on the same floor where all our guests can taste our European breakfast. From our position is possible to visit all the main attraction touristic point only walking, there is no need to take any public transport, like bus and subway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Sotto il Sole di Roma reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing